We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and very nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Ranked #4 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
kolkata
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“warm and very nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My stay was very pleasant,thanks to Ursula.She is full of energy and very helpful.What i liked about this place that it had a home feel.Especially after so many different hotel stays,it was good for a change.This is a perfect place to stay in a big group as you have access to the kitchen.Another good thing is the location as its walking distance from the station.Ursula gave us a travel pass which was also helpful.We went at a time when the exchange rate for swiss francs were unbelievable high so it was slightly expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shikhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    130
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
129
251
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a long overdued review. I was in Interlaken with 2 other friends & chosen this b&b after reading the reviews in tripadvisor. It was very easy to find the place from the train station. Ursula & Chris played excellent hosts to us! They knew all the good places to go, helped to get the tickets for our rides, gave clear directions. Their breakfast spread was excellent! Please remember to ask for hot chocolate during breakfast. It's just amazing! Ursula was so detailed to even noticed that I may not be properly clothed to go up the mountains and she lend me a thick winter jacket. "So that I will enjoy my trip up!", she said. I was simply amazed by her hospitality. Though a small place, it have everything you need: washing machine, dryer, stove, small garden. Great place & I would definitely stay if I am going back to Interlaken!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Ursula, Chris and Monty really went out of their way to make us feel at home if not more relaxed than we would be at home! We loved the welcome drink and all the advice were given on arrival and also as it was quiet we were able to choose which room we wanted from a couple of options. Ursula also helped us plan our excursions and when leaving for the day saw that we didnt have adequate gloves so lent us a pair of theirs! The beds were comfortable and duvets very warm, we also loved the fact that we could see the mountains out our window. We also made use of the kitchen facilities which was great and so was the breakfast on offer. We absolutely loved this place from beginning to end and would recommend to all!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Ursula and Chris run an excellent B&B! The service from the moment we walked through the door was incredible. Ursula knows everything about the Interlaken area and what to do and she took care of all of our bookings for us. She even knew the train timetable and where we had to be on which platform for all our transfers.

We really felt at home here, with the use of the communal kitchen and laundry facilities. Even laundry detergent was provided. The kitchen is great, especially with the high price of everything in Interlaken. Even McDonalds is expensive.

The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. There is a fair bit of noise between rooms, and floors are creaky, but it is 1000 times better value than anything else we saw in Interlaken.

A great place to stay on a budget with absolutely amazing hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

True to all the reviews, Ursula & Chris are awesome hosts. She hands us maps, train time-tables, all necessary info & travel tips on our arrival. Plans our trip for us based on our length of stay, time available & weather. The weather was wonderful during our stay & she helped us make the most out of it.

The breakfast was good & they even let us pack, if we are running late for the trains! The location is just perfect with a few minutes walk to the train station & the high street. There are a number of hotels in the vicinity. We realised, Interlaken west itself was a beautiful place when we took an evening walk (map & route, provided by Ursula) around the place. Our room was neat & just right for us.We had a good view of Jungfrou from our balcony!

Thanks Ursula, for your excellent service. Would definitely recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubheeVijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

"B" as bed. Well, no fancy rooms here, very simple and clean. The bathroom inside the room is one of these "plastic" pre-fabricated compact models, not a very good fit for a 6" tall like me, but at least you don't have to share toilet and shower with others... The bed is the standard in Switzerland if you can spend only $150 a night: very thin mattress, not confy at all. On the top of that, two doubles closed together making a queen. Internet access is OK. Ordinary view from the window too.

"B" as breakfast. The buffet breakfast is tasty and solid in options and flavor. Simple, but good: fresh baked bread (crunchy, not that stuff they sell in America), butter, jelly, cheese (of course: your are in Swtizerland), cold cuts, juices and milk, excellent coffe (not that waterish stuff they serve in America). I missed some extra cakes, though. No take me wrong, it was a delicious buffet breakfast (although some US natives will miss that processed industrialized garbagge they called breakfast: bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, muffins, etc).

Hotel is location is perfect: walking distance from the center, major Interlaken attractions, train station, restaurants and the supermarket MIGROS (where you can also buy "cheap" and tasty local food).

But what was really amazing, it was the customer service, way above any European countries that I visited in terms of quality. The most impressive part: it is a one-woman-army's work. The young manager handles every guest issue with borderline perfection. She is everywhere: efficient, courteous, discrete, pro-active and humble. From offering help to carry heavy luggage upstairs (the B & B does not have elevator) to make sure that your room has everything you need in place. Without we (my wife and I) asked her first, she offered maps, gave us touristic tips (she does know the region), organized parking, set up breakfast tables. She is a customer service machine. And she deliver the same treatment to everybody! I wish I could have more people like her on my work team...

Therefore, this B&B, despite some resources limitation, deserves its 4-star rating from me. A bang for the buck, guaranteed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

we are a group of 8. went there last winter. 5mins from train station. delicious warm welcome cookies and drink-it was a traditional swiss chirstmas wine. ursula was very helpful. she gave us very good recommendations and advice. she can book train tickets to jungfrau and schlitton, she can book skiing lessons, she can provide ski jackets and pants so u dun have to rent them. breakfast was very healthy and delightful. reading are with a computer and internet was cozy. guest kitchen and washing machine (at a small fee) the rooms were very cozy with a chocolate on each bed. yes the rooms were old and noisy but i didnt care. i love the rooms!! very home-y. one of my friends didnt go for skiing lessons and she was left in the hostel. Ursula actually made lunch for her for free. how can u beat this hospitality? altho it was pricy.. but i guess all hostels in interlaken are all pricy. i miss monty the dog!:D

Room Tip: take the top room to avoid ceilings! make frens with monty the dog. he's adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mysviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rugenpark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rugenpark B&B

Property: Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Address: Rugenparkstrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rugenpark B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and cozy low budget B&B accommodation in Interlaken. Our clean and comfortable non-smoking rooms have mountain views, cable TV, and come with a hearty Swiss breakfast buffet. Facilities include free internet, free wireless LAN, guest kitchen, guest laundry, booking center for excursions and adventure activities, English book exchange, and free parking. Friendliest service in the Alps! Only 4 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Rugenpark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugenpark Hotel / Bed And Breakfast Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing