We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a disappointment”

360o Restaurant Piz Gloria
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Perfect before and after your mountain experience. Our restaurant with table service rotates around its own axis in 45 minutes, gliding past more than 200 mountain peaks. We offer a wide range of dishes from snacks to regional specialities. Restaurant opening times: during operation time of the cablecar
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After an amazing ride on the cable car with such wonderful views we were looking forward to eating a nice meal in the famous revolving "James Bond" restaurant. When we arrived no-one bothered to serve us. We called a waiter and asked for a menu which was full of drinks but very little food. Eventually we realised that if we wanted to eat we would just have to help ourselves to the overpriced bowls of soup or the limp lettuce at the salad bar. Having chosen the soup we then looked around for rolls or bread. Again we called a waitress who said she would bring it. About ten minutes later when the soup was cold she finally turned up with 2 slices of stale bread.
we then tried to pay the bill as we had to catch the next cable car down the mountain in order to re-join our party who was due to catch the train out of Murren. Again a long wait for the bill. We had to almost walk out before anyone came to take our money.
The movement of the revolving restaurant is a little bit disorientating but the views are exceedingly good. However, I would not recommend this restaurant at all, and the prices were very high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    121
    42
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food served red raw!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our "007" Burgers were served to us practically raw and when we complained to the manager, she refused to reduce our bill in any way. At CHF 23 for a burger, it was far from worth it. Don't go to Schilltorn for the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular, Panoramic Views of the Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Schilthorn Piz Gloria was a unique experience that exceeded my expectations. During the a short cable car ride from Murren we broke through the clouds to this wonderful panoramic view of the Eiger, Mönch, Jungfrau and other peaks silhouetted against the deep blue sky in the Bernese Oberland area. These majestic peaks with the clouds below were breathtaking. We were told that it was best from a weather standpoint to go early (which also allowed us to get an "early-bird" discount on the cable car). The rotating restaurant was interesting (especially if you took the time to refresh your memory of the James Bond scenes shot in the area) and the food was average (but you are clearly not there for the food). There are outside decks around the restaurant with a 360 degree view and signs to help you identify the mountains.

When you return to Murren, consider hiking from the cable car station to Gimmewald (about 40 minutes), taking the cable car from Gimmewald to Stechelberg in the Lauterbrunnen Valley and hiking along the river. A gorgeous area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJP-TEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW! and great food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a little pricey ($30 pp for AYCE breakfast buffet), but so worth it! The views are unbelievably fabulous and the food was over-the-top good. Loved it! This was an experience of a lifetime that I know my kids will never forget. The restaurant turns a complete circle every 48 min I believe, so the views just keep getting better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaGOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was so distracted by adrenaline and nerves as we neared the Piz Gloria by the fact that I was going to ski down after lunch. Had a cup of coffee a few bites of pommes frites, how can I possibly think of food when I was 10,000 ft high? Setting fear and worked up nerves aside, I can proudly proclaim that I skied the Schilthorn! One word: Magnificent!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiSi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 360o Restaurant Piz Gloria also viewed

 
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to 360o Restaurant Piz Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing