We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eiger Restaurant

Hotel Eiger Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $112
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurants in the Hotel Eiger are the Eiger Stubli, the Tachi Bar, The Eiger Saal and our terrace. From the Saal and terrace you enjoy a spectacular view over the famous mountains Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. We mainly serve Swiss and French dishes. For example cheese Fondue and Chateaubriand as well as vegetarian dishes. Very popular are our mini-desserts.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I found this to be the best restaurant in the area. They also have a great wine selection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    31
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Half board”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the half board while staying at the Hotel Eiger in August 2012. You can choose your main course out of 3 options - 1 being vegetarian. The first night - all 4 courses were not good (for me and my boyfriend). The following nights got better and 1 night I ordered from the a la carte menu - which they charged me full price in addition to half board price.

The service is very attentive and overly so that it was intrusive. The people were very nice.

Overall it was an okay experience and if you have some options while in Murren I would choose somewhere else to eat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EUEx-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and warm staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food here, although expensive, was well worth it. Try the tomato soup and the dessert! The staff was welcoming, as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
326 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Wow. Best fondue and spatzli in a week of same!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Yummy. yum. yummalicious. Had a perfect meal here. May have to go back tonight. It's a teensy bit more expensive than next door at the guesthouse (also really yummy). Pleasant, efficient service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We actually were staying at the Eiger House and due to the time we vacationed (lst week in June), eating establishments were very limited. Many businesses close after ski season until the middle of June. That being said, the food at Eiger was very good and cooked to perfection. While the Europeans believe in small portions, which is a good thing based on the statistics of overweight Americans, I was very pleased. Another thing I love about European countries is that when dining, there is never a rush to get you in and out. You literally have to ask for the check even if you have been at the table for a while. Expect to pay much more for just about everything in Switzerland, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Eiger Restaurant also viewed

Murren, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Eiger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing