We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpin Sherpa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoria(Meiringen)
$245
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel zur Post(Hasliberg)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpbach(Meiringen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Meiringen(Meiringen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rebstock(Meiringen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
7
26
15
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
26
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswi filobby arealocation is excellentrailway stationyogurttowneuropewaterfall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 57 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Hotel is clean and the breakfast is good but the dinner is good for children due to the small portions they gave us. The reception is very rude and ignorant and they don't know what means customer care but I need to say that the Indian waiters were excellent and are very friendly instead of the German lady that was rude also!

Room Tip: Never choose a room at the main road!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very clean hotel. Very central location. Good food considering what you pay for. Excellent hospitality especially the waiters.

Room Tip: we were a family of 4. room was very spacious and airy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borgtoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Comfortable hotel, pleasant room with balcony and nice bathroom. Good breakfast. Central position, close to busses and railway station. Staff generally very friendly and helpful. Would stay in this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Alpin Sherpa is located in the non-touristy Alpine town of Meiringen, Switzerland. Meiringen is well-situated for visiting by rail, bus or car such picturesque areas as the Interlaken region, Lucerne, Zermatt and Grindelwald. The ever-efficient Swiss railroad system works like a charm out of Meiringen. The hotel staff, led by manager Alexander Dalucas, is most capable, personable and accommodating. While the Alpin Sherpa lacks some of the amenities of, say, American hotels, it is clean, cozy, has wi-fi, sauna and spa, and the food is quite good. It could use a laundry service and better room lighting. It has no AC but, hey, you're in the Alps. Open the window. My wife and I, part of a group of 16 friends, had a wonderful two-week stay. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovinlifeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We were pretty disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean, but that's about it. We did not like the food at all, it consisted of undercooked meat or canned vegetables. We were unfortunate enough to stay at the hotel in the last week of December. This week there was the strange tradition of the villagers walking down the streets in a parade all evening AND night with drums and cow bells. The noice was nerve-wrecking! And since half of the population was participating in the parade, the hotel was understaffed and we had to wait two hours for our dinner (with 4 children under the age of 6). Ridiculous!
The disco/club underneath the hotel is noisy, we could hear the beat all night long.
If you want to go skiing, you can take the bus, which is ok. The ski-area is extremely busy in this time of year. It would take us up to an hour an a half to get to and from the ski-area, so waiting in line for almost three hours a day is no picnic. We won't be back there ever again.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank Dezzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews