We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good hotel option for the location. Pleasant staff, comfortable and decor that is easy on the eye and uncluttered if with a bit of an IKEA feel to it. Minor deductions for lateness of house keeping and double room being two singles nudged up against each other.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dirk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Dirk_London!
Thank you very much for writing your review - it's great that you enjoyed your stay! We know that in the very peak season sometimes the cleaning of all the rooms takes time. But we prefer to have very clean rooms for our guests at any time.

We hope to see you again! Kind regards,
Your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely rooms, a bit on the small side but modern, neat and clean. Beautiful view of the mountains from our window. Restaurant was absolutely delightful with gourmet-quality food... but like most food in Switzerland, incredibly expensive. We were also amused by how the wait staff kept removing our carafe of tap water from the table and moving it to a nearby tray. We would retrieve it (we are big water drinkers) and a few minutes minutes later they would take it away again. At one point I considered slapping their hand to keep it off our water! But seriously, a wonderful hotel in the heart of Meiringen... we would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank aaesposito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Lisle,
Thank you very much for writing your great feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. And we definitely will think about your point of view concerning the water carafe - thank you for sharing!
We hope to welcoming you back in Meiringen somewhen and wish you all the best!
Your hosts, Franziska and Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have just returned from our latest trip to the Victoria which was as enjoyable as ever. Since our last visit all the bedrooms have been completely refurbished and are bright and fresh (not that they weren’t before) and we love the new décor. We like the relatively simple style and immaculate presentation in the whole hotel. The outdoor terrace has also been refurbished and is a lovely area to relax with a drink or to eat al fresco after a day in the hills. The hotel is conveniently located for the town, station and the gondola up to the Haslibergs.
Simon and Franziska, whose hotel this is, are exceptional hosts and the whole team are very capable and friendly. As if the style and standard of the hotel were not enough the restaurant must be one of the best in the region. Simon, who is also the chef, is well travelled and has developed his own distinctive style and serves delicious Michelin standard dishes; fine dining in a relaxed convivial atmosphere.
Breakfast is an excellent buffet, and Simon is generally available to help plan the day using his extensive local knowledge.
The Victoria is the ideal alpine holiday hotel – good breakfast, good day’s hiking in the hills or exploring the local area, followed by a superb meal and a good night’s sleep, then do it all again the next day!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger and have good views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RL_and_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear RL_and_ML
Thank you so much for taking time to write this great review about your stay in Hotel Victoria. We are so glad that you like the new style of the rooms and the terrace! Your comment is a great motivation to us and the whole Victoria-Team to give our best every day.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Your hosts, Franziska & Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am from Hong Kong and had spent eight days in Switzerland with my husband and daughter in June. We took Meiringen a stopover to Zermatt and chose to stay at Hotel Victoria. We were surprised to find such a big gem in a small town, which offered a sense of comfort and ease surpassing that of pricey lodgings in Montreux and Interlaken. The hotel was newly renovated into a contemporary structure and rooms were nicely furnished. The backyard sitting area with tables for tea was an ideal place for relaxation, chatting and using I pads or I phones. The owner, also a chef, mastered the hotel restaurant and cooked fine dishes as fantastic as those prepared by Michelin stars restaurants. He was also very kind and thoughtful and had given us valuable advices on our trip. My stay at Hotel Victoria was totally a pleasure and it is definitely an attraction of Meiringen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MYChau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear MYChau
What a great review! Thank you so much for taking your time to write a feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you had a great time!

Kind regards and all the best,
Your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

While nothing special from outside, hotel is so clean, modern, well equipped and well maintained and managed by real professionals, that you start searching for a reason to come back.
Modern, comfortable and zen, with an excellent restaurant, what else to ask for?

Room Tip: I suppose all of them are of the same quality, just some more spacious. And you would want to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Tiklaima
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope, that you will find the reason to come back... We're looking forward very much to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I am usually a little skeptical about hotels located near the "bahnhof", so when my husband told me he had booked us at the Hotel Victoria Meiringen for the first leg of a long hiking weekend, I was not exactly thrilled. But I figured, "It's just one night…"

I was greeted and checked in by the owner upon my arrival. For all those who complain about poor customer service in Switzerland, this hotel is proof that good service begins at the top. The owner was warm, friendly and super helpful - and his approach was mirrored by all those who engaged us - from the restaurant servers to the cleaning staff.

The rooms here have all been completely renovated in a kind of sturdy Alpine chic. I love hotels that keep rugs and bedding textiles to a minimum - everything feels so much cleaner and fresher. I immediately fell into cosy napping on the pristine and super comfy bedding - and it was only 4 in the afternoon. The room was simple but impeccable in every way.

We strolled through town in the evening and nearly took dinner at a "guild" restaurant on a quiet side street. We were so glad we didn't! Instead, we returned to Hotel Victoria - and what a treat! Every bite from the amuse bouche to dessert was fantastic! Although the atmosphere is relaxed and casual, this was fine dining. Don't get me started on the macadamia nut brownie with banana-ginger ice cream - that alone is worth a trip to Meiringen!

The common areas of the hotel are also very inviting. Water and nibbles were set out in the afternoon and there are plenty of places to settle down - inside and out - to relax. There is even a small meeting room that can be closed off, which my husband is probably going to use for a team meeting at some point.

In terms of location, this is the place to be in Meiringen. It is just steps from the bahnhof, but at the end of a road, so it is really quiet and tranquil, but you are a quick stroll to all the necessities for enjoying a great hike in the area. The owner helped us plan our hike over breakfast and was a great resource.

It's just such a pleasure to stay at a hotel where the caring touch of the owners is felt in every detail. In the end, I was sorry that we had only booked for one night…But we know better now and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear jcapri
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria for a week in January for our annual winter walking holiday. We have been staying at the Victoria for ten years now and we never fail to have a wonderful week. Franziska and Simon provide exceptional hospitality and Simon's cuisine is always a culinary experience we enjoy! (The Candlelight dinner option is well worth having in January - a delightful post Christmas treat!) The team of handpicked staff are knowledgeable,happy to assist and generally very well trained. An excellent breakfast is served which sets you up for a day's walking or skiing.The hotel is contemporary and immaculately clean and comfortable and the décor of the restaurant/bar provides a cosy atmosphere especially when it's snowing outside! We always have a superior room which is bigger than standard and has a bath as well as a shower. From the hotel it is an easy walk to the cable car station and the train and buses are only yards away. It is possible to do a variety of different walks using the different modes of transport and if it snows the paths are flattened to enable walking. Simon has an excellent local knowledge and can advise guests on all the options. On a wet day you can take the train to Interlaken, Spitz, Lucerne, Wengen etc. Another lovely touch is the Gluhwein and cake that is always awaiting you when you come back from a long day's walk. We are already looking forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra for the space, bath and south facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
#5 of 10 in Meiringen
101 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reuti
Hotel Reuti
#1 of 5 in Hasliberg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Bahnhofplatz 9, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range: $182 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Meiringen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing