We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alp Lodge
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is the worst hostel/budget accommodation I've ever stayed in! When we first checked-in for a twin room ensuite, we got a really tiny room with just a set of drawers for furniture!

There was NO PLACE at all to hang any stuff, the drawers were dirty so no putting our stuff in them too. No hooks in the toilet to put clothes, cept for rusty nails you won't dare to use! Our luggages had to be squeeze into tight corners. And I got a double bed which felt like it was even smaller than a Queen-sized bed.

Oh and another important thing: The fire escape was THROUGH ANOTHER PERSON'S ROOM! If there was a fire, and no one was in that room, you really wonder who's going to open it up for you to escape via the windows of that room. The management here is evidently cramming as many rooms as possible into the entire area, without any concern for safety.

After a first night being shocked of what we got for an un-cheap price, we peeped at other rooms the next morning and saw that there were other twin private ensuite rooms which were WAY BIGGER! And we were paying the same price?? Also, we noticed that furniture in every room were different. Some 'lucky' rooms got wardrobes, some coat hangers etc. It's as though this hostel went to the rubbish dumps of other houses and hotels and picked up whatever they could find to furnish this hostel!

After the second night we felt that we had enough, so we asked for an early checkout, i.e. just stay 1 more night instead of 2. However the staff said no, because if they were to 'always allow people to check out early', they would 'lose money'. No Refund! This is despite that it was more than 24 hours before the last day we were due to stay there! When the girl asked for our room number, she seemed to know that it was a tiny room, and offered to change our rooms instead.

So yes we got a bigger room, but still have the same problems. Creaky UNEVEN floors, you could hear people walking upstairs like super clearly, and the wardrobe was so dirty and damaged it couldn't close properly.

It was so bad, you honestly wonder if you are in some 3rd world country instead of Switzerland!

Crappy place, STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

What irked me most about this establishment was the inconsistent state of rooms. You could be paying as much as the people staying next to you and they could be getting a room that's twice your size, that comes with a wardrobe and a little dining area. Both rooms are double-bed rooms, mind you! I stayed in two different double-bed rooms, so I would know.

Nevertheless, the location for alp lodge is pretty good. and it comes with a kitchen, which is always a pleasure to have, given the exorbitant prices of Swiss Food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

AlpLodge was a clean, basic hostel with friendly staff and a great bar. The location is very close to the train station (about 5 minute walk), and about a 15 minute walk down to Balmers and Funny Farm area of town. Guests can book all excursions at the hostel and most excursion companies will pick up at the hostel. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We arived in town without a reservation. We walked around and found this place a few minutes from the train station. The guy running the bar was very friendly and offered us their nicest room with a private bath and view of the mountains. The price was cheap, and we were there for just one night. We enjoyed a couple of beers in the bar (complete with complimentary snacks) and were given a good suggestion for dinner a few blocks away. We had a good nights sleep and were on our way early the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We LOVED this place! It was close to everything in Interlaken and an easy 5 minute walk from the West Train Station. The staff was very helpful and kind and made us feel right at home. The rooms weren't extravagent, but felt more like home than any other place we stayed in our trip to Europe. The views were great and the lobby was a fun place to drink and hang out. We met some great people here and recommend it to anyone. Thank you Alp Lodge for a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmorava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

You don't find too many properties cheaper than this one in Interlaken... I think the room was about twice as much as a McDonalds meal.

For that price, you get a slightly lumpy bed, a sparse dorm room, a moderately clean shared bathroom and a relatively convenient location not far from the train station or the centre of town.

It's nothing to get excited about, but if you're looking for somewhere to rest your head for the night and don't want to spend much, then this should do. Just don't complain about the lack of creature comforts... it's sparse even by hostel standards.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank elgarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

The Alp Lodge is down on a little side street but close to everything you need in Interlaken. You can easily walk there with bags from Interlaken West train station. The rooms are minimal to be sure. There is nothing fancy about this hostel. However the bar downstairs is really quite cool, with a ton of locals that hang out there. You can't hear the bar at all from the rooms upstairs. Also, there is a guy that works there from NY that is really helpful and gives a lot of insight on things to do. The rooms look right over a little river with patios if you are on that side of the building. The room was not much, but then again all you do is sleep there. I would recommend this place. Spend your money doing other things in Interlaken and try this cool wine bar down the street called Benacus.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiegosun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 39 in Interlaken
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 28 in Interlaken
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Lodge

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range: $64 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alp Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alp Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing