We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a meal”

Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Swiss, European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Restaurant La Grotte is well known for its Swiss and international dishes. Well known for its fondues. Suberb selection of wines.
Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stopped for a light evening meal and a beer before heading back to the Hotel, and the outside dining area and the mountain view were perfect. The food was great and the service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank billromyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    25
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK but was expecting a little more !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

After reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor our expectations were very high. Unfortunately it was a chilly evening so we dined inside where we found the service, wine choices and our meals just OK. Rick Steves guide recommends this restaurant for its food, ambiance and price. Perhaps it was an off night or perhaps Mr. Steves need to return for another meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KukooAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Best in Murren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate here one evening to take a break from our half board meals at our own hotel. We loved it. The food was simply delicious. The service was great, and the actual dining room is very pretty. I had Salmon with a dill and Pernod sauce. My partner had the lamb. For dessert I had chocolate mousse, and he had apple fritters. We enjoyed everything we ate and couldn't fault the place. It's not cheap (but no where in Switzerland is), but we thought it was worth every penny.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish we had known about this restaurant earlier.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Murren for three nights and wish we had known about this restaurant from the get-go. The La Grotte Restaurant located in the Hotel Blumental is absolutely charming with its wood ceiling, stone and plaster walls, tables with double cloths, lace curtains, antique cow bells, and so forth, making for a very warm and inviting interior. We were immediately seated. Service was friendly and prompt. Food offerings were varied, generous, and delicious. I had the lasagne and my husband had the homemade pasta with smoked salmon. We both had salads - mine was the mixed salad, which had a bountiful selection of fresh veggies, and my husband had the framers salad with a different selection of veggies and heaped with local cheese. All the dishes coming out of the kitchen looked delectable, and other diners were as pleased as we were. Our bill didn't amount to much more than our dinners the first two evenings at the Eiger Guesthouse, which were far inferior (cheese fondue was too salty and the rosti way too expensive for the value it offered -- (though the waiters and owner were as friendy as could be)), but the experience at the Hotel Blumental was definitely memorable, and representative of a much higher quality, making the Eiger Guesthouse seem "local bar-ish or rather pub-like" by comparison. To each his own, but I know already where I'll eat next time we come to Murren!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top of our Short List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We dream of La Grotte/Hotel Blumental. Don't miss the Vegetable Strudel or their Rosti smothered in Kale, egg and cheese. The fresh lettuces and the dressing on their salad was also heads and tails over any other place we ate in the area. The dessert was nothing extraordinary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren also viewed

Murren, Jungfrau Region
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing