We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, cosy, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Nord

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

First time visit to Switzerland, stayed here for 4 nights. Cannot fault this place, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, great views from our room which had a balcony and magnificent views of the snow covered mountains. Many eating places within a few minutes walk, a great base for visiting magnificent places like Grindlewald, which is about a 20 min scenic train ride. And the train station is about 10 minutes walk, so it's all very convenient. Don't overlook Interlaken itself, a great pace to walk around and explore.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    88
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
104
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Switzerland and the first place we arrived. Although it was before midday, our room was ready. We had a beautiful view of the park and the mountains and the room itself was spacious, clean and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel's bar a great way to finish the day. The hotel itself was 5 mins walk from Interlaken Ost station and within walking distance of just about everything you could need. Plenty of restaurants nearby to make up for the hotel's restaurant being closed. Breakfast offered plenty of choice along with good, strong coffee. Would absolutely recommend and if we returned to Interlaken, would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I felt at home the moment I walked through the door. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and helped me plan my excursions for the weekend. The room was spacious, well equipped and clean and the location was within walking distance of everything I needed. Although the restaurant has been closed for some time, I was given good options for where to dine out or buy my own provisions. I would go back next weekend if they hadn't just closed for a pre Christmas break. A very nice relaxing place to stay!

Room Tip: I had a nice view of the mountains and the green. I didn't ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was booked by friends that my husband and I were holidaying with. one of our friends had previously visited Interlaken and loved it. The booking was based on reviews and recommendations by a travel company in the States. Our friends are American. We got a good rate that way. I can only speak for my husband and I but we were very impressed with the complete package of room, staff and food. Although we only did have the breakfasts. The room was at the back of the hotel, specifically asked for in advance, because of the mountain views. What views they were! We were on the fourth floor and there is a small lift. Bedroom and bathroom both great sizes. Very clean and well equipped , with kettle and fridge. Having a fridge meant we could shop for food and not have to eat out so much as Switzerland is very expensive. If you want you can have maid service every day, but not if you don't. We had a package of fresh towels left outside our room on the day we decided not to have it cleaned! We were very impressed by the knowledge and friendliness of the staff. Breakfast was more than adequate although only one hot item of a hard/soft boiled egg was on offer and that you had to do yourself. If you were lucky ,even after marking it, it was still in the pan when you went back to get it! Keep an eye on the egg if you have one. Overall we would definitely return to this hotel. We had a great week. Even the weather was kind to us.

Room Tip: If you have time do book and ask for a room with mountain views. It's so worth it. We had the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is well located, aprox. 10 min from Interlaken Ost station and a short walk from shops and restaurants. Some rooms, including the one I stayed, have a great view of the alps.

I stayed at a Deluxe room, which is quite spacious and comfortable. The bathroom, however, feels very small compared to the room (there was a shower bath with a curtain). There was an electric kettle and tea. There was a fridge but it was turned off. Drinks are available at vending machines on each floor and near the front desk. Wi-fi was very very slow in the room, and it cost CHF 3,00 an hour, purchased in advance. Some previous guest had left pajamas in the closet, which were not noticed by the cleaning staff.

The front desk area is very narrow, and the elevator is quite old and small (max. 4 persons without luggage). You may purchase tickets to the Jungfraujoch and other attractions at the front desk, and there is a TV monitor in the waiting area showing the weather in those locations real time.

Breakfast was limited in terms of fruit and hot dishes, but there was a great variety of bread, cheese and meat. Croissants were delicious. There is a small bar in the hotel, attended mostly by locals, with independent entrance from the street. Since Interlaken is short of "nightlife" options, it's a good option (and the closest) to get a beer.

Overall, the rooms are comfortable, staff very friendly, but service is just average. Leisure and entertainment facilities, as long as I recall, are non existent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilka_M_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located from both the Interlaken train stations, and a short distance from the market. The hotel offers beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. It has a spacious and a well furnished restaurant offering a free buffet breakfast. The staff are good and helpful. The hotel follows a strict "no smoking" policy. The rooms are well furnished and clean. There is a tea maker in the room. Some rooms have a balcony with lovely views. However the rooms towards the road tend to have some traffic noise, which may disturb light sleepers like me. Otherwise the rooms are comfortable. The hotel also offers a visitors card which may help you get discounts at some shops, and earn you a free entry at the local health club. There are a couple of Indian and Pakistani restaurants nearby, with a good selection on the menu.
Overall it is a good hotel worth trying.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room with a balcony and away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September. Centrally located, 5 mins walk from Interlaken Ost Train station and on the main street in the town.
Hotel is traditional, but the rooms are comfortable & clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent.
Rooms in the upper floors have amazing views of the Alps
The hotel is close to many bars and restaurants so there is plenty of choice.
Internet is not free however, there are other hotels&restaurants nearby where it is available

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: Hoeheweg 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Dreams Hotel du Nord)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing