We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's BEST Chinese Food!”

Tham Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Asian delicacies amidst magnificent Swiss Alps.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World's BEST Chinese Food!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Coming from an Asian country, I really have to applaud the awesome Chinese food here! Highly recommended dishes are the fried rice and black pepper beef! We came back twice in our 4 days here!! The food you're getting is really of good quality and the chef and his wife are so warm and hospitable! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    56
    10
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fried rice in the WORLD!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After two weeks of hiking and climbing in the Alps, we were very happy to take a break from Swiss food...you can only eat so much schnitzel, raclette and wild game. The Thams were gracious, interesting and very kind to us, and the food was fabulous. I had the honey pork fried rice twice in three days and am craving it now. It's completely unlike the Chinese food here in Florida: light, fluffy, with almost no trace of oil and super-tasty. My husband enjoyed the hot and sour soup very much. Very reasonable prices for the resort village of Murren. We will come back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickles218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful chef!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had one of the best chinese food i've had in a very long time! It is easy to pass off this resturant as a typical chinese take out. But i encourge you to give this place a try, it will surprise you because in reality you are getting a 5 star quality meal! The chef used to work a luxury hotel, that eventually ventured out on his own to live in murren. The modest environment and the amazing food is what makes it a great place to dine during your visit in murren.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alfredtsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star chef”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Do not be fooled by the look of this place. It does not look like a lot from the outside, but the food was very good. The chef/owner told us his story of working in a 5 star restaurant in Zurich, and I believe him. A good break from your typical Swiss food- who would have thought. Good Chinese food in Switzerland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pikshick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food out of the ordinary !”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

So glad we stopped there. We loved it, food ambiance, service, price.
Best Chinese that we ate in all our travels, USA, Canada, Mexico, France, Italy.
Owners went above and beyond to please us.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tham Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tham Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing