We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore a wonderful region”
Review of Manor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlaken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good base to explore a wonderful region”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here in August with Eurocamp.

The camp is in a great location next to Lake Thon, with waterside access and plenty of watersports to keep the kids entertained. It's a short drive to Interlaken (10 mins, cheapest car park at Migros) or alternatively you can get the ferry, which runs ever hour or so, or the regular bus service, both for free with a complimentary visitor card.

The site itself is clean, well maintained and with lots to do - a football pitch, games room, table-tennis tables, café, restaurant and shop all on site. As well as Eurocamp's reception, the main campsite reception has really helpful staff who were able to provide information and leaflets on everything we asked about, from paragliding to cycle hire. For those camping, the facilities were clean and had everything you'd need.

Manor Farm has direct access to lots of footpaths, with a nature reserve 15 mins walk away, a mountain trail which leads to the next village and a river side path that you can follow all the way to Interlaken. The paths are well maintained, clean and with clear signposts to mark the way at each point.

We spent most of our time at the lakeside resort of Hotel Neuhaus - 5 mins walk away. You can relax on the grass, have a drink in their bar, book a kayak or pedalo, or even go for a swim (though the water comes fresh from the mountains and was pretty chilly on all but the hottest days). Access to Hotel Neuhaus is free for Manor Farm residents.

Also definitely visit the swimming pool in Interlaken - again, it's free with the visitor card and the outdoor pool with diving boards was great fun.

For eating out, we liked the Italian Ristorante Citta Vecchia in Unterseen, adjacent to a lovely old church; and also the Taj Mahal in Interlaken did a great curry. The restaurant on site was ok.

Interlaken is a good base from which to explore the mountains. The cable car on to the Niederhorn and the day's walk to the Gemmenalphorn and down the Justistal valley was spectacular.

Downsides? Not many. Interlaken isn't that big so you will quickly find yourself exploring further afield. It also isn't a particularly picturesque town and the streets are crammed full of tourists. But Manor Farm does keep you a bit removed from all that, if you want to be. And obviously the summer weather in the mountains isn't straight-forward - expect regular thunderstorms and a few cloudy days in amongst the gorgeous summer sunshine.

But they are a small price to pay for a great base to explore the most beautiful of regions. Overall we'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of pitch, away from the road is definitely best. We were further from the Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haddock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
62
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Altogold at Manor Farm, we had a great time swimming in the lake, paddle boarding and late night barbecue at the lakeside BBQ area. It's in a great location for interlaken and surrounding areas, amazing views and a site with good amenities. The Altogold staff gave us a pass to us the local bus, train, swimming pool in Interlaken and the ferry across the lake. The ferry is an absolute must!

Special thanks to Ralph and Sue from Altogold for looking after us so well, they're lovely people, helpful and friendly, we hope to see them again when we are sure to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Yosserwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 13 night trip (family of 6). We stayed in an Esprit Eurocamp Mobile, Eurocamp have no mobiles on the lake side of the camp but this is not a problem with the underpass making it safe to cross the road. Susan and Bruce, the Eurocamp couriers are friendly and helpful.
The camp is very clean and we found quiet. Our mobile was opposite Swiss long stay mobiles which was lovely. Our site there is a shop and restaurant with another restaurant that can be reached at nearby Neuhaus. Whilst there is no swimming pool there is a small toddler pool and the lake is lovely and clean, a word to the wise though is to pack water shoes as the 'beach' area is gravel.
We travelled by train and had a swiss pass which was great as we travelled to Bern, Locarno, Domodossla, Lucerne, Zurich, Thun, Spiez, Junganfrou (discounted rate), Kandersteg, Brig and also on Lake Thundersee and Brienzsee. You also get a free bus and boat pass for the Interlaken area on your arrival.
If you do arrive by train whether into Interlaken West or Interlaken Ost take the number 21 bus right outside the station which will bring you right outside Manor Farm reception, the boat brings you to Neuhaus and would be awkward when coming with suitcases. Otherwise def take a boat trip as it is a lovely way to enjoy the scenery. Lake Thun boats go out from Interlaken West and Lake Brienz go out from Interlaken Ost. Staff at the railway stations are very helpful and friendly, getting around Switzerland is so easy by train.
Switzerland is very expensive so be prepared, prices would be comparable with Norway.
We would definately return :)

Room Tip: There is no privacy screening between mobiles. Our mobile was a three bedroom with decking no 4 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this site in a Eurocamp Mobile Home for 5 nights, really well set out site next to lake Thun.
As well as beach bar , snack bar etc. the site has two very good Restrurants, bear in mind this is Switzerland so expect to pay and pay and pay "lot's.
45 mts. To walk into Interlaken or use the very good bus or ferry.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FrankJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights with Eurocamp in Safari Tent. Safari Tent very good experience and Eurocamp couriers are excellent.

The location is a little out of Interlaken but not a problem with a car. Free local bus and ferry routes are provided also.

There is not much to do on site but most attractions not too far away. Shower blocks are looking a little tired but always hot water available. Wifi available for reasonable price however you will need to sit near reception to pick up signal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_overing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottingdean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here at Manor Farm for one night end of may. The site is spotless the showers are fabulous and it is right on the lake with breath taking views. Was great value for money. Would stay again and is worth a recommendation if you are staying in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank simongrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We camped here in early May this year for four nights. I cannot fault the camp site at all. We had a small tent and we could pitch wherever we liked. Campsite is beautiful and right on the lake. Showering facilities are faultless and are cleaned thoroughly daily and are very private. Limitless hot water is available and the showers are amazing! There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but it looked cosy and prices reasonable enough( for Switzerland ). Great spot for seeing Interlaken/ Grindewald. The views across the lake are breathtaking. We got free bus/boat passes as guests to go into Interlaken but as the weather was so poor we decided to drive so did not avail of it. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, I would imagine it would get very busy in peak season! It is expensive though and cost us 150 ch for four nights just to pitch a two man tent but then again we found everywhere in Switzerland really expensive!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank summer005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlaken
0.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Lazy Rancho
Camping Lazy Rancho
#1 of 4 in Unterseen
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camping Jungfrau
Camping Jungfrau
#1 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#2 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm

Property: Manor Farm
Address: Interlaken, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Manor Farm Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing