We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hotel with a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stay in many hotels in Europe but I find Carlton Europe as a very warm welcome very nice staff and always have a smile for you in the breakfast area and room service.
The rooms are very clean and lots of cumfort plenty of space .
You have free internet at the front desk,and the staff on the front desk are very helpfull and smart ,its good to see.
Very close to Interlaken ost station,great for exploring the jungfrau region and getting the boats on lake Brienz.
In Interlaken you have 5 star pluss but you will pay the price here is value for money.
Carlton Europe team keep the good work up and thanks.see you next year

Room Tip: rear rooms have mountain view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Carlton-Europe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and found that room was like military barrack. The furniture is of poorest quality, curtains are cheap. Very small balcony with very cheap aluminium chair. Front office staff were unfriendly. They could not even provide a simple adapter for your camera / mobile chargers. Hotel had charged almost CHF200 per room night and what we received in return was not even worth CHF50. Breakfast was basic European, nothing great. The hotel does not provide simple pickup or drop from any interlaken stations which are nearby. Your used towels have to be put in bathtub otherwise housekeeping will not change them. They will use arguments like recycling and use the towels again, only to their advantage. We were in room 115, room size was good, toilets were good but not soaps, no coffee maker no saucers, spoons. Hotel does not believe in providing any facility to guests. In fact, I felt that guests are a burden for at least front office staff. Never again to this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room no 115
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Mr. Rajandani,

thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor.com. First of all we really want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel. Feedbacks like yours help us to understand that we have to continue to improve our services continously. We are sorry that you got the impression that guests are a burden for our staff and that our efforts for saving the environment are only to our own advantage. We will keep trying our very best to hit the expectations of our guests, knowing that we can never be 100% sucessfull. We would be pleased if you could give us a second chance to change your impression of the Carlton-Europe Hotel and wish you all the best for your future holidays.

sincerely yours

Dominik Naglitsch
Front-Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Carton Europe is an elegantly classic hotel from a time past, about a century old. It veritably screams history and refined leisure.

Each room has its own surprises. We came as part of a tour group, and by luck of the draw we were assigned to a spacious top-floor romantically-gabled corner Jacuzzi room with a canopied queen-size bed.

Antiques are artfully arranged throughout the hotel. Yet our room also featured a large flat screen digital TV and a remote-control stereo radio and CD player.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was a three-course meal with salad, entrée, and dessert. Service was both friendly and gracious.

The hard-working staff was rushing to keep up with the breakfast crowd. They were always running out of coffee or tea, milk or croissants. The buffet included scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, breads, cheeses, yogurt, and more.

The hotel is not air-conditioned, although our room was equipped with a floor fan. We were there during a heat wave. While we could open the windows, the lack of screens meant that intruding insects became an issue.

While the former glory of the Carlton-Europe may be a bit faded, it is one of those unique hotels that deserve a visit. We are glad we had the opportunity to enjoy its many treasures, and we would certainly consider a return stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the busy season of June. For a family of 5, we had booked 2 rooms, a double and a triple room. The experience at this hotel started with the worst possible welcome (or should I say send-off) by a man who told us to "cool-down and wait" when we rang the cloak bell to call someone to the unmanned reception desk. This man turned out to be the director of the hotel! What a way to welcome your guests. They handed over the rooms 15 minutes before the scheduled check-in and made it a point to tell us that this was a huge favor! Once we entered the room, we encountered antique wooden flooring which would generate loud squeaks even if you would try to put your lightest foot forward! As the evening approached, the squeaking sound from the room above became louder and louder. This was concerning as it would wake our baby up at short intervals. The bathroom of the triple room was the smallest I have ever seen and was very dingy. The restaurants are avoidable and you can get much better choices as you walk further towards the centre of Interlaken. The only advantage this hotel has is its proximity to the main station. Saying that, Interlaken is so small that you would not be spending more than 15 minutes to reach a hotel at the extreme corner. I would recommend staying in the central part of the area that is lively and gives you a true vacation feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We came upon this place on our way walking from Interlaken OST railroad towards the center of town. They gave a good price and we took it. One up the street wanted 2x what they wanted. The hotel is just outside the main part of town, but half way to the OST rail station.

The room was nice, our did face the street, which was loud in the morning for traffice, but for the rest of the day it was quite. The view out the doors was very nice and gave us fresh air as there is no AC in the whole Country!!!


The front desk was very helpful with our sight seeing plans and even gave us some good tips.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomRIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed at the hotel during ist week of may 2011 for four nights - very nice location - pleasant staff - full freedom /least disturbance to our group - good food even though it was same all days - very big rooms - no tea / coffee making facilities though they kept a kettle - big bathrooms - very neat and clean - finally good value for money

Room Tip: i do recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bharathy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I selected this hotel based on past reviews and was not let down. My romm was on the 2nd floor and it was very clean and tidy. So were the bathroom. The staff (a young girl) at the reception was very helpful in providing me the information that I required. I was very impressed with their service and were willing to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

Just a hitch, I was told that when we leave the hotel for a the day, the key being too heavy to carry should be dropped in a box which has your room number on it. Now this box has all room keys that can be kept in it. I did exactly what they said and when I came back to the hotel, my key was not to be found. The girl at the reception then opened my door with a duplicate key and I had to sleep with the door unlocked the whole night-it was safe no doubt. Next morning when checking out, I asked where the key was and a man at the reception said the key was found under my cupboard in the room which was very hard to believe cause it meant that when I left the room I had not locked my door. I found this very strange and was amazed. Then later I asked the girl at the reception again and she said the key had fallen behind the box at the reception and she too did not know how. Nevertherless all's well that ends well and besides for this hiccup, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinny40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $174 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing