We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is fantastic but avoid the restaurant”
Review of Harder Kulm

Harder Kulm
Book In Advance
More Info
$288.09*
and up
3-hour Private Guided City Tour in Interlaken
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View is fantastic but avoid the restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The view up the mountain is breath-taking, but I wouldn't recommend the restaurant. My partner and I bought the Harder Lunchtime ticket which included a lunch dish and return tickets for the funicular. When we bought the tickets at the base station, we were told the lunch dish would be chicken. However, when we got up to the restaurant, we were told the chicken had been sold out and they could substitute hot dogs instead which we were not keen on. In addition, when we looked at the a-la-carte menu, we realised that it would have been cheaper to buy the funicular tickets and lunch separately since we had the Swiss Pass which gave us 50% discount for the funicular tickets. We asked the waitress whether it would be possible for us to get a dish on the a-la-carte menu instead of the hot dogs since we realised that we had paid more for lunch than it was worth by buying the Lunchtime ticket. The waitress tried to explain to us why we had not 'overpaid' for our Lunchtime ticket, and after a while, she got her manager to talk to us. The manager was rude, saying that the price we had paid was part of a "special deal" they have with the funicular company. He even put the waitress down by saying that "she does not know anything and that's why she's not management (referring to himself)". When we asked him for a moment so we could discuss in private, he refused to leave and stood at our table and stared at us while we talked. We felt angry at his lack of respect and left the restaurant. We got a refund for the lunch (which we did not eat) when we got back down, and we used the money for a wonderful cheese Fondue lunch at a restaurant in the city. I wouldn't recommend the Lunchtime ticket nor the Harder Kulm restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    441
    71
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went up on a beatiful sunny day, and sat sipping a beer and taking in the spectacular views.
The viewing platform is excellent - its fun watching people realising they are standing on a glass floor!
The trip up on the funicular rail is great too.

Don't miss this - if you can see the hotel from "ground level" then it's worthing taking the trip up. If not, wait for a better day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“View below your feet”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The best way to see Interlaken from above without taking to the air. Take the Harderbahn up past the Wild Park. View the Ibex as you ascend up to the Harder Kulm the new cars give panoramic views , as you climb higher the views get better and better. On arrival at the top the walk to the restaurant and new viewing platform. The viewing platform is a marvel walk out and you get an unparrelled view of Interlaken. If you have the nerve just look straight down. Stop at the restaurant for a drink and just take in the fantastic views.When get to the bottom take path back up to the wildpark to get a close up of marmots and ibex.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is an easy way to see Interlaken and beyond, but don't waste your time if it is at all cloudy. We visited twice during our 5 day stay hoping to get the perfect picture of Interlaken and the mountains. Each time it was a just a bit too hazy to get the perfect picture, but it was still worth the trip. Look at the cams before going up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank angela6571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view alone”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We travelled up Harder Kulm just for the view. The trip up is quite good on the harderbahn, which is a very steep funicular railway.

Once at the top it is a short walk to the observation deck. The pictures give it the appearance of sticking out over the side of the mountain, it doesn't, trees and terra ferma is no more than 5-10m below the deck.

But the views from here are spectacular. You must visit on a clear day or it just isn't doing it justice.

There are plenty of walks around the top as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harder Kulm also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Harder Kulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing