We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Sonnenberg
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alpenruh(Murren)(Great Value!)
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eiger Guesthouse(Murren)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jungfrau(Murren)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eiger(Murren)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Murren)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpina(Murren)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
13
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
8
2
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Sonnenberg (Sun Mountain) chalet/restaurant can not be topped for the food, hospitality, million dollar views of the Alps, food, sun terrace, lodging and did I mention the food! I lived in the town of Murren, just a bit down the ski slope, for 1 year from 2002/2003. During that period the Sonnenberg was my favorite haunt. Steve is a awesome guy and excellent chef, and host for all who are lucky enough to make it up to this magical spot on the planet.
Last visit back was in 3/09 for business in Zurich. Took a three day side trip to the Murren area for some skiing and a big California style burgers that Steve grills to perfection. Headed back for business and 5 days of skiing in Murren, next week 3/15/12, and the Sonnenberg will be my first stop. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the front of the chalet. Best views and morning sun.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had a wonderful stay, the room was very comfortable, the food was great and the views were fantastic. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The Pension is run by Steve and his wife Monika. They are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Steve takes the time to talk to you and share interesting stories about the area and his adventures in Switzerland. He is also a great photographer and has many pictures documenting the scenery in the area. We had dinner at the Pension both nights as part of our reservation and Steve is also an excellent cook. The Pension's location is nestled right in a valley above Murren with incredible views and is a great starting point for hiking. The value was great and we highly recommend a visit to the Pension Sonnenberg!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank DohaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Service was great - a personal welcome the moment we walked in the door, shown immediately to our room, then left in peace to settle and come back down in our own time. Nothing was a problem, staff were available from early in the morning until late at night.
The room was lovely (instead of a family room, we were given a 20-bed dorm to ourselves - plenty of room to spread out!), with a great view. The linen was clean & fresh, as were the towels.
Food was good, with breakfast and dinner included for a small additional charge. Breakfast was fresh bread with various spreads, cereal, juice, & hot chocolate or coffee. While there was no choice of meal at dinner, the meal served was the same as one of those available on the regular menu - not some 'cheap' alternative.
Overall, a great experience - set in a lovely valley, with a great view of the mountains opposite!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_WillTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights with two children and a friend. The booking process was very efficient and helpful. All questions answered. Being familiar with staying in youth hostels, we found the price awesome (for Switzerland), service excellent, and the food was very very good - surpassing all expectations. The hosts are wonderfully welcoming, and the place was also extremely clean and organised. We felt totally welcome and 'at home'.

If you want to be a 'tourist' and follow the crowds, then you can stay in Interlaken or Mürren, but if you want to really smell the fresh mountain air, the peace and quiet (plus cowbells and the sound of water flowing)...and the view....the view is awesome!

To get to the pension you need to take the train to Lauterbrunnen, Gondola to Mürren, walk through the town to the mountain railway station, and then walk downhill to the small valley to the guesthouse. We carried packs and it wasn't difficult. It gave us a sense of satisfaction as mountain travellers, and our 3 year old managed absolutely fine with it. In fact, having stayed in the town of Brienz and taken a mountain trip to Haslital a few weeks before, we specifically went looking for a 'mountain chalet' rather than a town location...

To save money on your transport costs, check the swiss tourism website www.sbb.ch and plan carefully, but it usually costs around 100chf to get to any of the 'big' mountains (Shilthorn, Jungfraujoch, Rigi, Pilatus, etc), and we even found a discount voucher for the schilthorn on the back of the brochure in the Tourist info centre in Murren.

If you don't want to pay the less than $5 per person to go up on the train to get back to your accommodation, you can always walk - about 30 - 45 minutes from the town, uphill, along the tourist trail...

Oh, and for kids they have a trampoline, friendly animals, plenty of space to run around, and some toys to play with on the terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarsparilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews