We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in interlaken for one night as part of a package including the wonderful Jungfrau Joch train journey.

The hotel is in a perfect location, around 500m to the Interlaken Ost station and within walking distance of the main strip, Harder Kulm furnicular, Brienzersee, restaurants, casinos and other attractions.

When we arrived, the staff were very welcoming, explaining everything about the hotel and around the area clearly and offering us a welcome refreshment. The room was clean and comfortable, had a balcony and the bathroom was well equipped with a lovely big bath. It was quite traditional and had some quirky old fashioned features which we both liked and fitted in well with the local area, so I wouldn't say the hotel not being too 'modern' is a bad thing. We did not have a problem with noise.

Breakfast was a good range of continental stuff with scrambled eggs.

The staff were very helpful at recommending excursions, providing information and giving tips about discounts,

All in all a very pleasant stay with extremely accomodating and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Rebecca C

thank you very much for your review about your visit of the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The whole staff of the Carlton-Europe appreciates your compliments and would be pleased to welcoming you once again in Interlaken.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    142
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
88
134
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday in Switzerland and 4 nights were spent at the Carlton Europe, great hotel the rooms were modern,clean beds comfortable.
The food was very good even got the offer of second helpings,the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anntaylor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staff were wonderful and welcoming upon our arrival, we were served drinks and was given extensive locality information with discount vouchers for transport and shopping. We were given a large room with a long balcony so great views facing the Harder Kulm, all amenities are included plus a flat screen TV, radio and safe. Mini bar is in a form of a vending machine on the ground floor.

There is no air condition but there was an electric fan supplied which helped alongside opening the windows. The room was brightly decorated with a charming chandelier. Our bathroom looked newly done with a shower and a large bathtub that looks like a jacuzzi. The hallways does need re-decoration though.

Previous reviews reported noise from the club downstairs in the basement, but on our stay there was no such noise, and we were on the 2nd floor, maybe we were really tired and just slept deeply.

Breakfast is continental and reasonable, amongst the varieties the only hot item we saw was scrambled eggs, we didn't really mind because we were always in a rush because of early treks, so didn't eat much.

Dinner was absolutely superb, we enjoyed it very much. Great menu and variety. Great service staff who were excellent and entertaining. On the first half of our stay we had our dinner in the dining room, but as the weather improved we moved to dine outside in the courtyard, so we had wonderful views.

The back courtyard where you can dine looks like there used to be a swimming pool but is now just a paved empty concrete area. I don't know what they are using it for but it looks like an odd empty space and looks like they are still fixing it, but no construction so no nuisance.

There were spa treatments available however we didn't use them.

The courtyard entrance is charming with a seating area, water feature and ping pong table, it was decorated with flags and looked pretty due to the Swiss National Day when we stayed so great for photo opportunities.

On the whole a charming hotel, great for its location due to transport and excursions and scenery.

Staff who really made our stay great are (sorry we can't remember their last names :) )

Corine or Corienne - Front office
Dominic - Front office
Pedro - Waiter
The French Waiter
Lopez - Room cleaner

Room Tip: 2nd Floor balcony facing Harder Kulm or facing the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0naV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Jona V,

thank you very much for your very detailed and friendly review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your accomodation and with the services provided by our staff. Feedbacks like yours help to keep the high motivation of all our employees and show them that they are doing a good job.
We would be pleased to welcoming you soon again and send our best regards from Interlaken

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The only plus of this hotel is the location and the wireless internet connection.
The rooms are a bit old and not really clean, and there is no air-conditioner. Many mosquito at night if one keeps the windows open. The staff is polite but not efficient. Things, such as shower cups, that are always complementary in hotels of the same category here are available at extra cost. A lot of noise, also from the rooms upstairs, comes from the wooden floor and the beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sandy C

thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. Critisism like yours helps us to see where we should improve our infrastructure and services. As the building of our hotel is more than 100 years old and is under the protection of the country's historical heritage we are not able to change some of your points mentioned. The wooden floors are a charming aspect and shows the charisma of the 19th century and the installation of an AC is due to the age of the building unfortunately not possible.
We do apologize for the bad memories you took from your stay at our hotel and would be pleased if you would give us a second chance to change your point of view.
In the meantime we remain with our best regards

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Here I sit in my room at the Carlton Europe at 3:30 am because I cannot sleep because the dance club is so loud that my room is "thumping" and I am renowned in my family for being able to sleep anywhere, especially when I am this tired. This is without a doubt the loudest hotel I have every been to.
Staff is nice and very helpfull, but the rooms are small, beds are very small and TV is slightly larger than my laptop. I would definately not recommend staying here or anywhere near this dance club.

Room Tip: don't stay here if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear edwadda,

thank you very much for your coment about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Feedbacks like yours are very important to us to improve our services. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay and do fully understand your complaints about the noise of the night club. We contacted the operator of the night club directly after reading your complaints and arranged with them a reducement of the sound intensity. Moreover there is from now on more security staff infront of the night club to take care of the noise of leaving guests.
We would be pleased if you would give us a second chance to change your impression of our hotel and to see the improvements we made.

In the meantime we send you our best regards

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, near the train station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. No air conditioning unfortunately, just a fan which helped on the warm nights. The floor in our room creaked and sloped downhill - something they might be able to address if renovations are being considered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanGroveVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear OceanGroveVicki,

thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Great to read that you had a good time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the friendlyness of our staff. As our hotel is more than 100 years old with a long tradition of hospitality and the building is a class listed monument our possiblities to renovate the creaking floors are limited. Anyway we will try our very best to improve on the one hand an to keep the charm of the traditional building on the other hand. We would be very pleased to welcoming you once again and remain

with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It's a small hotel, but very charming and simple. Definitlly I can recomend. The breakfast area is very Nice. You can sit outside, fresh air. The staff was great. In The midlle of Interlaken. Quiet and easy, because is Very close to the train station.

Room Tip: I'm stayed at "Laura Ashley". Beautiful and Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kelly D

thank you very much for your review of your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays and that you recomend our property to the trip advisor visitors. We would be pleased to welcoming you once again in Interlaken and in the meantime we remain with our best regards

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Property: Carlton-Europe Hotel
Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing