We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable base hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stay for 3 nights

Pros :
1. Family friendly ,
2. Location is not as bad I have initially thought ( approx 12mins from Interlaken West )
3. Although the booking stated a rate for usage of WIfi , it's free
4. Breakfast is included
5. Free local bus ride tickets .
6. Access by security card via main lobby door.

Cons :
1. Although the traffic is not that heavy , try to booked the rooms away from the road ( especially when your room are located on the ground floor ) . There is a glass barrier erected to segregate the public pathway / road from the hotel rooms but there is still a sense of uneasiness as you can hear the closeness of car or people walking by.
2. FYI , WiFi can be log in per user only

Note : For trip to Jungfraujoch - Suggest taking bus 105 ( which is 150m away from the hotel ) to Wilderswill Bahnhof . Cross over a road for your train to Lauterbrunen/ Kleine /Jungfaujoch . We have made a mistake of taking the bus at train station and found out later that the bus pass by our hotel . There are still many options of taking the train from the interlaken west but the bus schedule at approx 9am suit us well .

Overall
The hotel is very clean , cosy and offer a good base for trip to the popular outskirts.

Room Tip: Note : I try to get a family room with an attic atmosphere but was already fully booked .Try this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    63
    18
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
54
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked this hotel off reviews on the internet and weren't disappointed. Easy walking distance from Interlaken West, close to shops, restaurants, playground, public transport, and routes to the ski fields. The owner was friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, we enjoyed dinner on our balcony a couple of evening. We really enjoyed our stay here in April 2012. Recommend the swimming pool complex, very modern, and great way to spend some time as a family, which we did while it rained outside and was about 8C outside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesFamily6155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a lovely hotel; a bit of a "bed and breakfast"-hotel cross. I believe the owner lived in the facility which had a small, but wonderfully kept back yard. The hotel was very secure as you needed your room key (card) to enter the building as well as your room. The rooms were small but clean, neat and nicely decorated. The people were quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My friend and i wanted to go to Swiss Alps. So, we decided to stay in the hotel at interlaken for a night. It was fantastic staying in Hotel Deby.The owner was great and friendly. The room was spacious considering the price we have paid. There is a free breakfast and wifi provided.
The owner even teased at me when i told him this is my first time seeing snow. The room is clean. Nice people, nice location, nice accomodation, nice breakfast. I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyinterlaken, Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Espiga_tuga ,
What a pleasure to read you comment. Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are happy that we could meet all your expectations such as our service quality and breakfast coffee.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards
Jürg Boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed for three nights in January 2012. Hotel was a short distance from the train station and very easy to find. Location was central to most things we needed.

Room was a perfect size for a family with two children. The kids were in a seperate area with the bathroom in between. Kids had bunks and a TV in their area.

Host George was vey accommodating and booked our tours for us each morning to save us a trip back to the train station or tourist bureau each day. He also provide more information than the tourist bureau who said there was nothing to do in Interlaken in winter for families ?

His wife even helped out when we were too tired to go out for dinner and ordered pizza in for us because of the language barriers, then put it on our bill when it arrived so we had one less thing to worry about when trying to get two tired kids organised for bed.

Beds were comfortable, lots of hanging space in cupboards & closets, and unlike many hotels we were even given real coat hangers ( maybe they realise we didn't go all the way to Switzerland to steal the hangers! ) and a proper hair dryer not attached to the wall.

Breakfast was European with a bit extra. Good selection of cereal, pastries, meat, cheese, boiled eggs, juice, tea and coffee. More than enough to start the day.

Overall the service was outstanding, it reminds me why we stay in smaller hotels and B&B's instead of large chains.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked 2 rooms and stayed at Hotel Derby over New Years 2011 and it worked out great. The owners were extremely accommodating and friendly and offered us great advice for getting around. The breakfast was really good and the rooms were quiet and clean. What more could you ask for.

We will be going back to Hotel Derby this winter/summer for sure for skiing and mountain biking. Also the Hotel is located very close (200 meters) which takes you to Wilderswil station to get you up the mountain for skiing/mountain biking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b5c9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was our second stay and will not be the last. The rooms are excellent, the breakfast is fantastic and the service second to none. The owners are so kind and helpful doing everything possible to make our stay in Interlaken top class. They booked pony riding for our daughter, wood carving for the whole family and made sure that we understood that our Tourist Cards provide free use of local buses and trains, the swimming pool, the spa/wellness centre and discounts on various activities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#23 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing