We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #7 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2006

My sister and I stayed at the Derby at the tail end of our trip to Italy and Switzerland in mid-Sept '06. We had a room on the 2nd floor with twin beds, overlooking the garden in the back of the hotel. There aren't any phones in the rooms, but that wasn't a problem for us. The main area of the town is a short walk away and the hotel gave us free passes for the town buses, which we used a couple of times. The room was perfectly adequate for what we were willing to spend, knowing that we were going to be out & about most of our visit. I would definitely stay here again.

As far as the below post regarding breakfast, I honestly have no clue what that person was talking about. Every morning when we'd go down to breakfast, they would bring us a basket with croissants and rolls. They have a small buffet set up with a few types of cereal, yogurt, deli meats, cheese, etc. We left breakfast feeling satisfied every morning of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mecubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2006

We have just returned from our switzerland trip. Never ever in our life did we stay in such a bad hotel as hotel Derby. It is really a pity that the hotel which looks tastefully decorated from outside has such horrible service.

The staff of the hotel are very unfriendly and the quality of service was pathetic. We were not provided with adequate help and information by the staff of the hotel. The room did not have a basic facility of an intercom or a phone and everytime we had to run from the second floor down to ask for trivial things.

To our sheer disappointment the only piece of information provided to us about the tourist office opening time was also incorrect. We faced a lot of inconvience because of this . I would recommend visitors always to double check information provided by the hotel in order to avoid such instances.

Breakfast was a nightmare. Beef was the only option and since we dont have beef so we had nothing to eat and had to survive on an apple and a cup of tea. Virtually no effort was made when we requested for some alternative arrangements. So in case you are a vegetarian or do not have beef then you should never stay in this hotel.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.The only thing i would suggest is that staying in this hotel is a complete waste of time, effort and money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ani76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

I'm surprised more people haven't written a review about this lovely hotel. Conveniently located - almost directly across from the large grass area in the center of town and about 10 mins walk from the station (you can use either Interlaken East or West). We stayed in room 28, which was upstairs and overlooked a row of residential gardens, along with some spectacular mountain views. The room was small, but perfectly adequate and the bathroom was large by European standards. Ours did have a hairdryer. Wonderful hospitality - good local information as well. Good breakfast with muesli, yoghurt and the ever-popular Swiss hot chocolate. Highly recommend the trip to Jungfraujoch - fairly strenuous walk outside in the snow to the top restaurant - only because it's at 12 000 feet. But well worth it and the food was great. Be advised - it can be mobbed inside. As food is so expensive in Switzerland, recommend the Co-Op grocery shop opposite the station. The one in Interlaken even has a restaurant upstairs, where you can get a plate of food for about CHF 12 and a great cuppachino for CHF 2.30. Best deal in town. Highly recommend the hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Natalie-UK-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2006

Personal Attention! The Hotel Derby was the best hotel that we stayed in on our 3 week trip to France, Switzerland and Spain. Very clean rooms, big bathrooms for Europe(no hair dryers in room), wonderful staff, great breakfast (was included in our cost) and you must try the yogurt. I would recommend this hotel with no hesitations and I am very very picky. Interlaken was beautiful! Sorry I have no pics of the room that show how great it was.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyfer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boss J, Owner at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que no den a la carretera
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piedad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $130 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing