We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chalet and Denise is wonderful”
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here at the end of May on our first trip to Switzerland. Recommended by Rick Steves and the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor made our decision to stay in Murren. We are so glad we did. Murren is such a nice quiet place on the edge of a mountain, I could spend much longer than we did and hope to come back sooner rather than later. We had peaceful walks from Murren that were beautiful any which way we looked. The Chalet Fontana was equal distance to the tram and the cable car making it an easy walk to explore both directions as well. An ATM and the co-op grocery store were across the street from the Chalet Fontana. The co-op was well stocked with food and we were able to get picnic food for the daytime walks/hikes. The town was quiet when we were here at the end of May and we found it very enjoyable.

We had the apartment and it was plenty big for the 5 of us. It was bigger than I expected. The apartment had a front room that slept 3 and overlooked the main road in Murren. It had a table and 2 chairs for relaxing and a sink to wash up in. There was a full size kitchen even with a dishwasher & refrigerator, and a place to sit & eat. There was a private bathroom with shower. The other bedroom had 3 single beds and was also quite spacious. Beds were comfortable and bedding was perfect. Like the previous review said, it is rustic and the floors above do creak, but all of that didn't bother us. Denise served a great breakfast in the morning and always had ideas of how we could fill our day. We appreciated all she shared with us and found it very helpful. Would recommend to stay here.

Denise also provides a visitor card for their fitness center and indoor pool. We used the pool and it was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sutrotower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 194 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at the Chalet Fontana for 2 nights are had a great time. The view was spectacular regardless of the ever changing weather. The rooms are simple and rustic (creaky floor and all) but clean and reasonably comfortable. The shower was very hot (be a bit careful)! Breakfast was great and having access to tea and coffee in the evening was a nice touch. The Wi-Fi worked fairly well (a small fee for using wi-fi). Overall, the Chalet Fontana is an excellent value in an area where it could easily be a much higher price elsewhere. We enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

PS... try the restaurant across the road from the Chalet Fontana- it was excellent too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pacsman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My five night stay in Murren was heavenly. I particularly enjoyed being at Chalet Fontana. Denise is a fabulous hostess and runs her business so well. She was prompt with her email reply to my enquiry and confirmation for my booking. In person, she was very friendly and could offer lots of suggestions about how one could spend one’s time in the region.
The chalet is very well located …..a 5 minute walk from either the BLM station or the cable car (they are both at the 2 opposite ends of the village). There is a bank and a grocery store virtually across the road from the chalet.
The mountain views from the chalet….(from anywhere in Murren, for that matter!) are absolutely stunning! My single room on the 1st floor was very nice and cozy. It had twin beds, a large cupboard, a table and 2 chairs and a wash basin. The shared bathroom on the floor was very clean, large and had a lovely shower in a tub. Not once did I have to wait to use the bathroom (that was something I was a little apprehensive about as I had never before stayed any place where bathrooms have to be shared). Denise shifted me into a larger room on the last day as the one I was occupying was pre booked. This larger room was lovely (as you can see in the picture).
Downstairs, guests were welcome to use the sitting area…..store anything in the fridge….help themselves to tea/coffee at any point of time (as long as they cleared up after)…….read books from the large collection available.
Communal breakfasts (hearty ones) made interesting conversation possible between guests from the various rooms.
My recommendations for restaurants in Murren are: Stagerstubli (across from the chalet), Eiger Guesthouse (near the blm station) and Alpenruhe (near the cable car) for some very fine Swiss cuisine….and Tham’s (a 2 minute walk – going left from the Chalet) for Chinese.
Murren is right on the way to Schilthon which made for a very nice half day trip. With rail pass in hand, I explored much of the Bernese Oberland and wish I could have stayed longer.
I strongly recommend Chalet Fontana as you won’t be able to find anything better to match Denise’s hospitality.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Had such a wonderful time here, extended our stay an extra day. Denise runs a small bed and breakfast. Five rooms total, tastefully decorated, excellent value. Rooms do not have a bathroom, but they are more than adequate, and the price reflects this aspect. The bedroom was comfortable, quiet, and located in the heart of Murren. Guests are welcome to make themselves tea anytime in the kitchen, use the refridgerator, hang out in the living room and peruse the library of books. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DohaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We LOVED Denise and Chalet Fontana!!! I can't say enough great things about this place. We stayed in Room #4 (2nd floor, w/ a wall of windows overlooking the mountains!) which was a Large double and could sleep three (1 Queen, 1 Twin). If you're looking for luxury, you won't find it here but that's the charm of Chalet Fontana. It's like you're staying as a guest in someone elses home, in a really good way. The location is perfect and so peaceful. The rooms are cozy and it was great to settle in at the end of each day with some wine and snacks overlooking the great views. You can't beat the rates and you won't find anyone more helpful and kind than Denise. She was fantastic with sharing information and recommendations to each and every guest. She truly cares about making your stay in Murren and at the Chalet as perfect as it can be. She even recommended a great BBQ spot just above the cable car station. Cooking out there and enjoying the views was one of the best nights on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreetingsFromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great value for Murren. Very comfortable. Big room, clean everything. Only issue could be that you could probably hear other people pretty easily but it was very quiet while we were there, even with several other guests.
Denise is extremely helpful. It was great to have a place where we could make a cup of tea when we wanted!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

If you are travelling to Murren you should definitely stay in Chalet Fontana. Denise is a kind and informed host who can recommend local activities for all types of interests. She runs a friendly, basic and affordable place to stay while exploring this gorgeous region of Switzerland. There is a comfortable common room and we enjoyed socializing with the others guests during our stay. The location of the Chalet cannot be beat for access to many beautiful hikes! We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $30 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing