We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Heaven”
Review of Hotel Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tourist
Ranked #7 of 9 Meiringen B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Listen, it ain't the Ritz. I'm not inferring these are deluxe accommodations by any means. If you're looking for luxury and willing to shill out the bucks, I'd recommend Grindelwald over Meiringen. However, if it's budget accommodations you're looking for, you can do no better. I have been staying at Hotel Tourist for over thirty years. THIRTY YEARS, PEOPLE. It has always been our first stop for the night after arriving Zurich on our annual family vacation. The place stinks to high heaven with fondue in the evenings and can be a little noisy with late dinner guests. Oh, and the look is completely dated, which i personally love! It hasn't changed since it's heyday in the 60's. But what could be better than leaving your window open to let in the Alpine air and awake to the sound of a babbling brook and cow bells as the bovine make their way up the grassy pastures behind the hotel?? I dream of waking up in one of their down beds. Enjoy - there is no better value to be found!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelationshipGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room we were given was small but well furnished with wardrobes, table, pair of chairs and TV. Meiringen's weather was too cold and damp for our liking. So returning to the room with a heater was a bliss.
Although sufficiently furnished, the bathroom was very smaller - the only downside. And this was the case for 2 tiny Asian girls. I'm not sure if the other rooms come with a more accommodating bathroom. But if they don't, bigger or older travelers will face quite a challenge each morning of their stay.
The colors used for bed covers, curtains and the complete wooden furnishing of the room created a very warm and cozy atmosphere. It was nicely decorated with paintings, old wall-clock, and some other antiques. The room also had a beautiful view of Reichenbach falls.

The hotel features an indoor restaurant. And I think it's a favorite amongst the locals since it always sees quite a lot of people for breakfast and dinner.
We had the pleasure of having dinner here our first night. And it turned out to be one of the most memorable dinner experiences in our 3 weeks trip. We had a delicious dish made of Trout fish, a delicacy in the Swiss. At 25CHF, it was definitely worth the cost.
Breakfast was included in our stay. The breakfast spread was not as elaborate as the other hotels we stayed in, but it was sufficient.

The hotel is situated not very far from the main station. But getting directions to it was a bit difficult. Few people could communicate in English. So walk to the hotel with heavy backpacks was exerting for us first-time backpackers.
Directions: If hotel's name doesn't ring a bell for the locals, ask direction to Reichenbach falls instead.
Here's how I remember getting to it. Get off from the main station onto the main road. You will pass buy Sherlock Museum on your right (unmissable with Sherlock's statue and big chess-board on floor with all pieces) and Conan Doyle Restaurant onto the right. As you keep walking, you'll cross Sherlock Alpenclub and find the road turning to the right. Take that and then keep walking. You will cross a small stream, come to a junction with Aare Gorge to the left and way to Reichenbach to the right. Cross and walk further ahead. You'll find you hotel.

Room Tip: Room with Reichenbach Falls view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mallika_Naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Simple accommodation in a beautiful location. Do not be put off by the website. Rooms are quite small but spotless. Breakfast simple - cereal, juice, wonderful bread. We ate one night at their "Asian weekend" - really superb food - well presented. Martin, the owner, has excellent English and always has plenty of time for you. Good off road car park close to Meiringen, with easy access on foot to the town - (about 10 minutes).

Room Tip: Good views all round as hotel is detached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Hotel Tourist is a good example of a very tired hotel in rural Switzerland. It has not seen any mayor refurbishment since te 60's, or at least so it seems. The shower/toilet is very small and is basically a plastic box with novilon wallpaper. Nevertheless the rooms are clean, the owner friendly and the breakfast not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This hotel run by Martin Schläppi is a nice place to stay while visting the Aare gorge, the Reichenbach falls made famous by Sherlock Holmes, the tennis center, the open-air swimming pool and the bottom station of the Meiringen-Hasliberg railway. The Halsiberg ski gondola is only 2 minutes by car which makes this a great place to stay. The rooms are simple and clean , the food is delicious, the kids play area is nice and Martin makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegas005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CopenhagenPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Javi_Bego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meiringen hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
209 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
35 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
55 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Adler-Central
Hotel Adler-Central
#5 of 9 in Meiringen
18 reviews
0 mi away
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
#6 of 10 in Meiringen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist

Address: Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Meiringen
Price Range: $90 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing