We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, large rooms and beautiful view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed March 15, 2013

May be is has not a "swissstyle" facades like others in Interlaken but their location and service is very good. Because I was in a business trip I could´n enjoy too much my room and it´s balcony, which in fact was one of their best reasons to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear fmurragarra

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at the hotel Metropole with others!

Especially your comment about location and service is motivating us! Also we think staying in the only high rise building in town with with the breathtaking view to the Alps is one of the highlights during a stay in Interlaken. Check out the panorama restaurant at the 18th floor. From their you not only have a view to the Jungfrau but also to lake Brienz and lake Thoune!

We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Interlaken!

Best regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 545 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

hi
i stayed in hotel Metropole in Feb 2013.
The hotel is in Interlaken west, which is not so far i.e hardly 5 10 mins from the Interlaken OST (east) station.
Inorder to get to the hotel, you can call Hotel metropole and book your time and they offer a free stuttle from station to the hotel and from hotel to the station from 7 am to 9 pm
If incase you cannot call or if you arrive later than 9pm you have to take the bus Nr. 103 or Nr. 21 to the stop in west and get down(i dont rem the stop name , but guess its the first stop from OST and stops almost opp McDonald's) and walk to the Hotel Metropole which would hardly take 3 4 min.
The Hotel Metropole is the highest hotel in Interlaken.
Walking distance from Interlaken OST to Hotel Metropole 15 minutes.
The stay was good except for some disadvantages like:
1) Being an expensive hotel the hotel did not offer free Breakfast, and the paid breakfast was 25 CHF which is expensive.
2)It did not offer free Wifi.
These were the 2 major disadvantages.
Overall the stay was good.
the room were nice and clean and we were lucky enough we got the top floor i.e 14th i guess.
the hotel is really big and nice.
the staff was good.
the room had a Jungfrau view and a small balcony.
the hotel has a roof top rest i guess on the 18th floor.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors facing Jungfrau!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riddhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Riddhi S

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the hotel Metropole with others!

You just gave a perfect description of our location! Please let me answer your points (you call them disadvantages):
1) The reason why we let our guests decide whether they want to include breakfast or no is simply due to our experience, that many guests do not want to have breakfast. So why letting them something pay which they do not want to. Furthermore we have a public restaurant on the 18th floor (restaurant Top o'Met) with a magnificent view over the Bernese Oberland alps, where you can have a coffee as well.
2) Last August we invested in a new Wifi system. For bookings which are made directly at the hotel (booking engine at the homepage, E-Mail or telephone), the Wifi is inclueded during the entire stay! If you do book via a travel agent you get 30 minutes a day free of charge. For your entire stay you then only pay CHF 7 for 24h/day Wifi!

I hope I was able to answer your queries and I am looking forward to welcoming you at the hotel Metropole during your next stay in Interlaken.

Best regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Location is perfect. We had a room on the 8th floor with attached balcony which had a majestic view of Jungfrau mountains. This is the tallest building in the area- you cannot miss it. Located about 5 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West station. Excellent pool and sauna facilities.
The downside: Only 30 mins internet access per day for 1 user in a room. Breakfast not included and grossly overpriced

Room Tip: Request for a room on the higher floors with a view of Jungfrau mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sreedevi_palit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Mrs. Sreedevi

Thank you very much for rating us on Tripadvisor!

You are right, due to our building (only high rise building in town) we offer the best view over the Bernese Alps in Interlaken.

The downside, as you mentioned, about the internet: Did you know, that guests who booked directly with the hotel get free w-lan during their stay? Just a few months ago we invested in a faster and cheaper w-lan solution. That's why we decided to give it for free for direct bookings. The reason why we decided not to include breakfast on most of the resellers portals is, that in our experience a lot of guests do not want to have breakfast or just want to have a coffee in the morning. Due to the fact that we are having a restaurant on the 18th floor, where you can have a nice coffee and croissant, we leave the decision with the guests.

I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit in Interlaken!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were amazed when told that to use the internet centre we needed to pay - the only hotel we stayed at that required payment. The building is extremely ugly - better to be inside rather than outside, and the reception area is very large and rather devoid of character. The pillows were far too soft and there was no choice. On the up side, the view from our room was fantastic of the alps and the location in the middle of town was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We went Interlaken with a local tour agency and was put up in this hotel for one night. We know that Switzerland is expensive in terms of hotel, food and transport prices and was thinking we might get a rural hotel. However this is one of the highlights of our tour - a well located hotel with amazing views from our room! The hotel is surrounded by many shops and restaurant however it is quite a distance to the train station...about 1.0km. The beds are comfortable and bathroom is spacious and clean. They even offered Armani toiletries. We stayed at 7th level and facing the mountains. Is amazing to wake up with these priceless views. Breakfast selection is also very well appointed but the only letdown is there is no complimentary wifi...who still uses LAN?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear catteaa

Thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor!

I absolutelly agree - due to the fact that we are the only high-rise building in Interlaken you simply have the best view not only to the Jungfrau but also to the city.

Just a few months ago, we invested in a new WIFI. Did you know, that we are offering free WIFI to clients who book directly with us? For guests who are booking through a travel agency we do only charge CHF 7 for the whole stay. And you can connect up to 5 items on the same time (30 minutes / day is for free). I hope you can profit from this offer during your next stay in Interlaken and at the hotel Metropole!

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Functional with a good location in the centre of town. Rooms had great views to the Eiger and Alps but quite basic in there set up. Linen etc was good and there was tv and access to the balcony. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice of hot or cold. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel felt and looked a little like a 70’s cement block. Not much atmosphere but nothing that pinpoint any problems. Felt safe and warm. Stayed 2 nights in January.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ugly hotel in pleasant town.
poor service in restaurant- an hour at least before the first course was served every night.When we complained we were told this was Swiss Style.
Characterless rooms, noisy due to wind on top floors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear magnus65

Thank you for your feedback!

You are right, we might are not the nicest building from the outside due to the fact we are the only high rise building in town. Therefore you have the best view to the Alps. I am sorry to read that you didn't have enjoyed your stay with us that much. I would be very greatful to hear more about your stay. I kindly ask you to contact us on our e-mail. It would help us to improve our services.

I am looking forward to hearing from you

Best regards

Marco von Euw
mve@metropole-interlaken.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#8 of 39 in Interlaken
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $124 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropole Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing