We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is excellent and very close to Interlaken train station. We noted when walking in the entrance that this hotel is on Michelin star list for both hotel and restaurant. The room was large and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a city travel pass for free upon check in. Breakfast was okay and include all the basic item you expect from a European hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Btman01,

thank you very much for your review and for the compliments for the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken and that the services provided by the Carlton-Europe Hotel were to your satisfaction. Feedbacks like yours are important for our staff and show that the hotel is developing in the right direction. It would be great to welcoming you once again at our hotel and in the meantime we remain with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 340 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Carlton came as part of a package, but we were very pleasantly suprised, excellent room, spacious and clean. Great bathroom, pity newly fitted handbasins were designed to prevent retention of water, not very economical ! but super shower. Buffet breakfast good, "Tour" dinners no more than average, but delightful service in every department. They even had a good selection of Malts.

Room Tip: 252, large corner room at rear. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Patrick075

thank you very much for your good feedback about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you liked our newly renovated rooms and that the service provided by our staff satisfied you. We would be pleased to welcoming you again in Interlaken and remain with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found this hotel to be of a high standard. Our room was very clean- we loved the hand written welcome note from the housekeeper.The breakfast was outstanding, with so much choice, i'm glad we had 3 days to try all options!
So handy to the rail station, and an easy walk into town for tea.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear shl_10

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in Interlaken and that the services provided by our hotel satified you completly. Feedbacks like yours are important for our staff and show that our hotel is developing in the right direction. We would be pleased to welcoming you once again at the Carlton-Europe Hotel and remain with best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a great experience with Hotel Carlton Europe @ Interlaken. Reception is good service & was helpful in our enquiries. Room size was spacious & was very clean. We had a good view of the Swiss Alps too. Restuarant food in the hotel was great & so was the breakfast. Location is near the Interlaken train station. We will definitely go back to Carlton Europe!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CYC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear CYC1977,

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Feedbacks like yours help to keep the motivation of our staff on a high level. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and that you would like to visit us again. We hope to welcoming you once more in Interlaken and wish you all the best.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I tried this hotel cos of the Jungfraujoch package they offered which was worth it with one night extension. The place is quiet, antique. Room was extremely spacious incld the bathroom. Safe too and there are no busy roads. The only thing that might bother some is the creaking sounds from the ceilings and whenever you walked. I dnt knw what the bldg is made off. I guess its the cold weather. I dnt knw. The bfast was good. I love the scrambled eggs and german breads. Very near to Interlaken OST station which is arnd 5-10mins walk. Clean surrounding and looks safe too. It is full of tourists. The only thing is no free wifi. You have to pay for it which does not really matter if you dnt need it much. Staff wise, it took quite sometime to make them smile at you but they are not rude or anything. Its just maybe their style of communication. They are helpful though and the online customer svs was welcoming and attend to your queries promptly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnixySwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear SnixySwift

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel and that you are satisfied with the services provided. The Carlton-Europe Hotel has a history of more than 100 years and both buildings are under historic protection. Even if we try to combine the up to date comfort with the traditional aspects we will always keep our charming creaking sounds in the corridors and ceilings. We would be pleased to accomodate you once again at our hotel to proof that you will always be welcomed with a smile.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Comfortable hotel with history, chic and hospitality. Located in picturesque Interlaken, near town shops and restaurants. Modern entrance contrasts with interior and rooms that are simple and shabby chi with interesting objects thoughout. Room on 4th foor had small balcony with fantastic view, clean and modern. Small showered bathroom, and ok towels. TV, tea making and wifi. Breakfast buffet usual fare - lovely bread, served in one of the ground floor rooms. Small bar may not be art of hotel but within (cheaper beer than in town). Staff very helpful. Also a short walk from raiway station. Bells chime all night but rather pleasant from local church. Sauna and access to swimming not used but available.

Room Tip: Building taking place so check room has good view not building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travell_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Travel_a_lot

thank you very much for your review and for rating us on tripadvisor. Feedbacks like yours are very helpful to keep the high motivation of our staff. We would be pleased to welcoming you again at the Carlton-Europe Hotel.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked as part of a package holiday with Diamond Rail (Glacier Express trip) we were not expecting anything other than your normal "package" hotel. What a pleasant surprise it was to then be shown to a really lovely room complete with canopied bed and whirlpool bath with overhead shower! There was also a chaise longue, adequate storage for clothes, separate washroom, and a memory foam mattress on the bed which we have never tried before but found excellent. The only downside was that it was incredibly warm but I suspect this was partly due to over enthusiasm on the part of the hotel as once we mentioned it the temperature was turned down to a more reasonable level. When we booked we were a little confused by Diamond Rails brochure (as were staff at Diamond Rail!) as to whether we were booked into the Carlton or the Europe. Having now been there we realise that essentially they are on the same site and managed and staffed by the same people but clearly, from the reviews here, slightly different. We cannot comment on the Hotel Europe side beyond being told that the rooms are all furnished in the Laurie Ashley style for the benefit of European visitors.! Thankfully we were in the Carlton side which is much more traditionally furnished. Talking to other members in our group we also discovered that each room was different and although we think we got the pick of the rooms (room 469) everybody else seemed very happy with their rooms. From the varying reviews on this site it clearly pays to try and select your room with care. We went in February when the restaurant was not fully open so cannot comment on the evening food for which we went to the Interlaken Hotel (5 minute walk) and enjoyed excellent food and service. Breakfast at the Carlton was traditional continental fare and although it was a shame that scrambled egg was the only hot choice it is also fair to say the bread was always very fresh. The staff were excellent from the very warm greeting of reception to the friendly service team who ensured our room was always spotlessly clean. The bottom line is always would you return and for us this is a resounding yes (providing we can have room 469!!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelms4dian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 39 in Interlaken
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $153 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing