We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arnolds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I'm slightly surprised because of the kind of reviews that this place has been given. The location and rooms were really good, but I found the place very indifferent and cold. I would think that the whole idea of staying in a bed and breakfast place was that it isn't an impersonal experience. But the hosts weren't really that helpful or, for that matter, available to provide any tips, or guidance -- considering that Interlaken is also such a small place; and they weren't even home half of the time, especially not even when we arrived. This meant we had to carry the luggage all by ourselves to the second floor, especially a problem, since my mother is a senior citizen and has a back problem. There was no opportunity to discuss, ask, or talk about anything with the hosts. The host also wasn't exactly sure of which bus would come from the station to the hostel! For the location, I think this is a complete waste of resources.

There was no Internet terminal available for those without a laptop. There was also no soap in the bathroom! We got it after we asked, but I think it's a little strange, since people traveling on a journey can't be expected to carry any soap with them. The breakfast was sketchy to say the least. I wish there were vegetables and fruits, or at least egg or something warm available. There was only cheese and bread and butter and jam and juice and conflakes and coffee and tea. The usual tinned, routine, packaged stuff. There was nothing fresh and hot, or anything out of the ordinary. I enjoyed the view and the rooms, but that's about it.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beat_reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I were delighted with our trip to Interlaken and our stay at Arnold's. Armin & Beatrice were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the top floor, which has a separate living room and a small fridge. This meant that after a hard day's walking we could kick off our boots and eat far too much fresh bread and Swiss cheese while watching Spiderman speaking German (there is an English channel, but it does repeat an awful lot of soaps). The bedroom window framed the Jungfrau wonderfully, so when we got up at 6am for the must-do Jungfraujoch trip we could see the top was clear of cloud. If we go back to Interlaken - and we hope to - Arnold's will definitley be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalfCenturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Lovely comfy bed and good brekky with charming hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We've just arrived,with my wife,from a 3 days stay at Arnold's B+B.What a lovely place!
Arnold's house is situated steps away from the park of Interlaken,10 min walk from the center of the wonderful town.We stayed at the room with the balcony (facing south: towards the entrance of the Lauterbrunnen valley and the majestic mountains).Very big room,extremely light(apart from the balcony door,2 big windows,plus the bathroom's one).A table with two chairs,in order to eat something(if you intend to keep your budget low).Extra sofa.Perfect bed,from where you can enjoy the mountain view.TV with international channels(but who cares!!).Spacious bathroom.No soap,no sampoo.We didn't asked for,we had our own-perhaps the don't supply,I'm not sure.And finally the balcony:Marvelous.Very beautiful and well kept garden.Birds chirping all the time.What a peacefulness!
Spotlessly clean-the rooms are cleaned every day.
The breakfast (3.5 euros per person) was delicious and sufficient.It's served in the ground level(where the Arnolds live),in a particular room.
Beatrice used to spend some time with us and the other guests during breakfast time.She is very nice and extremely helpful.We managed to meet Armin just once,due to his work.
On the first floor,where the guest rooms are,there are lots of brochures full of Interlaken attractions and a small school-board where you write the time you want your breakfast to be served.
From and for Interlaken Ost railway station you can catch bus nr 2.The bus stop (for both directions) is 30m away,towards the park (Sonnenhof).From and for Interlaken West railway station you can catch bus nr 2-same bus stop (Sonnenhof),and bus nr 5.For the bus stop of nr 5 (Matten b.I. Garage Elite) you must walk a bit more,on the opposite direction:walk the Parkstrasse,away from the park and then turn on your right hand in Hauptstrasse.
Tourists visit Interlaken mostly for the Jungfrau rail journey and the Schynige Platte route.But Interlaken is very beautiful.Don't miss the Aar riverside,it's wonderful.
Once you decide to ascend to Jungfraujoch,try to start your journey as early as possible.You will propably avoid the crowds.We planned to ascend via Grindelwald (where you can admire the impressive Eiger) and to return via Lauterbrunnen (a nice village full of waterfalls) in order to visit the Stechelberg waterfalls-you have to catch the bus from the Lauterbrunnen railway station to Stechelberg.When we decided to leave Jungfraujoch it was too crowded(about 15:00).And the extra 2 empty trains (apart from the scheduled one) that came to collect the crowds were not enough:we traveled to Kleine Scheidegg packed.So we spend some extra time there,waiting until the route became "evacuated".When we finally arrived in Lauterbrunnen it was too late for the Stechelbrg waterfalls(17:00 closing time).Nevertheless we enjoyed Lauterbrunnen (very impressive scenery:waterfalls of every size in both sides of the vertical rocks) and had also the opportunity of a short visit in Wildersil (out of the touristic routes,a picturesque small village right in the entrance of the valley,4min away from Interlaken by train).
Thank you Arnolds for your hospitality!!!
...And if you intend to travel to Switzerland try to make use of 2 extremely helpful services:
-Fly rail baggage:Just before the check-in at your departure airport you can declare the hotel or the railway station of your final destination in Switzerland.Your luggages will be forwarded there and you can travel in a quite free way.
-Check-in at the railway station:In more than 50 Swiss railway stations you can check-in for your fly and enjoy a much more convenient trip to the airport.
Those 2 services are strongly recommended if you have an early arrival in Switzerland and/or a late departure from there.(We managed to visit Bern and Thun in our way to Interlaken during our first day.During our departure day we checked-in in Lucern railway station-we spent there the last 3 days of our vacation-about 11:00 and we had the whole day to visit Einsiedeln with its famous Benedictine Abbey and to enjoy Zurich and its neiborhoods on the lake before our fly!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spyros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We have stayed in this b&b for 3 days during last week, and, I would rate this hotel very high in all the aspects. Armin, our host was extremely helpful and resourseful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Interlaken,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at the Arnolds B&B for 4 nights in Jan 2010. Great B&B, clean, comfortable, and lovely breakfast. Close to central cbd, just a 10 minute walk. Fairly close to the train station, 20min walk. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for similar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I just returned from a 9 night France/Switzerland trip with my Fiancee. We stayed in 4 different hotels, 0ne of which was Arnolds B&B for 3 of those nights. It was our favorite hotel of the trip and even our favorite hotel out of the 8 hotels we have stayed in in Europe.

1) Location. Located pretty much in the middle of Interlaken OST and WEST stations which is convenient since day trips, arrivals and departures are usually split between these 2 stations anyways and its a MAX 10 minute walk from each of these stations ( there are perfect directions on Arnolds website)

2) Cleanliness. We arrived early and the cleaning lady was still working and we did not disturb her, we dropped off our bags and went for a walk and she did a really great job cleaning the room every day. The room felt like our own home away from home and was really comfortable.

3) Food. SWITZERLAND IS EXPENSIVE, I STRONGLY reccomend choosing the breakfast option with Arnolds since just the juice and coffee alone provideed at the breakfast would cost you outside what the whole breakfast here would cost. And its very tasty and healthy.

4) Cost. The crappy hotel for $280 a night we had in Montreux didnt even come close to comfort and ambiance we received at Arnolds which was less than half that cost., You will NOT find a better deal.

The hotel had everything except internet station which maybe they did have but I didnt ask arnold. However the backyard of Arnolds faces a backpackers village hostel and they have internet stations that anyone is allowed to use including non guests. You dont have to go to front desk, since those internet stations are coin operated for a very good price.

We didnt eat out much as we chose to shop at the Co-Op grocery store across from OST statoon and picked up some wine, cheese , bread and other goodies and had picnics at various locations.

Enjoy !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christos_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Bonigen
Seehotel Bonigen
#2 of 5 in Boenigen
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parkstrasse 3, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $68 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arnolds Bed & Breakfast. Our nice and cozy house with a fantastic view to the Jungfrau and the surrounding mountains is the ideal place to stay in Interlaken. Located very centrally in a quiet area. Big garden. Rich breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arnolds Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing