We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food and reasonable price”

Restaurant Taverne - Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #6 of 171 Restaurants in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In our Restaurant Taverne we serve a modern Swiss cuisine, international dishes and selected wines. The restaurant with its historical flair offers a cosy but still stylish setting for your meals. During summer our terrace next to the Japanese Garden is the perfect place for you to indulge in our culinary variety. Opening hours: daily Warm meals: 11.30am until 02.00pm and 06.00pm until 09.45pm.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food and reasonable price”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent two consecutive nights here with great food fair price and good services. A recommended choice!

I had the risto, chicken and veal. All great!

Helpful?
Thank Achungkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    73
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad Service - Salty Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We ate at the Taverne based on some reviews here and because we were staying at the Hotel Interlaken. The food is definitely not traditional Swiss, it's more of a "nouvelle cuisine" style. I had the famed veal with mushroom sauce and while the flavors were great, it was way over salted and probably about 70% mushrooms and 30% meat. The service was very slow and we had to remind our server a couple of times for things we asked for (like ice for water).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank neelio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelInterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Taverne - Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant Taverne. We are sad to see that we did not meet your expectations at all.
We aim to serve a moderne Swiss cuisine but still we also offer some of the traditional dishes like the veal with mushroom sauce, which you had.
As to the service, we very much regret that you did not feel taken well care of. We strive towards giving all our guests as good an experience as possible. Unfortunately we did not succeed in your case.
We shall ofcourse check our procedures with the F&B department in order to keep up our quality standards.
Once again, thank you for your review, which will help us continually to improve and keep our guests happy.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unterseen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome surprise Menu”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Close to Interlaken Ost train station. Nice atmosphere with super friendly staff! Corinne took good care of us and recommended the surprise Menu witch made our dinner exiting:-) every course was presented in a special way and it was very delicious. Since I life close by I will definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Taverne saved us from having a worthless trip to Grindelwald”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were staying in Grindelwald and were so dismayed with how crappy everything was that we drove to Interlaken for dinner. My family wanted a traditional Swiss meal (cheese fondue, etc) and we looked on Tripadvisor and Taverne came up highly rated. We were not disappointed and in fact, were surprised on the upside how great it was. Food was terrific, service was XLNT, food was beautifully served and displayed. It's a winner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imrahil5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mostly Good Experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Since the Restaurant Taverne was rated number 4 by TA, it seemed to be a good venue; and it was.
We did not have reservations but were still greeted warmly on this Thursday night at 7:30.
We were given a lovely table by the adjoining japanese gardens on the terrace.
The service started promptly. We settled on our choice of appetizers and main course slowly. The bottled mineral water came quickly and the wine followed shortly. The appetizer of slow cooked veal cheeks came a little slowly but was presented in style and was delicious. A small amuse-gueule from the kitchen helped us wait and was light and tasty.
The main courses were delayed by the prolonged service to a large group for which our waitress apologized for profusely.
The giant prawns were cooked to perfection and served with a tasty thai sauce. The caramelized veal was very tender, cooked appropriately and served with style with good vegetables and a tasty risotto side dish. The meat was a little fatty.
Half a liter of reasonably good swiss wine later, the total came to 84 francs, a reasonable price in Switzerland for this meal.
If the service had been impeccable and the veal leaner, the setting and food would have rated very close to a 5.
I would go there again and ask for the terrace by the japanese water fountain if the weather was warm enough. A good place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 432JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Taverne - Hotel Interlaken also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Restaurant Taverne - Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing