We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #38 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The room and bathroom were extremely small. No Fan No AC, very uncomfortable. the hotel is 15 minutes bus ride from the station and again 5 min walk from the bus stop to the hotel. I was so unsatisfied with the hotel that though i had booked the hotel for 4 nights, cancelled my booking the same day i checked in , paid the charges for 1 night even though i did not spend the night there and shifted to best western.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bhawna_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Short stay, accommodation basic, clean, quaint. We had two rooms and both were very differently decorated.
Owner very helpful - found us a parking place when the car park was full. Beautiful location. Tried evening meal, which was excellent and good value. Breakfast was good.
Would certainly visit again if in the area.
Easy to find off the motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue227129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Perfect location, Neat rooms, good hosts.

It is well connected from the train stations(Both west and ost) by bus, The bus stop is just a few steps away. You step out of the hotel and you have magnificent views of the mountains right in front. It is also close to the south station where there are trains that take you to the various points in Jungfrau region. For staying there you get a a free travel pass with which you can commute within the interlaken town area by bus or train for free.

Rooms are pretty, and in pink. There was free wireless connection available but the speed was not constant. Our room was facing another hotel and inspite of that I got some good sunrise pictures.
Breakfast is OK. with an assortment of breads, flavored yogurt, eggs and cereals.
The dining area is brightly lit with old trinkets and artifacts just around here and there. tea and coffee is served in silver wear.
Since the weather was bad, we could not plan any trip to the mountain top, Dora and Oliver gave us suggestions about things we could do around the town.

Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Interlaken is an extremely touristy and ridiculously expensive place. This hotel was a nice respite from all of that. We had excellent service from the staff, who helped us with transportation and dealing with an issue with a local vendor. The room was fine, kind of decorated like a 12-year-old girl's bedroom, but with a balcony and a view of the mountains. With the doors open, we could lie in bed with the sun shining on us. The shared bathroom was clean. Breakfast was good, typical continental buffet. You get a free bus pass, which was an unexpected surprise. Free wifi. It's located halfway between the two train stations and a ways south (actually in Matten; don't type Interlaken into Google or you'll end up way out of town), near the youth hostels. Overall, we didn't love Interlaken, but we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed for one night at Hotel Alpina. Location was fine, close to a bus stop, and a few restaurants close. Town center within 10 min walking. The owner was very nice. We checked out the same morning that we went canyoning, and we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel for over 6 hours. Breakfast included was adequate, standard for Switzerland. I would stay here again. Free wi-fi was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acscharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We spent 2 nights here in June, 2010. It was the only 2-star hotel on our entire vacation but remember this is Switzerland, so even a 2-star hotel is clean and well-kept. We had a triple room and it was quite large. The beds were good. FREE WiFi (you ask for the code at the desk).

The location is away from the center but that means it was very quiet at night. There is a city bus stop a couple blocks away, 2 different bus lines run into town and to both train stations. However you can walk to central Interlaken in about 20 minutes (we did it twice).

The breakfast was really good for a 2-star hotel. It was much better than a 4-star hotel we had in Rome.

This place is pretty much basic and no-frills, but it's clean and the rooms are very decent. The price was good, too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a small family run hotel and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Big shout out to Dora who was warm right through our stay! We loved our room which opened into a balcony and had breathtaking views of the alps! If we go to Interlaken again we're definitely staying here!
On an aside, for those craving Indian food, I recommend you DO NOT go to Shalimar, which is a tourist trap (meaning abysmal food and sky high prices). We tried Taj India restaurant and had a wonderful experience there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
0.2 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: Hauptstrasse 44, Interlaken BE 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $179 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing