We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumped from Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Reviewed February 12, 2008

After a long day of hiking over the pass from Engelberg, looking forward to getting to our hotel, my husband, myself, and our two young kids arrived at the hotel by foot at about 6 p.m., When we got to the desk we were asked "Did you get our email we sent you a few days ago?" We said no, because we had been already traveling in Europe. We were then informed that they did not have a room for us, because they had a group that needed our room. They told us we would have to stay at another hotel that they had arranged--Hotel Rebstock. We were very disappointed, because the Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes looked like a nice hotel, and we were very tired and hungry. They did not offer to drive us there, and it took us about 45 minutes to walk into town and find the other hotel. We eventually got settled. We loved our room at the Hotel Rebstock, and had a fabulous dinner. So, in the end in turned out OK, but we were angry at the Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes, as it made for a very late night with our children, which threw our schedule off, as we had a very long hike the next day to Grindelwald. The least the hotel could have done was offer us a ride to the other hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
8  Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2006

This was our third visit to this lovely hotel.

The views from the balconies cannot be beaten (see photos). In one part of the hotel you get views across Meiringen and the mountains beyond; from other rooms you can see the Reichenbach Falls (where Sherlock Holmes fought Moriarty).

Although the hotel is looking slightly dated, it is immaculately clean and most rooms can accommodate 3 people. The main carpet throughout the hotel is worth a look - I've never seen another carpet like it!

The hotel provides an excellent buffet breakfast, comprising of breads of all types, cheese, ham, jams, boiled eggs, yoghurt and cereal.
The evening meal comprises of four courses; salad, soup, main and dessert. If you don't like the main course, providing you tell the hotel that morning (the menus are put up each evening for the next night's meal), they will provide an alternative.

The hotel is a leisurely 15 minute walk from the train and bus station, which allows you to connect to the excellent Swiss transport system that takes you to almost all parts of Switzerland!

We would happily return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iciejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We thought that this modern hotel was hard to beat for friendliness and facilities.
Our room was more like a small apartment and very clean. There were gift wrapped meringues on every pillow !
Our ten month old son was made very welcome and we were allowed to take our all -terrain stroller right up to our room.
The hotel is located up a tree lined side street but very handy for the town centre and also the cable car station. We are going back shortly for another summer holiday and then maybe again for the skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2004

This was the biggest hotel in Europe I think I have stayed in. It almost looks like this hotel used to be an apartment complex. There was a separate dining and living room and a kitchen sink and small refrigerator. It probably would be convenient if you had children or were there for an extended stay. The restaurant staff was nice and I had delicious "Zurich-style" veal. The hotel also has a swimming pool and sauna, although we were too exhausted from hiking to even make it downstairs to try it out. I would recommend this hotel to others.

10  Thank brianhdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Stogi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reisender_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpin Sherpa Hotel
Alpin Sherpa Hotel
#7 of 10 in Meiringen
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 6 in Hasliberg
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes

Address: Alpbachallee 3, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range: $118 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes Meiringen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing