We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for a snow adventure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good base for a snow adventure.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We found the hotel to be at least acceptable although possibly not quite the 4* rating. The New Year Eve's buffet was absolutely wonderful from lobster to champagne and that was just for the starters.The breakfasts were good and generally the bar prices were not too expensive. The bedrooms were of a good size, the beds were comfortable but we really would have liked tea making facilities in the room. We were on the 4th floor and nearly all the rooms overlook the large garden area in the middle of Interlaken which was handy for viewing the super firework display on New Year's Day. We used and liked the swimming pool although we understand that not many people do and therefore they are replacing it with a gym. It is very well placed to explore that villages up in the mountains and especially to visit Jungfrau by cable car.

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the first couple of levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEd293734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    200
    78
    27
    14
See reviews for
117
182
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights after Christmas. I'll will start by saying that my initial impression of the hotel was not very good but the courteousness and helpfulness of the staff is the main reason for the high score.

Getting to the hotel from Interlaken Ost was very easy and the location is excellent. There was as variety of shops and restaurants to suit every one's taste. Upon arrival the receptionist was lovely and very helpful. She spoke excellent English and even advised us on the best pistes for skiing.

When we got to our room, however, our excitement plummeted. We had booked an executive room but it looked nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. The décor as alot more dated than what it appears like in the photos. The lamp shades were all stained, the bathroom as very basic with a dirty shower curtain around the bath, the carpet seemed worn out and when we tested the bed, the mattress just seemed to sink right in. Needless to say both my boyfriend and I were disappointed. I rang reception and explained that we were both dissatisfied with our room. She apologised about everything and upgraded our room to a suite with separate living area, his and hers sinks and separate shower and bath. Although the décor was still the same it was a much better, larger suite and breathtaking views from the 13th floor.

We did not eat at the hotel but we did have a few drinks at the bar which was very good. I also enjoyed the wonderful Christmas decorations in display in the reception area.

To summarise, the hotel itself was not bad and the staff really compensated for any shortcomings. I really hope that there are plans in the very near future to update the hotel and bring it up to its claimed 4 star standard because that's the hotel's biggest downfall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashaki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed in Interlaken Metropole hotel for 3 days.
Initially i was surprised by level of "executive" room, which was dirty, not nice and small.
For this money 4 star hotel should be better as per executive standard.

But to my surprise, hotel offered us sweet upgrade for same price so we got huge 2 room appartment in last floor with mountain view, big bath and clean.

Personal was really nice and helpful, every our question was sorted out very straightfoward.

We didnt visit restaurant Belinit but there is plenty of restaurants near hotel and this place is just amazing for holiday.

If u want to ski its better to go close to Wengen or Grindelwald, because train to ski takes about an hour.

It was beautiful holiday with very nice ski in Jungfrau region. I would go there again definitily but maybe will stay in Grindelwald which is just and fantastic atmoshpere and very close to the most sunny ski area First.
Wengen is very sporty and cool but not so sunny as First. Also the third part is nice but First is just and heaven on sun

Room Tip: always ask for better room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is unpretentious however the staff are extra friendly and very helpful. Check in was smooth and we were very lucky to get a corner room on the sixth floor. This room has awesome views. The hotel is very easy to access from Interlaken Ost. Just 3 bus stops away. Free if you have a Swiss pass. The breakfast was tasty and had a good selection. Some things to assist you. If you are like us and enjoy making your own cuppa ask for an electric jug. One will be delivered to your room with two cups. Also you can access the internet for 30 mins daily free or pay extra for unlimited access. Interlaken is a fun place with lots to do enjoy!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tig.kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear tig.kim

Thank you very much for your kind feedback!

Those reviews are very motivating for all our staff members. We agree, the hotel is maybe not the nicest building from the outside in town, but our guests have the best view to the Jungfrau and the surrounding alps from their rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you again for your next stay in Interlaken.

Marco von Euw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Beautiful view from the rooms balcony! Some of the friendliest service I've ever had from a concierge! Very good English From all the employees I interacted with. Breakfast buffet was over prices. Room could use an upgrade for the price, but it was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradjhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is close to the interlaken Ost station, though about a kilometer away. You can take a bus just outside the station to take you to the hotel , just 3 stops away. Especially if you have taken the swiss pass, its all take care of. The hotel balcony gies you a view of the mountians,snow tipped and is a respite for the smoker.

Room Tip: get the front facing rooms for a view of the mountians
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jith008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms. The first had a very strong smell and the second had a clear bad smell. It is the smell I associate with my youth when all I could afford were old motels and they frequently smelled of years of sweat and old socks. Both rooms at the Metropole had that smell. In the first room they tried to disguise it with mothballs (and they are an unpleasant smell in their own right) but they weren’t enough to cover the smell. In the second room the smell was strongest from the bedding but with the smell detectable in the bathroom. Both rooms we aired as much as we could. So with the second room we had the windows wide open from 10 in the morning until 9 at night – the smell was still there. It is obviously deeply ingrained and not just lack of air. With the first room we aired the room for 4 hours before going to bed and had a window open but the smell was strong and stopped my travelling companion from sleeping well.

I reported the smell to the front desk and they clearly were not surprised. They changed our room but they weren’t gracious or apologetic about it: she appeared to expect me to thank her for giving me a room on a higher floor. There was nothing wrong with the floor height of the first room: it was the smell that was unacceptable.

I can tell you about the rest of the hotel:

• Both rooms had good views with balconies
• Both rooms were big enough (for a European hotel)
• The breakfast was the best we had in Switzerland – plenty of choice and hot options (the coffee weak and tasteless)
• The hotel is central and about 600 metres from the West station and 1.1 km from the East station (for trains to Jungfrau).

Conclusion

We paid US $260 a night and the smell for us was a killer. I associate that smell with cheap dated motels that I would never stay in out of choice. Had I known about the smell in this hotel I would have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Property: Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Metropole Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing