We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RiverLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RiverLodge
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

sorry for the late review. i've been there in last april 2012. it was a great experience staying here. it is just 10 minutes walking distance from the interlaken ost station. ( we have to go around the lake, and cross with the bridge situated about 2km from the station even though river lodge just behind the station. if there is a bridge connect directly from the station with river lodge, then, it will be 2 minutes only! haha).

for the service, it was great! the receptionist, answered all the questions and even provided us with some cooking utensils for FREE!! we just need to ensure we returned them back in good condition. so helpful! even the kitchen and the toilet was always clean. we even enjoyed our hot shower! the shower is not inside room. it is outside room. and for me, that is not a problem, because i felt like living in hostel during my high school!

the location is very great. away from the city. everything around you are just nature. trees, lake, waterfall. it was so calm!! at night, you just can hear the peaceful air breeze. it was just so nice!

about the room, yes, it is quite small. but, as long as i can sleep with blanket for few hours, it is fine. hehe.

overall, this place was good. but, it is not suitable for family. suitable for traveling among friends, who are not so high standard, who can easily adapt with any kind of situation. Switzerland is a nice place to visit several times. and of course i will come again. and definitely will recommend this place to my friends. =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniq90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

From the pictures, we had already expected the rooms to be small. Location was about 15 minutes by foot from the Interlaken Ost station.

Happy to have a shared kitchen as food is expensive in Switzerland and we were able to prepare our own food. There were laundry facilities as well.

But we could have better prepared ourselves if we had been informed that there will be a big group of kids camping there during our 2 nights stay. It was very noisy and the kids next door would just bang on the walls while we were in the small room. Not a very nice experience. The kids were really loud as we were having our dinner in the shared kitchen.

The shared bathroom was small but clean and functional. Would be good if there were heater in the bathroom and toilet. Tap in the toilet only had cold water and I could only rely on the hand dryer to warm my freezing hands after that.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limstephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

10min walk from train station and very easy to find. Staff were friendly. We stayed in a 4-bed room, but we were the only two in there for our stay Room was clean, but there wasn't much to clean. 2 bunk beds and a small wooden shelving unit separating them. Had small wooden lockers as well. Not a very spacious room. Pillows were terrible. Walls were thin - we could practically hear other people's conversations. It also didn't help that the washrooms were right outside our door so you could here people constantly going in and out of them. But generally around 11pm everything quieted down.

Kitchen was open 24hrs, but for some reason had a terrible smell in it the whole time. Laundry machines were cheap, but very hard to get one. The staff use them to clean the sheets and such and then everyone else at the lodge seemed to need them at the same time. The dryer we used didn't even dry out clothes - good thing it was sunny outside.

You could rent kayaks, canoe, bikes, electric car from them. Had lots of information about other adventures to do in Interlaken. And had a nice tented in area outside, where anyone can go an sit and enjoy the view.

For the price I would stay here again, but only for a few days at a time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I just spent two months backpacking and ran into very few bad experiences. Except for at the river lodge. The price per night was incorrectly converted into euro so i ended up paying alot more then i was supposed to. the women was helpful as long as whatever you needed didnt interfere with her daily routine. but since this is probably the only affordable place u wioll find, my advice is dont go to the swiss alps. go to the french alps. its beuatiful but not worth feeling like you;ve been taken advantage of.\

oh and we could hear the snoring in the next room too

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverLodgeHolidays, Receptionist at RiverLodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Good Day Kay

We are very sorry you had such a sad experience in the Bernese Oberland!

Since the Euro has been getting weaker and weaker by the week we were too slow to adapt the Exchange rate on our Website. we were not aware that our Guests were counting so much on the Price in Euros, since we are not in the European Union and we still use the Swiss Franc we were assuming that our Guests think in Swiss Francs when they get here. we have now changed the exchange rate to a more accurate rate. It does say in our

We do hope if you do come back one day, we can help you experience a sunnier and more satisfying side of our beautiful scenery and hostel, as we have done with so many guests from all over the world in the past, present and will be doing so well into the future.

All of us at RiverLodge are passionate Hosts who care that our Guests leave happier and richer of a few experiences from their visit.

Best Regards from Interlaken
The RiverLodge Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

River Lodge was a fairly inexpensive campground/hostel in Interlaken. The rooms were small, humid, and noisy. We could hear the guy in the next room snoring. The location is pretty good - it's right on the river, which is very nice if you feel like stepping outside for a picnic. The woman who was running the place was a machine - she seemed to be keeping the entire operation running by herself. She was great and very helpful. I wouldn't stay here unless I didn't mind roughing it a bit more than most hostels.

  • Liked — Price, location on the river
  • Disliked — Room, thin walls
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miketravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Interlaken Youth Hostel
#2 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverLodge

Property: RiverLodge
Address: Brienzstrasse 24, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverLodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlaceThe RiverLodge is situated next to the river Aare and is a really beautiful, relaxing place. It is close to everything. The train station east is just about 8 minutes away which is the starting point to all the excursions. Also the boat and bus-stations are there as well and a big supermarket. The center is about 10 min. walking distance.RoomsWe have 1 to 4-Bed-Rooms. You can use our complete equipped kitchen and living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your RiverLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing