We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel , will recommend”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #6 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is literally 5 mins drive and 10 mins walk from the main town. The town is small and hotel is one street away. The person at reception was extremely helpful and even offered us a double room with no extra charge. The bed was a bit uncomfortable since it was two beds jammed together and it moved apart at night. The shower was a bit small , as well as the entire bathroom. All other basic amenities was provided, the wi- fi was free and worked very well. Besides this, the view of the mountain was spectacular. Due to our schedule, we skipped breakfast, which was included in the rate. The hotel kep our bags in storage even after we checked out and stored it free of charge. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Interlaken and visit to Jungfrau since it was very convenient to take the bus and then train up the mountain. The friendly staff made it all worth it for a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Fisrttimetoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyboss, Inhaber at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Fisrttimetoparis it whas also your first time to Interlaken :-)
Thanks for your visit and the time to write a great review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in general and would love to see you come back
Best regards from the Derby Hotel
George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 163 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fantastic location every detail about this hotel is looked after by the owner who is
A terrific business man. We appreciated the whole experience!
Clean and bright rooms. Wonderful breakfast a very European experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Derby in Interlaken. The hotel had more of a feel of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel. The manager/owner welcomed us when we arrived before lunch. We were able to check into our rooms right away which was nice to be able to drop our bags before going out to explore. The hotel is on a quiet street approx 15 minute walk from the Interlaken West train station. We were given a card at check in that allowed us to ride on the local buses and train (between Interlaken East and West train stations) for free which was a great bonus. There was a bus stop just a few minutes up the road past the hotel, and another one that went to the train stations about 5 mins walk next to the Victoria Jungfrau Hotel on the main street.

The hotel room (room #26) was very small, but was spotlessly clean, bright, and had modern furnishings. The bed was a double size and was very comfortable (plus had a comforter and large soft pillow). There was a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall that offered 3 English language TV channels (CNN, CNBC, and BBC). There was a small desk, stool, small but ample size wardrobe, small fridge, and a coffee maker. The fridge had some drinks in it but I'm not sure if they were included in the room price or additional charge (didn't find anything in the room that stated mentioned it). The bathroom was very small and had to squeeze sideways into the shower, but worked just fine. My hairdryer was broken when I got there and was replaced immediately. The room had a very nice view of Harder Kulm from the window.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was offered in a very pleasant room on the first floor. There was a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, and breads with jams.

I was very impressed with the hospitality shown at the Hotel Derby and would not hesitate to recommend staying here if you are ever fortunate enough to stay in the lovely town of Interlaken. I booked the room via Hotels.com and paid approx $95/night.

I had a wonderful afternoon tea at the Victoria Jungfrau Hotel on the Terrace. It was delicious, and I thought good value with a wonderful ambiance listening to a live pianist sat in the sun. Interlaken is an amazing town and it is a wonderful area of Switzerland.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank KarenAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyboss, Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear KarenAnneM
Thank you very much for the detailed review you gave on Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to read that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and we would be more than happy to welcome you back, soon

Thank you once again.
Best regards,

Your Hotel Derby team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Derby for four nights. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood less than 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street and about a ten minute walk to the Interlaken West Station. Interlaken East Station is an easy 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. There is a bus stop for either train station next to and across from the Grand Palace Hotel next to the large park on Bahnhofstrasse which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a gentlemen who appeared to be the manager and / or co-owner of the establishment. Although we arrived mid-morning, our rooms were ready for check-in and he happily checked us in. He also provided information about Interlaken and the surrounding area as well as things to see. Included in the room rate was a pass to ride public transport in and around Interlaken, including the use of the train between Interlaken East and West railway stations.

I was assigned a room on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The room was basic but bright, cheery, and very clean. Out of the large bedroom window I had a magnificent view of the surrounding mountains. The room was equipped with a flat screen TV, fridge, safe, and kettle with tea and instant coffee. The bed was very comfortable and the linens crisp and clean. My only dislike about the linens was the comforter cover which was make of a material that was rough and somewhat abrasive.

The bathroom was small, but functional, and very clean with a nice size shower compared to shower stalls at other European hotels where I have stayed.

The hotel has good security as you need to use your room key to enter the hotel. The front door is always locked.

Our room rate included breakfast which consisted of breads and pastries, cereals, cold cuts, yoghurt, and coffee, tea, and juice. There were no hot options if I recall correctly. Although the breakfast selection was not extensive, it was adequate and the food was of good quality.

Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Derby. The manager and his staff provided excellent service and made us feel more as though we were guests in his home rather than guests at a hotel. I highly recommend the Hotel Derby if your travels bring you to Interlaken.

GETTING THERE

The Interlaken West railway station is a few minutes closer to the hotel than the east station. From the west station, a taxi will cost you from 12-14 Swiss francs. If you don't have much luggage (or your luggage has wheels), it's an easy 10-15 minute walk. As you exit the station, turn left. This is Bahnhofstrasse. Walk for about 5 minutes until you reach the roundabout. This is Centralstrasse. Turn right. The street splits. Stay to the left and keep walking for about 3 minutes. When you see the Hotel Savoy, keep walking straight (and a little to the left) and cross the street. This is Jungfraustrasse. Walk another 3 minutes past the apartment complex and the hotel will be on your right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyboss, Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear SF-Coast-Traveler
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Derby Hotel Interlaken.

We are delighted to read that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and wish to thank you once more for recommending us to other travellers. Thanks for your pictures.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here, soon.

Best regards

Hotel Derby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I think the Derby is a hidden gem in a place where the cfr doesn't go very far. The room was neat clean and of good size. It is located very conveniently to most everything in town which is an easy walking town. Breakfast was very good and very European. The owners are very accessable and cheery willing to help in any way. I wish I had more time to stay.

Paul - Massachusetts

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a family room and a double room at the Derby. The double was nice, but small, and the family was a good size. The family room had two twin beds pushed together and a ser of built-in bunk beds. The family running the hotel was friendly and helpful- the breakfast was good. We appreciate the free internet.

Room Tip: Make sure to get off at the correct train station!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stay for 3 nights

Pros :
1. Family friendly ,
2. Location is not as bad I have initially thought ( approx 12mins from Interlaken West )
3. Although the booking stated a rate for usage of WIfi , it's free
4. Breakfast is included
5. Free local bus ride tickets .
6. Access by security card via main lobby door.

Cons :
1. Although the traffic is not that heavy , try to booked the rooms away from the road ( especially when your room are located on the ground floor ) . There is a glass barrier erected to segregate the public pathway / road from the hotel rooms but there is still a sense of uneasiness as you can hear the closeness of car or people walking by.
2. FYI , WiFi can be log in per user only

Note : For trip to Jungfraujoch - Suggest taking bus 105 ( which is 150m away from the hotel ) to Wilderswill Bahnhof . Cross over a road for your train to Lauterbrunen/ Kleine /Jungfaujoch . We have made a mistake of taking the bus at train station and found out later that the bus pass by our hotel . There are still many options of taking the train from the interlaken west but the bus schedule at approx 9am suit us well .

Overall
The hotel is very clean , cosy and offer a good base for trip to the popular outskirts.

Room Tip: Note : I try to get a family room with an attic atmosphere but was already fully booked .Try this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#6 of 7 in Wilderswil
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $121 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the small an charming ambiance of our hotel. A little oasis in the heart of Interlaken. all rooms air-conditioned ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing