We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love you, my big Friends Katrin and Franz!”
Review of Chalet Zum Steg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meiringen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Zum Steg
Ranked #1 of 9 Meiringen B&B and Inns
Ratingen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love you, my big Friends Katrin and Franz!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Dear my big, big friends, Katrin + Franz!
Due to your meanwhile great international audience, I write that post in english - hope Franz won`t mind it is not in Schwyzerdütsch :-)
The fourth visit within the last three years from June 29 to July 08 2013 - what shall I say ? Comin back for sure - of course!
The very best, most lovely chalet all over Switzerland - of course!
The most amazing room with a great view of the breathtaking environments of the Haslital - of course!
The best breakfast and the - in the meantime - legendary Bircher Müsli - of course (people should have seen Franz` hard job crackin the nuts :-)
But the most stunning thing is you - Katrin and Franz!
I hardly remember meeting such great, unbelievable kind, friendly, warmhearted and gorgeous people like you!
Even trembling with me in a hog house 100 km away and 1.400 m above :-)
Giving a big recommendation to all the people reading that - love you and coming back home soon, yours Harald
Harald Eder, Upper Bavaria 23.07.2013 20:13

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came back again after last year for some more punishment on the Alpen Brevet.

Katrin and Franz were absolutely amazing and treated us like we had know each other all our lives.
From the greeting to when we departed we were looked after like never before. The food was top notch. We were made fondu, rosti amongst others. The museli is world famous and is just a small part of a wonderful breakfast.

They both have great ideas for things to do and they day of the cycle we went to a cheese fesitval and drown my sorrows in some whiskey.

We played cards and bingo with the other guests each night and Katrin was the ringleader.

Ended up staying an extra day it was so much fun.

The only bad point is that they didnt organise the weather for us and as a result there was snow and my cycle was cancelled. Not impressed. They will have to try harder next time on this front.

Will i be back again. I certainly will. It will be a question of when and not if.

Couldnt recommend Chalet Zumsteg any higher.

See you soon Katrin and Franz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geancster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Once again we arrived to a very warm welcome and throughout our stay we had the most enjoyable experience. We even stayed an extra night and had to drag ourselves away to continue our trip to Italy. Our hotels there were not a patch on the hospitality we received at Chalet zum Steg guest house. Worlds apart!
We enjoyed some different experiences this time including Hergiswil and Lucerne which are only an hour away by car and well worth the journey, we also visited the Axalp and walked the old trail set about by the wood carvers from Brienz...a delightful and unusual walk in the mountain to say the least. Borrowing a bike to take a short cycle down to Lake Brienz was also a highlight, there are so many options available to you when you stay at this guesthouse it is impossible to detail it all. I will leave it on this note...I would go back in a flash and to anyone thinking about visiting Meiringen or the surrounding areas...definately stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After my first stays in July and September 2011 - each for seven days - now the third one in August 2012 for 11 days.
Beautiful Chalet in absolutely great environments, where you can go for simply everything you can imagine!
Fine rooms and a beautiful garden provide a feeling of comfort and releif.
Overwhelming kindness and services by the hosts Katrin and Franz Hagmann!
Rich breakfast with the best Bircher Müsly I ever got.
For sure I will com back again to that great place and that wonderful people!

Harald Eder, Ratingen, Germany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we have stayed 4 nights in the chalet and enjoyed our stay. The lady ( Katherin ) who runs the hottel is very knd and helpfull. She gave us many tips and advices that were very helpfull. So we could enjoy and use her experience as a local person.

Her Musly in the breakfast is great and I wish I could have it every day. I warmly recommend this hotel to anyone who travels in the meringen ( iterlaken ) area. very good value for the money.

Room Tip: the appartament is very good and big. good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zvi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a great stay here, had to tear ourselves away! A beautiful, clean and cosy old Swiss chalet perfectly located for lots of lovely walks, cracking views from the balconies, but best of all wonderful hospitality from Katrin and Franz who really welcomed us into their home. They are such lovely, generous and warm-hearted people, you get the kind of reception you could never get at the most expensive hotel. A kind of magic is at work here - guests eyes light up on arrival and within 5 mins it seems everyone is suddenly sat round the table or in the garden, enjoying a cup of tea or wine, Katrin's lovely pastries and each other's company. Wonderful breakfasts including delicious homemade Birchermuesli and Nussgipfeli, eggs, local breads, hams and cheeses. Fondue and Kirsch in the evening sitting outside on the veranda. Wine, music, and laughter. Thank you again Katrin and Franz for making our holiday so enjoyable, we hope to visit again sometime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip to Switzerland.
This place is absolutely amazing! Clearly the highlight of our vacation.

The location at Meiringen was everything we had hoped for. It is small town surrounded by beautiful mountains. Very spacious and relaxed without all the hotels typically found in ski-resorts. Many attractions are near by, and we also made day trips to Lucerne and Grindelwald.

The apartment itself was a great fit for our family (3 young kids).
Outside we enjoyed beautiful views of mountains and waterfalls, a nice garden and trampoline for the kids. Inside everything was very well kept, clean, and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own dinners. We really felt at home.

Katrin and Franz, the hosts, are the nicest of hosts. Very kind and friendly.
It is clear they truly love to host their guests, and are always happy to go the extra mile.
Every morning we'd go downstairs to have breakfast, and visit with Katrin.
The meals were great, and the conversation was always very interesting and full of great travel tips and advice (So much better than staying at an hotel).

I definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Just ask Katrin for best fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
1.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
36 reviews
1.4 mi away
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
#6 of 10 in Meiringen
91 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Zum Steg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Zum Steg

Property: Chalet Zum Steg
Address: Balmstrasse 69, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Meiringen
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chalet zum Steg, you'll always find a friendly welcome and a family atmosphere. It's situated in a lovely quite, rual and peaceful area of Meiringen, called Balm. We are only 15min on foot or 5min by car from the village away. You can enjoy beautiful mountain sceneries all around. The Aare Gorge, Ballenberg, the two passes Grimsel and Susten. Grindelwald and Interlaken are not far either. From our house, you can cycle to the lake of Brienz, Interlaken, Thun or if you feel up to it, even the mountains, which are all around. In the winter there is a ski resort for the hole family. Fun for everybody. It's the ideal spot to start your adventure trips in the Bernese Alpes. We can help you plan your excursions, point you in the right directions for sightseeing and simply make your stay here in The Bernese Alpes as memorable as possible. We are open the whole year round. Our Bed & Breakfast is a place where you will want to stay so come and see for yourself, see you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing