We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our trip to Switzerland”
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I were visiting the alpine area of Switzerland for the first time and we could not have chosen a better place to begin. The Chalet Fontana gave us the perfect location, spotless accommodations, a traditional Swiss breakfast, and a host who was very helpful with suggestions about the area. Other reviewers have described details of these attributes very well.

We were there for the summer hiking and Denise, also a hiker, shared her enthusiasm and tips for the beautiful trails. She made a memorable impression on us by her hospitality and generous gift of an unexpected free room upgrade. We had reserved a small room and after being shown to our room, unpacking (in the euphoria of finally arriving in Switzerland), we realized we were in a larger room. When we notified Denise, she said that she had given us the larger room because it had not been reserved and she would rather have guests in the room than it be empty. And the charge would only be for the small room originally reserved! Amazing! We are already planning a second visit to Switzerland and will definitely return to Murren and the Chalet Fontana.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDH-RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's a quaint Swiss chalet in a beautiful cliffside village accessible by gondola only. It was my daughter's and my first stop in Europe this past summer. The room was clean and large, comfy beds, and we had a shared bathroom in the hall - just like at home. The breakfast was delicious, and Denise is extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We hiked to Gimmelwald, took the $200 train to the Jungfraujoch, swam at the Sports Center (probably the best view ever from a pool), and watched the paragliders from the cafe across the street. It's a great place to start a two-week jaunt in Europe. If you are a single parent and you want to treat your child or teenager to a unique experience - and want to avoid the crowds of Paris, Venice, Rome and Munich - start here.

Room Tip: The view from the loft window is spectacular, but watch your head - the ceiling is low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolfe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

There's a reason people rave about this place and Denise is fully part of the charm.

From the clean rooms and bathrooms to the delightful banter at breakfast this place has it all. Denise makes sure everyone is comfortable and if you need anything just let her know. In fact you may randomly run into her on the streets of Murren as we did twice during our stay. She's always asking about your how your activity or dinner was, wanting your stay in Murren and at Fontana to be as pleasant as possible.

We stayed in the Chalet Apt even thought it was only two of us. We used the front bedroom as our porch by opening the windows and moving the table and chair to the window for our own happy hour with bier and wine from the Coop across the street. We used the newer back bedroom for more quiet sleeping. The bathroom in the middle seemed new or recently remodeled and was spotless. Everything in the Apt worked as expected. We really liked having all the space to ourselves!

The breakfast is normal Swiss with muesli, bread, cheese, sliced meat, milk, hot chocolate, coffee, butter and jams.

We also loved the location---right in the middle of town, half way to either the train or cable car. There are plenty of restaurants within 5 minute walk or less. Fun people watching from the front of Fontana also.

It's not high-end, but that's not what you pay here either. If you want a nice, clean place to stay at a very reasonable price, check out the Fontana! We picked this from all the TA reviews and were very pleased with our stay.

These pictures and others from TA are very accurate of what you see and get here.

Room Tip: The Apartment in the Chalet can sleep up to 6 in beds and has full kitchen facilities and separate e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgroten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived late on a cold, rainy night and Denise was waiting outside to let us in and give us a warm welcome. We stayed in the apartment. We bought food at the co-op, cooked our own dinners and sat at the windowside table (good for both scenery and people-watching). The floors are kind of creaky above, but we played 'white noise' on our laptop at night and didn't have any trouble. The back room is a lot quieter, but we wanted to look out the windows in the front. Having our own entrance off the street, a sitting porch, bathroom, kitchen and lots of space made it feel like home vs a 'hotel'. We met lots of nice people at breakfast, and Denis was super helpful with anything we needed. She even let us store our luggage in the basement which saved our backs when we took some side trips.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Chalet Fontana with our three children under 10 in July. It was wonderful!. Denise goes out of her way to make everyone feel like family. We rented the apartment in the chalet. It had its own entrance and bathroom. There was one large room with three single beds, perfect for our children, and another bedroom with a large bed and, I believe, pull out couch (we didn't need to sleep on the couch so I'm not sure). The wifi worked perfectly which was essential for my husband who needs to be able to work no matter where we are.

The location was perfect. It was midway between the train station and the lift up to Schilthorn and down to Gimmelwald. Close to everything. There was a Co-op right across the street where we could buy snacks. And an instabank was nearby as well.

Although the flat had a kitchen, we only used the fridge for snack items. Breakfast provided by Denise was plentiful and she was sure to have things that the children would enjoy. Our only regret was that we were only able to stay for three nights.

Room Tip: The apartment in the Chalet is perfect for a family. Self contained with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casperjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Thanks to our wonderful host, Denise, our stay at Chalet Fontana was wonderful. She works hard to see that the place is spotless and comfortable.It is the center of town with great views and it was nice to meet other travellers over breakfast and in the common areas.Denise also had excellent directions for hikes and places to eat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

wow.....don't stay in a hotel....check out Fontana instead. Loved the location, the hostess and the area for all it has to offer. Rooms are very, very clean, shared bathrooms but be careful if you're on the third floor as the stairs can be a little tricky. We were able to use the refrigerator to keep some of our food cold but we were not able to use the kitchen....that would have been perfect. There truly is not a better place to stay in Murren.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $30 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing