We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Murren”

Tham Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Asian delicacies amidst magnificent Swiss Alps.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Murren”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tham's is the best restaurant in Murren. His dishes are fresh, authentic and reasonably priced. And his hospitality is absolutely wonderful. We visit Murren every year, and we can't help but eat at his restaurant every night we're there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DanAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    56
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!! Great company, great food!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely love, love, love Tham! The food is delicious and the company is superb. Tham is a genius in the kitchen. Not only do we crave his food while we are skiing and hiking the Alps, we love his hospitality. If you're looking for great food and a friendly environment, look no further. We ate dinner every night at Tham (5 nights in a row!). And we're going to do the same next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DreLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food in an amazing place”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found out about this place on Trip Advisor and pretty much went to Murren just to eat here and it did not disappoint. Probably the best fried rice I have ever had in my life. The owners are super nice are were very welcoming to everyone while we were there. I got the Kung Pao chicken and it was perfectly prepared. I highly recommend this place to anyone near Murren looking for a very good, very filling meal and a good price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We really enjoyed eating dinner twice during our 5 day stay in Murren. Mr Tham and his wife are really wonderful. One night we got there a little late and they were eating their dinner. He got up in the middle of his dinner and make fresh food for us. My 13 and 11 year old boys also enjoyed playing chess with Mr Tham. Food was so good that we decided to eat dinner next night over there as well. Never expected to find such good Chinese food in Switzerland. Very Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank noni1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!! Very impressed by food & service”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing! Owners are very welcoming and friendly & the food is delicious. We really enjoyed the sweet & sour prawns (the best I've ever tasted!) and wish that we could have this quality of Chinese food back home! Highly recommend to all :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tham Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Tham Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing