We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
267
309
130
46
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
267
309
130
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awesome views central location view from the balcony floor mountains gym switzerland train coop snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 783 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Very disappointed in this hotel. Rooms we were in were dated, and furnishings in poor condition. I sat on the bed and sank right into it! Was incredibly uncomfortable for the three nights we stayed.

Breakfast was the worst we had had in our travels. Stay somewhere else as I would not recommend based on the rooms we were given.

However reception staff were great.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Verdale16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear guest,

We are sorry to read, that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

It would be very helpful to know in what room you were staying in and what you missed for breakfast. Due to the fact that your feedback is written anonymous we are not able to check what happened. You are most welcome to contact us (mve@metropole-interlaken.ch). Thank you.

Regards,

Marco von Euw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

A few, very few, hundreds yards from the marathon straight in the heart of Interlaken. you will find the Metropole hotel. Literally 3 minutes walk. Totally awesome. The building as such is a Grey skyscraper not necessarily beautiful but functional and with beautiful views of the park and of the white peaks in the backdrop. When built I am sure this was a luxury hotel now slightly aged but rooms have a balcony, a large modern bathroom and a comfy bed. Staff is helpful and smiling, polite and professional. Breakfast is also rich in variety, not the best one, I would say average leaning to good. There is a car park just attached to the hotel with preferential rates. It would be a four stars assessment but the position makes this hotel wonderful. Too convenient not to be a 5 stars.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Alberto1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Guest Relations Assistant at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear Alberto

Thank you very much for your kind rewiev.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and espacilly our view.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in our Hotel.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Your Metropole Team

Anja Lösche
Guest relations assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

I have no complains . Brilliant rooms , brilliant views, brilliant service . This was one of the most pleasant stays I’ve had in a hotel . Given the heat during the day I wish there was an air conditioner at times but it was manageable . Most of the places we would like to see as visitors are walkable . Train station interlaken ost is a 20 minute walk or you can take a bus for 5 minutes and interlaken west takes about the same time . More than anything Interlaken as a city is unforgettable and difficult to leave and metropole just made it even difficult !

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank neeleshpapineni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Guest Relations Assistant at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With pleasure we will forward your compliments to our staff.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in our Hotel Metropole.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Your Hotel Metropole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

A lovely clean, spacious Hotel in a great location right in the heart of Interlaken. Balcony rooms offer stunning views of Jungfrau mountain. As indicated, rooms are spacious and clean, but there are no tea or coffee facilities but these are easily obtained on the 1st floor from the Fitness Centre. Rooms have large bathrooms but soap is contained in pump style liquid form so if you want normal soap, you need to take your own, the shower was disappointing as it is located in the bathtub and I personally find such showers dangerous when stepping in and out. The Hotel is an easy 10-15 walk from the Railway Station or, if you take a cab, about a three minute drive at a cost of 14 Swiss Francs. Excellent breakfast with a great variety. Fully equipped Gymnasium/Fitness Centre. Right in the heart of the shopping strip. Would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Dreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Dear Dreben

Wow, what a rating. Thank you for your laudatory words.

We will gladly pass on the compliments for our view, cleanliness, spacious rooms, fitness and location on to our employees.

To make it a little easier to shower in the bathtub, you can get anti-slip mats at our reception or from the housekeeping team.

It is great that you will recommend our hotel to others and we hope to welcome you again soon and spoil you.

Best regards
Your Metropole Hotel
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

I stayed on the 14th floor recently in one of the refurbished rooms.
It was nicely done but not perfect by a long way

Pros
Carpet tiles so stains can be replaced easily, a problem with the old rooms
Nice new giant TV with lots of channels including many UK channels
Slippy vents on way out to balcony replaced with some wood effect.

Negatives
No doors on the clothes storage shelves and hangar space
Safe right on top of the fridge, it cooks anything left in the safe, not good for electrics like tablets and PCs
No hooks in the bathroom, this is inexcusable
I don't believe wall mounted soap dispensers is appropriate for a 4* hotel. It's like a budget hotel
Although there were many TV channels, the laminated sheet listing the channels still showed 31 chanels, ie the old system. Had not been updated.

Overall I thought the room was more like an IBIS than a 4* hotel. There is limited desk area, no proper chair for the desk, no nightstand.

Summary
The old rooms were long overdue for refurbishment. Although the new rooms are competently done, they don't say "4* Hotel" to me.
Would I stay there again? Yes, the views are unbeatable.

Room tip: High floors for best view of the Jungfrau
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Dear radiosutch

Thank you very much for the great review and the compliments for our replaceable carpet tiles and TV Screens.

The negative points you mentioned are helpful to improve our performance. Therefore, we will discuss your feedback internally.

However, we are pleased that you will visit us again. And we totally understand that you don't want to miss out our view :)

Best regards
Your Metropole Team
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews