We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #7 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Loved this hotel. Very modern (hardwood floors in the room!!), spotlessly clean with a great breakfast and super helpful staff and it is located just a few steps from the center part of town. There's even an internet cafe/laundromat and a bike rental place a few steps away.

I'm really neurotic about hotel cleanliness and I found this place to be absolutely perfect. Oh-- and did I mention our room's bathroom was of a comfortable size with a fully enclosed shower.

I have nothing but praise for this place.

The only negative I can come up with about our stay here was that we had one of the smaller rooms facing the street and at night we had to close the heavy curtains because the light from the hotel's sign. Also the sound of cars passing on the street below was loud when we left the windows open. Sorry. those are the only negatives I can come up with.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank the_real_flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed at the Garni Derby in June, 2007. George, the owner/operator is very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, the bathroom especially pleasant and modern. The furnishings are a combination of new and old. Everything was very clean. The neighborhood is quiet, especially if you have a room that faces the back yard area. The Derby is located off the main road of Interlaken, but is within easy walking distance of everything. The breakfast was very good - typical of Swiss breakfasts for small hotels - very good bread, cheese, meats, all the coffee or tea you could want and the best yogurt. The price we paid seems to be consistent with the going-rate in Interlaken.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GRG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed at the Derby in Interlaken during the offseason (November) and got a very good deal on their "ecoroom" (110 CHF/night) by arranging it directly with the owner through e-mail. If you're on a budget, this room's the way to go, but it's not advertised on their website since there is only one like it in the hotel. It consists of two twin beds, a sink, a small closet and a TV. The toilet and shower for this room are a few steps down the hall, but are not shared with other rooms.

My memorable experience there had little to do with the hotel, but everything to do with the noravirus (stomach illness) which I believe I picked up in Italy a few days earlier but didn't kick in until Interlaken. Needless to say, having nausea every 15 minutes or so for about eight straight hours is not a good time to have a room with the toilet down the hall! The response of the management to my illness says a lot about the service of the hotel. The nice lady at the desk during the afternoon was extremely accommodating, so much so as to brew up a special tea concoction just for me which was supposed to help with the nausea (think it probably did ... eventually). On the other hand, the gentleman on the night desk was the exact opposite; when my wife asked him for some ice to cool down a can of Sprite I was attempting to keep down, he supplied her with just two cubes and told her that was all they could spare because the hotel was full that night!

Despite my bad memories of the place, I'd probably stay there again given the reasonable rates, location and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFcatamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed here 2 nights--if you're looking for the rarely found non-smoking quad room, ask for the superior quad facing toward the rear garden--I believe it is Room #4 in the one story hotel addition. We booked the regular quad room (#6) but it was small with a window that opened to the street--we are light sleepers so knew that wouldn't work as soon as we opened the room door.

The owner accommodated our request for a room change (lucky there was a cancellation) and we were comfortable with the result. For the superior quad, there is a small private outdoor deck, 4 beds (with a separation between sleeping areas), a refrigerator, TV, clean updated bathroom with shower, and a small sofa. Owner is friendly, helpful, and pleasant.
Hotel is in a good location near the center of town and a short walk to the main park in Interlaken. The train station is walkable--about 10 -15 min walk to Interlaken West...15 min to Interlaken East and with a Swiss Pass the local bus service is free. Owner gives you complimentary passes for local bus transportation so if you don't have Swiss passes....no sweat.
Good breakfast. Good value for Switzerland and a reasonable point to base mountain excursions from in summer or winter. Not a fancy hotel but clean and comfortable. We slept well and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CA4Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Traveling a lot within Switzerland and knowing the local hotel offer, i would say to be able to judge about good and bad hotels. We can't believe the comment of "checkouuut" about the Derby is a realistic one. We made a completely contrary experience!

We spent the weekend at Hotel Derby and it was just great. The room was newly refurnished and clean. The breakfast was a fair offer, view to the price we paid.

In addition, we got the hotel-owned SMART at a small charge and we got free entrance to the swim-hall of Interlaken.

Last but not least we would like to congratulate the hosts for the kind service and the useful informations we got about Interlaken and the Jungfrau-Region.

All in all: a great deal!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Enrique38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Stayed here over Xmas 2006. George, the owner, was fantastic, recommended some great restaurants (Stella, Im Gade) for Xmas Eve and Xmas day dinners, which were fantastic. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated, with comfy beds. The breakfasts were good - everything you could possibly want - 3 types of breads and rolls, several different meats and cheeses, spreads, cereal, yoghurt and good, bottomless pot of coffee! The hotel felt comfortable and homily, you have that 'ah, i am home' feeling when you get back from a busy day sightseeing, it is not pretentious or showy, but still private and stylish. Easy walk from Interlaken West station, or 10-20 minutes to Interlaken East.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and had a very pleasant stay.

The owner was extremely friendly, offering us help with trips, preparing coffee and a croissant for us when we missed breakfast etc.

The room and bathroom was large, clean and look liked it had recently been modernised. It was serviced daily with clean towels, sheets etc.

The views into the Alps are great and it's perfect to open the windows in the morning and get some fresh aire in.

Only slight complaint was that the wooden floors throughout mean that noise does someetimes carry in the rooms and the corridors but certainly not sufficient to create disturbance.

Great value location 5 minute walk from Interlaken West (don't stay on to East) and the town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank djfozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $131 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing