We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”
Review of Alp Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alp Lodge
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family of four stayed for 2 nights. The location is perfect and the property is very clean. The price was great, and it included breakfast on the roof, with a great view. I lost a memory card in the room, and they contacted me to arrange shipment! They sent a confirmation that is was mailed, with no charge. The wi-fi did not always work in all parts of the room. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
13
22
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hostel was so clean, the people working were very friendly and it was in a great location for hiking, views of the mountains and extreme sports. The room we stayed in was quite quaint, but it had a sink in it and a great view out the window and that made up for the size of the room!

We decided we wanted to leave early and they happily refunded us our money! Great customer service! It is a perfect location from the train and the centre of Interlaken. We absolutely loved our stay and it has been one of the best hostel experiences (and we have stayed in hostels all over europe).

The WC's are very clean and there was an awesome lounge/kitchen to hangout in.

LOVED our experience here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good things:
1. Location: walking distance from train station (Interlaken East and West), market, etc.
2. Great view
3. friendly staff (very polite and helpful)
4. nice kitchen and common room
5. clean bathrooms

Few suggestions:
1. wi-fi connectivity not available in all rooms (accessible in the common room)
2. rooms are small (should not be main criteria short stays)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dips23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was clean, comfortable, and affordable-- especially in a place like Interlaken. It is conveniently located near the train station and had a small bar in the lobby area. Staff members were friendly and very helpful in getting us settled. Nice find for your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is most likely one of the most inexpensive places in Interlaken. I had a family room with a private bathroom. This place was clean but it is very old, so the wood and paint is chipping; even though we had a balcony we did not sit outside as the balcony was falling apart. Since Interlaken is so expensive I suggest staying away from Interlaken and just take a train to Interlaken when you want to visit it. Interlaken is very crowded and expensive in the summer, it is overflowing with tourists. I do not recommend staying in Interlaken in the summer as it is extremely crowded and expensive.

This place would be OK for a student on a very small budget. Very close to the railway station and the view of the river is nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepGoingWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Strengths:
- friendly staff (when available), helped secure bookings for activities and provide information as requested
- quick check in process
- great courtyard / on roof area (beautiful sunset)
- small bar downstairs (didn't personally use it, didn't see many people in there)

Weaknesses:
- wifi connection hardly ever connects (unless u sit downstairs)
- dusty smell throughout the rooms / building (partner didn't smell it as much as I did)
- next to train railways / constant loud noise
- sink in bedroom rather than inside the ensuit (private double room)
- tiny shared fridge (clearly not enough space for a full hostel)
- no real interactive guest spots

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockinRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We didn't have reservations when we got to Interlaken and the local tourist information found the last room in town for a family of four at the Alps Lodge. It was a great price for that city (very expensive) and close to the train station. Very clean and the beds are soooo comfortable...best night sleep we got on our 18 day vacation in Europe! We stayed two nights and will most certainly stay there again, when we go back.
Friendly and very helpful staff and great location!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Lodge

Property: Alp Lodge
Address: Marktgasse 59 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alp Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Alp Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alp Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing