We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget Hostel”
Review of Heidi's Hostel

Heidi's Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Hostel
Ranked #41 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was one of my first Hostel experience, I was with my friends and though most of the reviews seem bad, the kitchen was fine, we cooked our food and then went back to our beds, there is no common room space, so less of interaction with fellow travelers but if you're with friends, it's good to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvcoolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed only for a night, and the hostel seemed fine at first. The good thing about this hostel was that they had a kitchen that we could use and it was cheap for being in Switzerland. The room seemed fine and clean but when we left I noticed that I had something that seemed like mosquito bites. After I returned home I went to the doctor as the bites seemed to get worst. She told me that probably something bite me in the hostel. Also the lady in charge seemed nice but then she tried to charge us with more money as we wanted to pay in euros instead of swiss francs, and she thought that our fee that we already paid to hostelbookers didn't count for the final price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMSS_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The moment you step in the hostel you feel the pungent smell of dampness. The washroom is a iron cabinet inside the room. The water from the iron cabinet (washroom) leaks into the room and onto the carpet which causes the smell of dampness. I stayed for 2 days and used full bottle (300ml) of room freshener and used to leave all door and windows open to get rid of the smell. In the hallway you have to keep your nose covered with handkerchief in order to avoid the damp smell and smell of dog ***** which belongs to the owner lady. In short, if you have other options please explore it now, else don't have any hopes with the place.

Room Tip: Staying away from the place would be the best choice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nihar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All kinds of promises made. In the end, none of them delivered and we were charged over double the rate we found online.... Absolutely no reason to stay here unless it's too cold to survive on the street outside. Filthy, horrible smell, unsafe bunk beds, moldy bathrooms...would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hostel is run by a very nice, friendly, talkative and grandmotherly lady, Heidi.
The place is very affordable and the location is just perfect, right next to the Interlaken west train station. The view from the room is great with a decent kitchen. There is a good amount of parking space and it is free, which is a luxury in most parts of Switzerland.
That is where the good things end.

The place is quite run down and seems dirty with a strange odor throughout the hostel. The rooms are quite small and are in dire need of repairs. Even the cleanliness leaves much to be desired.
The bathrooms are much like small cupboards with hardly any space to move.

Average budget hostel but definitely not highly recommended. Pick if you have a weak sense of smell =)

Room Tip: Check the room before you move in. Sometimes the rooms are in a real bad shape in which case you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

convenient location as it is minutes from the interlaken west train station. pretty cosy hostel but you have to watch where you put your food to prevent little mice from munching on them. we were able to admire some beautiful views of the mountains from the balcony and even from the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

we travelled for about a month all over europe and it was the only place where we felt cheated and had to leave immediately and moved to hotel krebbs. it did not have basic amenities of a dishwasher, washing machine and wi-fi besides. we did not get what we were promised and apartment was very poorly decorated and very old odd furniture. even the towels and linen were horrible. the owners also were not at all cooperative and took the entire money before we could see the apartment. would never recommend this palce to anyone...it was the worst part of our holiday.

Room Tip: hotel krebbs was fine....would stay in grindelwald not interlaken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amishahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
0.4 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Seehotel Bonigen
Seehotel Bonigen
#2 of 5 in Boenigen
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Hostel

Address: Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $110 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heidi's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing