We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel in Interlaken”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #7 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Derby in Interlaken. The room was extremely clean, the landlord extremely helpful, and the hotel 's location is perfect: only 5mn walking distance from the center and 10mn drive from the railway station. We will go back, especially as the price is very reasonnable for Interlaken

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

Location from Interlaken train station was written as 7 minutes from hotel but, the actual walk with luggage is definitely much longer, probably 12 minutes. For a family of 5(including 3 kids) , the family room was very cramped. There was barely any walking space, and the washroom was worse. (We stayed in Zurich, St Moritz and Zermatt prior to arriving in Interlaken and the rooms in the other cities were definitely bigger). There was barely enough space to fit 2 persons in it. Breakfast was okay, no hot bacon or sausages though.
Our holiday in Interlaken (3 nights) was the best of our trip in Switzerland, but sadly, the hotel was a letdown to the otherwise enjoyable holiday !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great hotel to stay in - spotlessly clean, friendly, helpful, easy to find by car. Free parking on site. 2 minutes walk to Interlaken centre. Definitely recommended. Agree with all the positive reviews below.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Numberslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We planned to stay at this hotel in this location as it was very central for our plans.

The room was great, the breakfast was great, the location was great, the owner was great.

The owner was very helpful in helping us with our plans.

We booked 1/2 board with our reservation with dinner at the National Restaurant. The National was very good with our dietary needs. Great food, service, and value.

Alas, our hiking opportunities were mostly dashed by poor weather.

We had purchased a Swiss Rail Pass when we entered the country and Interlaken turned out to be a very central hub for visits to most of Switzerland.

An great choice of hotel for us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Lovely warm hotel, very clean and comfortable. Peaceful and quiet but well located for Interlaken and the beautiful surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 9 night stay (bed & breakfast) at the Hotel Derby. We found this to be an excellent hotel, quiet, very clean, friendly and close to the centre of Interlaken. The owner Juerg (George in English) was very helpful and advised us on all the trips and days out in the area. It was a pleasure to stay at this Hotel and we will have no hesitation in staying again.
For evening meals we thought that The Cafe de Paris near the centre was good value and excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
Thank DaveBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in a double - very clean hotel, wonderful breakfast included, very helpful staff, and close location to most tourist sights. Would stay again...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MGlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $119 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing