We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
Nearby Hotels
$577
$436
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Beausite(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de la Paix(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$139
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$417
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Berghof Amarant(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Interlaken(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$402
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stella Hotel Interlaken(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$262
$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellevue(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waldhotel Unspunnen(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$121
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Krebs(Interlaken)
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
337
240
147
62
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
240
147
62
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationinterlaken osthotel barclassic hotelindoor poolbreakfast buffet isjunior suitereception staffold world charmcorner roomthere is no air conditioningharder kulmamazing hotelroom keyloved this hotelthe main streettown centre
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 839 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked through an online travel organization that we had used successfully several times in the past. Upon arriving we were given the key(yes, the large metal key on a great big key ring!) to a "superior double room" We opened the door to a dingy uninviting space that was at the front of the hotel overlooking the garden and the main road. A view of the mountain was obstructed by the trees as it was on the first floor. The toilet was dirty and the windows needed cleaning and the bed! was two single cots pushed together, not even with a double mattress but two kiddie beds just pushed together like a cheap guest house! 5 stars?? hadn't seen any stars to this point ! I went back to reception and requested another room, based on the above, and was told that this was a 'superior' room and they didn't have any more in this category, well, that was a relief! and had I not already paid a fairly high rate for this room I would have moved at that point. I was offered a 'basic' double, with an actual double bed!! on the 4th floor. This room was clean and had a small(very small) balcony looking towards the town with a side/distant view of the mountains. I took this option as I was only there as a stopping point on my way to Lucerne. My request for a second key was met with reluctance overshadowed by incredulity by the rather dumb, but well dressed, male receptionist! I made this request because upon leaving the room with someone in it the only choice was to leave the key with the person in the room or take the key and lock them in!! Anyway , I was told it would be difficult to get another key as they only had one spare!! What a bunch of idiots!! ( This guy was also unbelievably unhelpful when I wanted car parking info. I think he can read & write though!! ) I gave up on the key thing as my wife and I are grown-ups (unlike the hotel management!) and I thought we could probably sort out a scheme to make the one key deal work! I reserved a nice table in the dining room for dinner and went for a walk around town. Upon our return we took up our table and ordered dinner. The lone waiter/Maitre'd was a the only professional we met at this second-rate '5 Star' and he made dinner a mainly enjoyable experience. When we retired to bed we found the room stuffy and poorly ventilated, no AC of course, not in this"5 Star" The window opened so we consoled ourselves with that, until the clock started chiming every 15 minutes through the night! The bed was a double, but I suspect from the original owner way back in the 18th century! This was a rather unpleasant night and the low spot of an otherwise great 2 weeks in Switzerland. We left for Lucerne with vows never to return. I fully intend to relate this sad experience to corporate Lindner(whoever they may be!) and the tour company we booked through in hopes of saving other unwary travelers of a similar fate.

Room Tip: Check out your room assignment before you accept it!! Better yet, stay somewhere else!! However, if you choose to try this place, go in winter when you don't need the window open at night! Also get the 50% deal one of the other reviewers mentioned!..Might make you feel a bit less cheated, abused and ripped-off.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel.
The hotel is a convenient walk from the station. The rooms were very comfortable. Beautiful bathrooms. Superb view of the snow capped mountains from the bedroom. Lovely outside balcony. Very good breakfast.
The only constraint was the limited WI-FI access.
Excellent hotel

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms with balconies are superb
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Manager at Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for this nice feebdack and beeing our guest.
We hope to welcoming you another time in Interlaken.

Festive regards,

Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package, on arrival we had been upgraded to a lovely room with a balcony with views across the town and to the mountains beyond. The room came with an excellent coffee machine, and large TV and sofa.
The only real negatives of the stay related to cleanliness, and the fact they didn't seem to clean or service the room (apart from making the bed) during the day, a few examples, we used a bottle of water on day one, this was not replaced during the 7 nights we stayed, the fruit bowl was not replenished and allowed to go mouldy!!! One evening we had some cheese in our room, it took 3 days for the dirty plates to be removed.
All little things, but things you expect a 5 star hotel to be on the ball with.
We only ate in the hotel bar on one night, the pizza's were nice but we did feel the menu was geared towards their Arab guests, who were in the majority at the hotel. The final comment relates to the lack of wifi in the rooms and that it can only be accessed (for free) in the hotel lobby. In summary a nice hotel, but they do need to consentrate on the fine details.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeiKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Manager at Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you very much for your stay and the constructive feedback which helps us to improve ourselves and the service in the Hotel.
Regarding the cleanliness in the rooms i will definitely consult with the head housekeeper to avoid things like these in the future due to it is not a standard of Lindner.
We hope to welcoming you again in the Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage.

Yours sincerely,

Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've spent one night at the Hotel because we bought a Voucher on one of the Deal-Platforms. So we had 50% off the normal Price for a Room.
The Desk-Persons were very friendly, the Kitchen was excellent, the Lobby was truly adequate to a Grand Hotel but the Room was horrible - even for the 50%off-Price we paid: the Carpet was blotchy, the Curtains visibly old, there was no Flatscreen but an old conventional TV. Also there were some TV- and Powercables lying on the floor near the Curtains when we entered the Room.
The View out of the Windows was great and the Location quite silent.
Altogether a good Hotel but round CHF 500.- (round CHF 1000.- without the 50%) is NEVER adequate for this massive Lack of Roomcare, especially in a Grand Hotel. After all, we got the Impression of having spent a Night at the Broom Closet of this Hotel.

Room Tip: Always check the Room first before Booking. Otherwise you might be very disappointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Manager at Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

first of all I would like to thank you for your stay and for the constructive comment that enables us to improve ourselves and the service.
Regarding the room condition I must apologize not to have met your expectations.
We despitely hope to welcoming you again in the Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage.

Kind regards from Interlaken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our two-day stay, even though it rained one day. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and our balcony was private and large with table, chairs, and flower pots along the stone banister. The hotel is very close to the Banhof, and they have a free shuttle. After a warm train ride, we enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool (next to gym/spa).

The service was gracious and prompt, whether it was request for ice or arranging a tour. The breakfast was generous with good variety (no cook-to-order station). (We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner -- I didn't want to pay 42 CHF for calf's liver.)

Room Tip: Try to get one of the balcony rooms that overlooks the street. (If you don't think you'll like the church's bells, ask for a back "river view" room which faces the river and forested slopes.)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Manager at Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for beeing our guest and the nice feedback.
We would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews