We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are good, service is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rooms are good, service is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is well located, aprox. 10 min from Interlaken Ost station and a short walk from shops and restaurants. Some rooms, including the one I stayed, have a great view of the alps.

I stayed at a Deluxe room, which is quite spacious and comfortable. The bathroom, however, feels very small compared to the room (there was a shower bath with a curtain). There was an electric kettle and tea. There was a fridge but it was turned off. Drinks are available at vending machines on each floor and near the front desk. Wi-fi was very very slow in the room, and it cost CHF 3,00 an hour, purchased in advance. Some previous guest had left pajamas in the closet, which were not noticed by the cleaning staff.

The front desk area is very narrow, and the elevator is quite old and small (max. 4 persons without luggage). You may purchase tickets to the Jungfraujoch and other attractions at the front desk, and there is a TV monitor in the waiting area showing the weather in those locations real time.

Breakfast was limited in terms of fruit and hot dishes, but there was a great variety of bread, cheese and meat. Croissants were delicious. There is a small bar in the hotel, attended mostly by locals, with independent entrance from the street. Since Interlaken is short of "nightlife" options, it's a good option (and the closest) to get a beer.

Overall, the rooms are comfortable, staff very friendly, but service is just average. Leisure and entertainment facilities, as long as I recall, are non existent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilka_M_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    90
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
42
107
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located from both the Interlaken train stations, and a short distance from the market. The hotel offers beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. It has a spacious and a well furnished restaurant offering a free buffet breakfast. The staff are good and helpful. The hotel follows a strict "no smoking" policy. The rooms are well furnished and clean. There is a tea maker in the room. Some rooms have a balcony with lovely views. However the rooms towards the road tend to have some traffic noise, which may disturb light sleepers like me. Otherwise the rooms are comfortable. The hotel also offers a visitors card which may help you get discounts at some shops, and earn you a free entry at the local health club. There are a couple of Indian and Pakistani restaurants nearby, with a good selection on the menu.
Overall it is a good hotel worth trying.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room with a balcony and away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September. Centrally located, 5 mins walk from Interlaken Ost Train station and on the main street in the town.
Hotel is traditional, but the rooms are comfortable & clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent.
Rooms in the upper floors have amazing views of the Alps
The hotel is close to many bars and restaurants so there is plenty of choice.
Internet is not free however, there are other hotels&restaurants nearby where it is available

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

we booked into this nicely situated hotel in Interlaken. Originally booked in for 2 nights, but ended up staying 4. Our Room on the fourth floor was beautiful - excellent views overlooking the Jungfrau. We'd previously stayed at the Victoria Jungrau in Interlaken and were very disappointed with our room. We were disappointed that the hotel no longer served dinner but it was very convenient for all the local restaurants, so not a great hardship. Breakfast was lovely, with friendly staff. Unfortunately the hotel has also chosen not to serve drinks etc on the terrace, so the few tables were only used by smokers. Still loved it and would go back

Room Tip: Probably high up better away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice hotel, with very kind front desk staff. The size of rooms vary, so be aware about it before booking it. Good breakfast buffet. Poor WiFi service, and paid (CHF 3,00/hour). No in room snacks or water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is nicely located - very close to the congress centre, to the shops and restaurants and the station is in walking distance as well. our room gave on a big park and had view on the mountains. The room is not very big, but big enough for two, light coloured, with everything you need. The service was as far we needed it friendly and helpful. We felt well in this hotel. Breakfast was certainly Ok as well, maybe more fresh fruit might be nice. Unfortunately there is no free access to Internet.

Room Tip: there are rooms with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohimesama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Only one night, but it could have been longer. Comfortable room, extensive breakfast, pleasant and friendly staff and we had a nice view on the park and the mountains. There is a large choice of hotels in Interlaken, but here we will go back. One downside, internet access is not included in the room price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWillem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: Hoeheweg 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Dreams Hotel du Nord)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing