We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Derby staff goes out of the way ... sometimes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Derby staff goes out of the way ... sometimes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed at the Derby in Interlaken during the offseason (November) and got a very good deal on their "ecoroom" (110 CHF/night) by arranging it directly with the owner through e-mail. If you're on a budget, this room's the way to go, but it's not advertised on their website since there is only one like it in the hotel. It consists of two twin beds, a sink, a small closet and a TV. The toilet and shower for this room are a few steps down the hall, but are not shared with other rooms.

My memorable experience there had little to do with the hotel, but everything to do with the noravirus (stomach illness) which I believe I picked up in Italy a few days earlier but didn't kick in until Interlaken. Needless to say, having nausea every 15 minutes or so for about eight straight hours is not a good time to have a room with the toilet down the hall! The response of the management to my illness says a lot about the service of the hotel. The nice lady at the desk during the afternoon was extremely accommodating, so much so as to brew up a special tea concoction just for me which was supposed to help with the nausea (think it probably did ... eventually). On the other hand, the gentleman on the night desk was the exact opposite; when my wife asked him for some ice to cool down a can of Sprite I was attempting to keep down, he supplied her with just two cubes and told her that was all they could spare because the hotel was full that night!

Despite my bad memories of the place, I'd probably stay there again given the reasonable rates, location and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff on the night desk
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFcatamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    62
    18
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
54
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed here 2 nights--if you're looking for the rarely found non-smoking quad room, ask for the superior quad facing toward the rear garden--I believe it is Room #4 in the one story hotel addition. We booked the regular quad room (#6) but it was small with a window that opened to the street--we are light sleepers so knew that wouldn't work as soon as we opened the room door.

The owner accommodated our request for a room change (lucky there was a cancellation) and we were comfortable with the result. For the superior quad, there is a small private outdoor deck, 4 beds (with a separation between sleeping areas), a refrigerator, TV, clean updated bathroom with shower, and a small sofa. Owner is friendly, helpful, and pleasant.
Hotel is in a good location near the center of town and a short walk to the main park in Interlaken. The train station is walkable--about 10 -15 min walk to Interlaken West...15 min to Interlaken East and with a Swiss Pass the local bus service is free. Owner gives you complimentary passes for local bus transportation so if you don't have Swiss passes....no sweat.
Good breakfast. Good value for Switzerland and a reasonable point to base mountain excursions from in summer or winter. Not a fancy hotel but clean and comfortable. We slept well and would return.

  • Liked — price, convenience
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CA4Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

Traveling a lot within Switzerland and knowing the local hotel offer, i would say to be able to judge about good and bad hotels. We can't believe the comment of "checkouuut" about the Derby is a realistic one. We made a completely contrary experience!

We spent the weekend at Hotel Derby and it was just great. The room was newly refurnished and clean. The breakfast was a fair offer, view to the price we paid.

In addition, we got the hotel-owned SMART at a small charge and we got free entrance to the swim-hall of Interlaken.

Last but not least we would like to congratulate the hosts for the kind service and the useful informations we got about Interlaken and the Jungfrau-Region.

All in all: a great deal!

  • Liked — customer orientation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Enrique38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

Stayed here over Xmas 2006. George, the owner, was fantastic, recommended some great restaurants (Stella, Im Gade) for Xmas Eve and Xmas day dinners, which were fantastic. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated, with comfy beds. The breakfasts were good - everything you could possibly want - 3 types of breads and rolls, several different meats and cheeses, spreads, cereal, yoghurt and good, bottomless pot of coffee! The hotel felt comfortable and homily, you have that 'ah, i am home' feeling when you get back from a busy day sightseeing, it is not pretentious or showy, but still private and stylish. Easy walk from Interlaken West station, or 10-20 minutes to Interlaken East.

  • Liked — service, rooms
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and had a very pleasant stay.

The owner was extremely friendly, offering us help with trips, preparing coffee and a croissant for us when we missed breakfast etc.

The room and bathroom was large, clean and look liked it had recently been modernised. It was serviced daily with clean towels, sheets etc.

The views into the Alps are great and it's perfect to open the windows in the morning and get some fresh aire in.

Only slight complaint was that the wooden floors throughout mean that noise does someetimes carry in the rooms and the corridors but certainly not sufficient to create disturbance.

Great value location 5 minute walk from Interlaken West (don't stay on to East) and the town centre.

  • Liked — Value, location, staff, rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a pint and chilli in Buddys Bar
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank djfozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

My sister and I stayed at the Derby at the tail end of our trip to Italy and Switzerland in mid-Sept '06. We had a room on the 2nd floor with twin beds, overlooking the garden in the back of the hotel. There aren't any phones in the rooms, but that wasn't a problem for us. The main area of the town is a short walk away and the hotel gave us free passes for the town buses, which we used a couple of times. The room was perfectly adequate for what we were willing to spend, knowing that we were going to be out & about most of our visit. I would definitely stay here again.

As far as the below post regarding breakfast, I honestly have no clue what that person was talking about. Every morning when we'd go down to breakfast, they would bring us a basket with croissants and rolls. They have a small buffet set up with a few types of cereal, yogurt, deli meats, cheese, etc. We left breakfast feeling satisfied every morning of our stay.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Maid service cleaned our room when we were down at breakfast one morning before we'd had a chance to shower
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mecubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2006

We have just returned from our switzerland trip. Never ever in our life did we stay in such a bad hotel as hotel Derby. It is really a pity that the hotel which looks tastefully decorated from outside has such horrible service.

The staff of the hotel are very unfriendly and the quality of service was pathetic. We were not provided with adequate help and information by the staff of the hotel. The room did not have a basic facility of an intercom or a phone and everytime we had to run from the second floor down to ask for trivial things.

To our sheer disappointment the only piece of information provided to us about the tourist office opening time was also incorrect. We faced a lot of inconvience because of this . I would recommend visitors always to double check information provided by the hotel in order to avoid such instances.

Breakfast was a nightmare. Beef was the only option and since we dont have beef so we had nothing to eat and had to survive on an apple and a cup of tea. Virtually no effort was made when we requested for some alternative arrangements. So in case you are a vegetarian or do not have beef then you should never stay in this hotel.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.The only thing i would suggest is that staying in this hotel is a complete waste of time, effort and money.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — behaviour of staff
  • Tips/Secrets — check out the breakfast menu with the hotel if you are a vegetarian
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ani76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#24 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing