We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cosy hotel close to the train station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton-Europe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good cosy hotel close to the train station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Housed in a heritage building, Hotel Carlton Europe is walking distance from Interlaken OST. While checking in we got a list of Do's & Dont's which quite frankly scared us a bit but once we stayed there we realised it was a mere formality. We had 3 rooms and the one which I stayed in was the most modern and the smallest. The view from our room was magnificent. However there was construction work going on 2 feet away from our window so we could not open the curtains much during daytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdiBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
78
118
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located in interlaken just about 150 - 200 mtrs from the station. The hotel rooms are okay and it has quite a great view of the mountains. The staff was quite friendly and gave us quite a good information about the city and excursions in the viscinity.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Pankaj

Thank you very much for your very friendly comment on Tripadvisor.
We feel very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with the stunning view
of the surrounding moutains at our Hotel Carlton-Europe in Interlaken.
We would be very happy to welcome you to our hotel again some day.
Best regards
Nico Lüthi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Pretty building with nice rooms, good staff and most importantly for us, a very good breakfast with a wide variety. Its walkable from the railway station and near a good supermarket where we could stock up for our travel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 4camellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 4camellia

thank you very much for your comments and your feedback about your holidays at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We apreciate your compliments for our breakfast and for our friendly staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully can welcoming you again in Interlaken.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent 2 nights with my wife in this Hotel.Everything was perfect.Rooms are Clean,Nice Breakfast with so many varieties.Staff are So helpful.Nice view from Balcony,Real European standard is maintained.Highly recommended this hotel for a wonderful stay in Interlaken.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chamal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear chamal s

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked all our facilities as well as the friendliness of our staff. We would be pleased to welcoming you again in Interlaken and send our best wishes

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

we spent two nights in this hotel. the hotel building is old but well maintained. the room that we got was very big with a balcony and very clean. washrooms are on the small side but clean. The location is great , close to interlaken ost and right opposite the station for going to harder kulm which is a must see. The staffs is helpful. breakfast was nothing to rave about, it was basic but serves the purpose. will definetly stay in this hotel again....main interlaken street with shops and restaurant is just 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear fuzon,

thank you very much for your good feedback about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Great to read that you liked your room and the services provided by our team. We would be very pleased to welcoming you again at our hotel and send you our best wishes

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in interlaken , this is a very wonderful experiences. The location is great ( close to station) building is clean and comfortable. The traditional Europe family style make you feeling warm. The staffs are nice and helpful ! Strongly recommend !

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Midcokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Midcokk,

thank you very much for your review on your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you can recomend our hotel to all the other tripadvisor users. It would be a great pleasure for the whole Carlton-Europe team to welcoming you again in Interlaken.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in interlaken for one night as part of a package including the wonderful Jungfrau Joch train journey.

The hotel is in a perfect location, around 500m to the Interlaken Ost station and within walking distance of the main strip, Harder Kulm furnicular, Brienzersee, restaurants, casinos and other attractions.

When we arrived, the staff were very welcoming, explaining everything about the hotel and around the area clearly and offering us a welcome refreshment. The room was clean and comfortable, had a balcony and the bathroom was well equipped with a lovely big bath. It was quite traditional and had some quirky old fashioned features which we both liked and fitted in well with the local area, so I wouldn't say the hotel not being too 'modern' is a bad thing. We did not have a problem with noise.

Breakfast was a good range of continental stuff with scrambled eggs.

The staff were very helpful at recommending excursions, providing information and giving tips about discounts,

All in all a very pleasant stay with extremely accomodating and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Rebecca C

thank you very much for your review about your visit of the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The whole staff of the Carlton-Europe appreciates your compliments and would be pleased to welcoming you once again in Interlaken.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Property: Carlton-Europe Hotel
Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing