We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in room 46 which was 4 floors up at the front of the hotel and got absolutely amazing views which changed all through the day with the clouds/sun etc.The room was very clean and spacious and had a lovely bathroom.The only down side was there was no Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room although you could use room service but we were sticking to a budget. Travelling there was fairly easy,once off the plain just go down to the train station under area 3 of the airport.Had to change trains once but Swiss trains are very clean and comfy and didn't have to wait long inbetween.Rail staff were very helpful and highlighted times and platforms on timetable.Once we arrived at Interlaken we took the 5 minute walk to the hotel ( you don't need to get a taxi ) The hotel also gives you a free bus pass around Interlaken.Staff were helpful at reception checking train times and trip information for us.There was a mini Coop across the road which was usefull for getting water and sandwiches to take on our trips out. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends.I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there or have the breakfast but that was just down to budget.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the front of the hotel to get the best views,don't worry about any noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisydo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear daisydo25

First of all I would like to thank you not just for rating the hotel Metropole on Tripadvisor but also four your nice feedback!

Yes, staying at the only high rise building in town has the big advantage of having the best view. The reason we do not have any tea & coffee making facilities is simply because of safety issues. We are looking for a suitable solution and hope to come up with it as soon as possible. But due to the fact that we are having two restaurants and a bar you can have drinks from 7am until at least 1am. During this time you also can call the room service for any drinks.

Thank you again for your nice feedback! We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Interlaken.

Best regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 539 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were part of a large tour group, and the hotel did a great job making us feel like individuals. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6th floor corner room, with great views of Jungfrau and the town. Nice large room, balcony (with drying rack - nice tough for those of us travelling light), and good hot water with lots of pressure in the shower. The pool was OK - a bit short for laps. Sauna OK, but wish there had been a jacuzzi. Great ! location for Ober Bernerland forays during the day.
Breakfast was a nice treat with prosecco to make mimosas & excellent overall when the eggs aren't too done, which for us was 50% of the time.
The "Top o the Met" was a disappointment for us, because we mistakenly thought it was a bar - no, it is a cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Jungrau. Higher is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear patch cs

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It makes us happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, the restaurant Top o'Met is a cafe/restaurant. As you have recogniced, our bar is located on the ground floor. But I hope you have enjoyed the view from the Top o'Met on the 18th floor.

Thank you again for your positive feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you on your next trip to the Bernese Oberland.

Best regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best part of our stay was the view of Jungfrau from our room balcony. Our room was high up on the 14th floor and we could see the Alps from afar as well as the streets of Interlaken below us. We were surprised to even see several paragliders fly past our balcony just a few feet from us and could watch them land at the wide open field in front of the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable and shortly after checking into our room, the hotel surprised us with a special cake just for us as we had informed them that we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. Thank you, Hotel Metropole for the kind and thoughtful gesture!

The hotel is centrally located with many shops and restaurants nearby. There is a Co-op supermarket just opposite the hotel and a Macdonalds nearby too. Bucherer is just next to the hotel and we did our watch-shopping there. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from Interlaken West train station. Once you come out from the station, walk towards the right in the direction of Macdonalds & Bucherer watch shop, and look out for the hotel which is the tallest building in Interlaken. You won't miss it. We will definitely stay in this hotel if we visit Interlaken again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and a room facing Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wienprater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Wienprater

Thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor!

I absolutelly agree - due to the fact that we are the only high-rise building in Interlaken you simply have the best view not only to the Jungfrau but also to the city. Did you know that out of our total of 96 rooms we are having 84 rooms facing to the Jungfrau? This is unique in Interlaken.

I hope the cake was as tasty as you did appreciate the gesture. Thank you for beeing our guests for your very special aniversary!

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel scored extra marks for the value provided , booked through booking.com one day prior. Biggest and tallest hotel/building in town provides excellent views. Located on the main street just down from shopping and amid restaurants. Rooms are a reasonable size and comfortably furnished. Bathrooms ample size and importantly , clean. Parking is onsite . Staff were very helpful with recommendations, requests and advice. Highly recommended, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Captain Turtle

Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip and for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

Because of our central location, just between the two train stations, and the free view to the Jungfrau makes a difference, staying at the hotel Metropole. Something that makes us always very glad is your comment about our helpful staff with good recommendations - another very important point to make a stay more comfortable.

Thank you again for rating us on tripadvisor!

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent location, very central, best value for money, almost every room gives you the view to Jungfrau Joch mountain peak. Next to restaurants, shopping stores and roof top restaurant. They have an excellent check-in system and you get electronic key. Fondue is a must at romantic dinner setting....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Vikask

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Metropole! And also thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor!

Because of our central location and the free view to the Jungfrau makes a difference, staying at the hotel Metropole. Did you know that we have our own recipe for the cheese fondue? Our chefs do mix it themselves and we do serve it in our roof top restaurant Top o'Met at the 18th floor. You will have a awesome view to the two lakes as well as to the Jungfrau and the city of Interlaken.

Thank you again for rating us on tripadvisor!

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The view of Jungfrau and the town was spectacular from the balcony. The park is right accross the street and is a nice spot to sit on one of the benches and watch the people hand glidding into the park. After a busy day touring the beautiful mountain scenery on the trains, relax on the balcony with a cold Swiss brew listening to John Denver and country music on the Ipod. The breakfasts were also very nice and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Merci beaucoup to all!

Room Tip: go with a room higher up for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eddyd263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Eddyd263

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Metropole! And also thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor!

Because of our central location and the free view to the Jungfrau makes a difference, staying at the hotel Metropole. There is just one better place to stay than a bench and look at the hangliders: it is our roof top restaurant Top o'Met at the 18th floor. You will have a awesome view to the two lakes as well as to the Jungfrau and the city of Interlaken.

Something that is really motivating all of our staff members is your comment about the very nice, pleasant and weloming staff - We try hard to staisfy our guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 for 4 nights in this centrally located hotel. Had room at back of hotel with views of Harder Kulm, but 1st floor dining room overlooked the green at the centre of the town, as well as the Jungfrau, so plenty to watch if you get a window seat. Even if not eating there, do go up to top floor restaurant for the views. The half board 4 course dinners were excellent, as was the breakfast buffet. Excellent, friendly service from all the waiting staff . English tends to be the most common language in this hotel, due to the worldwide clientele. Hotel manager made a point of introducing himself to guests at dinner- a nice touch in a large international hotel!

Room Tip: Room at front of hotel, the higher up the better, for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EMCGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear EMC Gosport

First of all I would like to thank you not just for rating the hotel Metropole on Tripadvisor but also four your nice feedback!

Those feedbacks are the biggest motivation for all our staff members! Also we are the only high rise building in town, you have recogniced our advantages - our view and the central location. Next to it we try to be maybe a bit more attentive and service orientated.

Thank you again for your positive feedback!

Best regards

Marco von Euw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range: $123 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropole Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing