We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a hotel, but their main ops is a elderly home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artos Interlaken
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“This is a hotel, but their main ops is a elderly home.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on my tour through Switserland, and was to find out that this hotel is a "side operation" from a elderly home. The hotelrooms are in a separate wing but breakfast is in combination with the permanent residents. The service during breakfast isn't to great, had to wait for the coffee and tea for a while and the breakfast buffet isn't as generous as said on the hotelpage. You can clearly tell that the hotelbizz isn't their main job. But... the rooms are sure spacious and new decorated with big balcony.
The hotel is located on à quite street away from the towncenter, a walk of 10/15 and the staff at checkin was very friendly

If you don't mind sharing your vacation with the elderly than this can be a choice for you, but to me the stay didn't and up to my vacation experience and wouldn't stay here again when going to Interlaken

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is part of an elderlyhome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
18
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Traveling with a wheelchair is very easy in this hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much. Plenty of space in your room for the wheelchair to charge and move around. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The wellness is very tidy and quiet.





  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We found the breakfasts and evening meals to be great, rooms very comfortable, staff very attentive, wellness centre a bit odd as we were the only people there. I would certainly love to be an elderly resident here due to the extremely high standards and location.
Bought a Swissrail ticket and travelled to some fabulous places by rail including the main mountain railways. Public transport in this area puts everywhere else to shame as its so efficient. .

would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 727cstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

set in a beautiful city of interlaken.. a stunning mountain view from the balcony .. a comfortable bed and a warm staff . what else do you need on a vacation .. :) .. had a bful experience staying in artos .. met few bful ppl there .. but brekfast was not that good .. but overall the experience was really good .. wud luv to stay in the same hotel again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreyagup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just stayed here the one night, the hotel staff was great, room was fine and breakfast was OK (I missed everything really)

Location was good, underground parking made me feel better about leaving the car there...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were 2 adults and 3 children and had booked this Hotel after a friend recommended it. Ms. Christensen greeted us warmly at 9:30 PM when we arrived though it is very late by Swiss standards, and made us feel at home with her warm smile and sweet English.
We were given a beautiful room, with two beds on one level, and four beds on the top level, reachable by stairs inside the room itself. The kids just loved it. There was a bunk bed and two single beds on the top level, one directly under a big sky window. They do not keep a kettle or tea coffee in the room. It is available at the vending machine for a few euros.
Breakfast is decent, with a variety of cheese, ham, breads, yoghurt, and boiled eggs. They even pack breakfast if you tell them the previous day by 7 pm, if you want to leave before 7 30 AM the next day for sightseeing.
The staff are friendly and went out of their way to help us plan outings in the vicinity.
The bus stop is just outside the Hotel, and comes every 30 minutes both to the Ost and West stations. Ost is 10 minutes by foot.
They even gave us cash after we swiped our debit card at the Hotel, just like an ATM.
The Hotel has quite a few elderly residents who are very sweet, but speak only German. Their families also come to visit them.

Room Tip: Ask for 403 if you are a big family :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrSPMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I had one of the rooms at the ground level, and the views were splendid. Although it looked like an Ikea Showroom, the feel was awesome. Comfy beds, and a brightly-lit toilet. The spacious room also included a balcony and full length glass windows. It is also a 10-min walk to the shops, etc, and free bus service is provided to the mini-city. At night, the surroundings are quiet, and the room temperature is just nice. Maybe the only 2 major setbacks are that WiFi is only free in the hotel lobby, and the breakfast selection isn't that awesome. Some people complain about the Old Age Home, but they are housed in a separate building and they are friendly people too, so I didn't find any difficulty during my stay. A perfect stay to my Switzerland gateway! Will definitely book this hotel again the next time I go there.

Room Tip: Remember to get a free bus-pass from the reception for a free bus ride! Book a Deluxe Room on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jieshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artos Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artos Interlaken

Property: Hotel Artos Interlaken
Address: Alpenstrasse 45 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artos Interlaken 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Artos Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing