We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Ranked #6 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, unfortunately we were given a very poor, noisy and small ensuite double room, even though we paid the same price as other. Maybe this is the worst room in this hotel, so please bear in mind that the quality of the room you stay is depend on your luck. We booked this hotel because of the good reviews, but it turn out as the most disappointed one in our 14 nights in Switzerland. So my advise is to make sure you will not get this very poor room before confirming your booking. (I have no idea how many room here are as poor as mine). Even the water heater is not working well, it turn hot or cool by itself suddenly.
The breakfast is very simple, but if you are not fussy is not a big problem.
The kitchen is small, just enough for one or two person cooking and a dinning table for 4, if you wish to squeeze in, maybe can go for 6 people, but will be very uncomfortable.
The big credit for this hotel is the owner of the hotel is very kind and friendly, will always ready to provide very useful trip suggestion. Big thank you to them!

Room Tip: Poor room 9. Room 3 and room 4 are good. Choose room facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    130
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
129
251
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B in Interlaken on our recent trip to Switzerland and it was wonderful! Chris and Ursula, the proprietors of the hotel are very helpful and gave us excellent suggestions of what to do in the area. The hotel is located at the base of the Swiss Alps and the view is breath-taking! The price was very reasonable for the large size of the room and the complimentary breakfast. They also have a computer terminal for guests that we used for doing an online check-in for an upcoming flight. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The stay at Rugenpark was an unforgettable experience. Both Chris and Ursula were very helpful and hospitable, always ready to give an advice and provide us with the information we needed. The room was clean and sweet. The entire stay there felt so much at home. We will love to go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

B&B Rugen Park is a totaly different experience than staying in any hotel. It's very cosy with a friendly atmoshere all over the house. Ursula and Kris are very helpful and go out of their way to help their guests.she helped us with all the planning and train timmings with platform numbers, which made our journey so easy and convinient.
Above all on our anniversary when we returned home she kept a lil gift, flowers and a card with sweet message which really was a good gesture and we thank ursula and kris for making it special.
Thanks for a lovely experience.

Room Tip: just call ursula & she is the best advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaveshramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is bright and cheerful with a useful kitchen and a nice garden, it's well situated close to Interlaken West Station and Migros supermarket on a quiet street. Ursula and Chris who run the hotel were very helpful in making suggestions as to which places to visit, organising our tickets and generally giving very useful advice about the region. The breakfast was also very good with lots of continental options and it was served in a lovely room overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhengfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Its a nice and wonderful place, courteous hosts who are really helpful..it was a short stay but couldn't ask for more with good location, Chris helped to plan the stay so that I can cover the best places..recommended for everyone :)

Room Tip: As there is no lift so if elders are there then may be a 1st floor room can be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0hit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my mom for 2 nights and I must say I was really happy with the stay and the service offered.
Hotel is run by Ursula and Chris, who are really lovely as the hosts.
We had a room on the second floor .
Note: There is no Lift in the building and so if u have any issues in climbing the stairs make a special mention about it while booking
We didnt have any such problem though and also Ursula and Chris were kind enough to help us with the luggage
The next thing Ursula asked me about my travel plans and once I told her about my Plan to visit Jungafru, imeediately handed me over with the Travel Plan with train timings and details of the travel route.
She also booked the tickets for me and my mom thus helping us to avoid spending time in any queues

The positives about this hotel is:
1) Good Location- Walking distance from Interlakn West station
2) Ursula and Chris - Most Hospitable and helpful
3) Breakfast - Lot of variety and plenty
4) Restaurants for all different cuisines at a walking distance

Every time you walk in the reception area and you are greeted with a warm smile and enquiry about any help that can be offered to you to make your stay comfortable.

One of the best Hotels that I have stayed so far and definitely will visit this one if I am back in Intrelaken

Room Tip: No Elevator and so if any issues in climing the stairs then request for a room at the mower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyanka p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rugenpark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rugenpark B&B

Property: Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Address: Rugenparkstrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rugenpark B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and cozy low budget B&B accommodation in Interlaken. Our clean and comfortable non-smoking rooms have mountain views, cable TV, and come with a hearty Swiss breakfast buffet. Facilities include free internet, free wireless LAN, guest kitchen, guest laundry, booking center for excursions and adventure activities, English book exchange, and free parking. Friendliest service in the Alps! Only 4 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Rugenpark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugenpark Hotel / Bed And Breakfast Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing