We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay 1/2 mile up in the air. Getting here is an expedience in itself, riding two gondolas up from the valley floor. This guest house is rustic and very comfortable. Very clean and functional. The best part is the atmosphere of the place, set by Denise. Everyone feels welcome which leads to lots of interaction among guests at breakfast and in the halls. A very good, affordable place to stay in Murren.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Fontana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I could write for eons about how wonderful our stay was at the Geisstiliboden apartment. The owner, Denise Fussell, could not be kinder or more accomodating. I truly believe this is the best value for overnighting in Murren. Having a kitchen is a dealbreaker for us and we could not have chosen a better spot- we did not have to give anything up in lieu of the things that make traveling with a toddler easier. We still got lovely accomodations, a stunning view, and were right where we needed to be to either get back to the train station or to the cablecars for other spots.

A few helpful hints-

1. The inCoop in town is great. Breakfast is not including in the price of the apartment so you will be on your own for 2 meals a day if you plan on having dinner out. The Coop is great for some of the best product I have encountered: fresher than fresh eggs and Alpine milk, cheeses and meats and beverages galore. Stock up and save your CHF for fondue at night.

2. When the train drops you off, make a left into town. You will follow the main (only essential?) road into town where you will come to a fork toward Gimmelwald. Take a left at the fork and the apartment will be on your left about 100m down. Or just go to the Chalet Fontana right across from the Coop (skip taking the fork and keep going forward) and ring Denise up to lead you there.

3. Take 500 photos of this breathtaking gem of a town. It is a tiny slice of heaven and the Geisstiliboden makes it homey while you discover and explore.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank missyeah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful Chalet and wonderful Denise who has become a great friend after all of these years of staying here. Murren is about the most wonderful place on the planet. We love Denise, and she always makes our stay very special. See you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late May 2013 in the loft room and had a wonderful, wonderful time. Denise was really warm and friendly and did a great job hosting us. We always looked forward to breakfast time not just for the food (yum and hearty!) but also to chat with Denise and other fellow travellers. She gave us wonderful suggestions for food nearby, attractions and things to do, places to hike, useful maps and such. Location-wise Murren is pretty small and Fontana was pretty much right in the middle :-

- 5 second walk to Stagerstubli for great authentic Swiss food, or the local supermarket
- 3 minute walk to an Asian restaurant (opened by a Singaporean!) and some fields with amazing views
- 5 minute walk to Edelweiss Hotel which has arguably the BEST beer view in Murren
- 7 minute walk to either the Schilthornbahn or the train station

We left Murren missing pretty much everything, from the view to the breakfast to the friends we've made chatting every morning. Two thumbs up for this lovely place in a lovely town.

Ron

Room Tip: The loft room as the name suggests is in the attic. It's large and spacious but the ceiling is r...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FourLeggedFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet for 4 nights in the latter part of May based on the recommendations here and at the Rick Steve's site.

The building itself met all our expectations of what a Swiss chalet should be; warm, rustic, easygoing conversations with the other guests, and a fantastic host - Denise. She made restaurant and excursion suggestions answering all our questions based on her experiences living in Murren. It made our stay here a special memory.

I echo all the many positive reviews posted here.

Thanks, Denise!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpeter1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Chalet Fontana was a great stay! It is very close to the cable car/gondola stations (as you can't get to Murren by car), and it was absolutely clean and very comfortable! Very very cute and quaint, and felt very 'Swiss authentic'. Denise was a superb host and makes sure you have everything you need! She even gave us a recommendation to eat at the restaurant directly across the street where she told us all the locals eat ... we took her advice and it was a great choice as we had very delicious, home-style cooked meals, while we could look out at the surrounding mountains.

Stay with Denise, trust me you won't be disappointed! I would definitely stay with her again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. We had our own apartment with all the comforts of home. Denise was a great host and made sure everything was ok. She also gave us a pass to the community pool which our kids really enjoyed. We loved the laid back way of the people of Murren, the amazing views of the Alps from the benches at the little plaza by the post office, the sound of the water running down the side of the mountains, the beautiful sunsets turning red the snow capped Alps and so much more!!! This is a great place to stay and worth every franc!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#10 of 11 in Murren
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $30 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing