We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Murren”
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved our stay both in Murren and Chalet Fontana which offers fabulous value in expensive Switzerland. Helpful and attentive service are coupled with a breath-taking location (our window opened right onto snow-capped alpine peaks). Easy to book over the internet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voice_of_reason33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Fontana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 192 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Murren and were very happy both with the town and with Denise & Chalet Fontana. Murren was a great base for our hikes up the mountain and down to the valley, along with visits to both Schilthorn and Jungfrau. It had a little more life and a few more dining options than Gimmelwald, but was still more cozy than a town like Wengen. Having Denise around at breakfast every morning proved to be a great resource for the day's activities, as well as a warm and inviting view into Swiss life. She was a gracious host with great advice and even upgraded our accomodations so we would not have to change rooms during our stay. If we are ever fortunate enough to return, I would not hesitate to stay again in Murren at Chalet Fontana!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in room number 3. It was lovely and Denise was a friendly and warm host! Breakfast was ample with a wide selection of toast, cereal, museli, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt.

This place was lovely to come back to after a long day of walking and exploring the area. The view you get when you wake up or before sun set is wonderful! Live here up in Murren, don't stay below in the valley if your objective is to see the alps!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a fantastic 2 week vacation to Europe. Our first stop on our journey was Murren. We decided to book a room at Chalet Fontana because of all the great reviews we've read. Chalet Fontana is a perfect "home away from home" in the Swiss Alps. We stayed in room #1 which is the smallest and least expensive of the rooms, but it was perfect for us. Plenty of room for our small amount of luggage & a comfy queen bed to sleep in. The 2 bathrooms are shared amongst all guests but this was never an issue for us. Also, wi-fi is available for 4 chf and is good for your entire stay. In the morning, our wonderful host, Denise, had a lovely breakfast waiting for us- breads, cereal, muesli, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and tea. Coffee and tea were also available to us throughout the day which was nice to warm up with after a long hike. We also had access to a refrigerator for some of the items we bought at the Co-Op across the street. Chalet Fontana is a convenient 5 minute walk from Murren's train station, across from the grocery and an atm. Out the front door are weeks/months of hiking trails to explore. My husband and I took great advantage of this- hiking to Gimmelwald, Lauterbrunnen Valley, and the Shilthorn on a nice day (minimal snow). This by far was our favorite stop on our 2 week trip, and if/when we return to Switzerland, we'll be staying at Chalet Fontana. Thank you Denise for providing us with a wonderful place to stay and for your excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningpotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night in the small twin bedroom and we loved it. Denise, the host, made us feel very welcome and gave us very helpful tips for organizing our excursions. We felt like we were staying with a good friend. We appreciated the opportunity to make ourselves coffee, tea or herbal tea anytime of the day in the small kitchen and Denise made her fridge available to us if we needed it. We enjoyed nice conversations at the breakfast table with her and the other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonsVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can only apologise to Denise for not posting this review sooner ... we visited in late June / early July and could not have had a nicer stay. We (four persons) had the downstairs apartment, with two excellent sleeping areas, a very good bathroom and shower, and a quaint outlook onto the 'main street' of Murren. Travellers need not, however, be concerned that they will find themselves to part of an urban hustle .. such a thing does not exist in this idyllic place.

We were in Murren for two nights .. this is the first time we have stayed at Fontana, and - should we be lucky enough - to visit again, I would go straight back to Denise. Her property is charming, the breakfasts are generous and her advice about sights and restaurants was spot on. What a lovely place to visit - the only thing nicer would be to live there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the small double rooms, it was small indeed but with the huge down pillows and doonas/comforters, it felt very cosy. And that describes the entire chalet so well, it is cosy and homely - as others have said its like staying with an old friend in their house rather than 'travel accommodation'. This is because of Denise your host. She is extremely helpful, warm and welcoming, she appears to truly enjoy having guests and will do whatever she can to make you comfortable. She even has a cloak rack for you to borrow a jacket if you forget to bring your own (like me), and has endless advice about great hikes - do the north face trail, amazing!

The chalet itself is old and the decor is certainly not brand new - but the place is so clean, you can tell Denise takes real pride in her chalet.

The location in the centre of town opposite the grocery store and atm is excellent, beautiful views of snow capped peaks from our room, room had its own wash basin so you can wash your face&brush your teeth, the shared bathroom wasn't a problem and very clean, hot and powerful shower, nice!

Breakfast was perfect. Beautiful fresh Swiss milk to go with cereal, muesli, fresh swiss bread (grain and white) which you can also toast (yay!), even a bowl of linseed to spread on your muesli, juice, good coffee, various teas, boiled eggs etc.

You can help yourself to tea and coffee in the kitchen 24/7, the lounge is full of board games and travel books for your leisure!

The only negatives were that our room was very small and cramped, the floor was extremely creaky, and if you're on the first floor you can hear people thumping and thudding above which will disturbed our sleep on the first night. But this wasn't enough to diminish my excellent rating. If you're looking for a hotel, don't come here. If you want to feel like you're coming back to your cosy chalet in the Swiss mountains, stay here!

Also, by Swiss standards it is very cheap. Can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Db83Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#10 of 11 in Murren
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $30 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing