We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$583
$437
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de la Paix(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Roessli(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$422
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Beausite(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellevue(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$510
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waldhotel Unspunnen(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$122
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Interlaken(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$360
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aarburg(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
121
154
55
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
154
55
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinterlaken ost stationthe main streetharder kulmmaintained hoteleasy minute walksecond helpingssmall balconywalking distanceheritage propertytea making facilitiesexcellent locationlovely balconythe ground floorno air conditioningvery pleasant stayloved this hotelstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 359 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very nice location. Walking distance from the train station. 200m

The receptionist was friendly. Breakfast was nice.

Bathroom was very small, that was a disappointing factor. The floor was wooden and it used to squeake a lot when you walk on it at night. The room was not sound proof. At night we could hear people walking on the floor in other rooms.

Ridiculous part was that when we asked for an ironing stand they refused stating that it is not safe, and the room service will do it for us (of course on chargeable basis)
We stayed at 6 different hotels in 11 days and this was the only place where we were refused an ironing stand :(

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Haneef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Haneef

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are sorry for not having matched to all of your expectations. Indeed the buildings are almost 120 years old and very traditional and not at all constructed like the art of building of present. Like this the wooden floors may be noisy. We have some special rules of the fire department to avoid any fire. There is a lot of wood and easily burning materials. Still we apology that the front office staff haven't give you an iron and board. With some precaution it is of course possible that you may do your ironing also in a hotelroom or definitvely in our public laundry. I will discuss this point with my staff and make sure that we improve our services.
Have a healthy and good summer - warmest regards
Stephan JJ. Maeder and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

First the good points:
1. Location is great; Walking distance to Interlaken Ost Train Station
2. Check-in staff (Sandra) was great, took time to explain surrounding areas and activities
3. Beds were comfortable

Cons:
1. Internet (wifi) is horrible in our room (2nd floor). Absolutely no signal and when it worked (rarely) it was horrible. In the lobby it was great, but even in their breakfast room, there was no signal. Made the front desk aware of this issue, and they didn't even seem to care and they tried to talk to me like I didn't know how to get on the internet.
2. Room had a musty odor
3. Breakfast staff seemed to frown upon people who seemed to load up their plates with food (Saw this happening first hand)

Conclusion:
I booked this hotel based on the proximity to the train station and I didn't expect much else, and apparently I didn't get much else either. I personally think this hotel is way overpriced for what it offers and if I were to return to this area, I would definitely try a different hotel. Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear jb_ta

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and your value towards our Sandra, who loves welcoming our guests. We are sorry about your WLAN-experiences and are seeking the reasons, why you have had bad connections in some wings of the Hotel. Normally you should have a good access to our WLAN at almost every edge of this Hotel.
We are aware that the buildings will celebrate their 120th birthday soon and that we need and want continue to renovate to keep it alive for a next generation. In this sense we are glad to get feedbacks from our guests and try to improve our services as well as the building and offer itself.
We wish you a pleasant and healthy summer and send you our appologies that not all our services have matched to your expectations. Warmest regards - Stephan JJ. Maeder and the whole Carlton-Europe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel was one of the finest choices made in Switzerland :) Located very close to the main train station and more over Interlaken is a small town and this hotel gives easy access to the main market. Nice, neat and well maintained cute rooms specially the ones on the top floor facing the main road offer good view.There are ancient decorative pieces all over the place giving it a unique old world charm!

The hotel staff... fabulous, specially the girls at the front desk in traditional dresses are very helpful and cheerful... always happy to help.
The break fast spread too was quite satisfactory with decent options for vegetarians.
And finally perfect value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheetalSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sheetal

Thank you very much for your kind Feedback. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and to make your stay in Interlaken as comfortable as possbile. We stay at your disposal and wish you a healthy and good summertime - warmest regards - Stephan JJ. Maeder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

1. The hotel is not in the center of the main market but its near the train station. moreover, Interlaken is a very small town.
2. the hotel is very old but classy. it has a character of its own with big corridors, ancient decorative pieces all over the place.
3. the rooms are really spacious with balcony giving an awesome view of the snow covered peaks
4. the buffet breakfast is just about average.
5. hotel staff are friendly and cooperative
6. the beds are not nice. they are very down market
7. the bathroom was HORRIBLE. there was no drainage system and they expect you to follow a lot of rules while bathing. so AVOID the hotel if you get 1 of the older rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Gberia Guwahati

Thank you very much, that your take the time to write a feedback, which give us a chance to improve our service constantly.
We are proud, that you appreciate the service of our staff. The building oft he Carlton-Europe Hotel are both over 100 years old. Since the reopening of our hotel a lot refurbishments has been done. Furtermore a lot are planned fort he future to enable our guest the combination of modern and traditional elements. Drainnage systems are in switzerland not very commen and we in the Carlton-Europe deliberately us against such a system to not destroy the historic base of our hotel.

Your sincerely
Thomas Strebel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed for one night. Not sure in what room, and how much is the exact price. Took the Jungfrau package so we stayed here.
The room is spacious and complete, and so does the bathroom. Had a big breakfast, but the scrambled eggs could have been better. Typically like other hotels, they have breads, juices, fruits, jogurts, salad, cereals, coffee, tea, etc.
Very close to the Interlaken Ost station, less than 10 minutes walk.
The receptionist is nice and offered us welcome drinks. They also have lugagge room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vandanikape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Vandanikape

Thank you very much for your good feedback about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Great to read that you liked your room and the services provided by our team. We would be very pleased to welcoming you again at our hotel and send you our best wishes

Thomas Strebel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews