We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Located closer to Ost than West, which can be a good thing if you are planning day trips around Interlaken. The Hotel is nice, CLEAN, decent room sizes as well, but NO Air conditioning, which I think is quite common in Switzerland. They did provide a table fan. I would totally skip the breakfast. You have to pay to use internet and no wi-fi. The hotel does not have a pool but as a part of some tax tourists pay, hotel guests can use the pool facilities at a club, which is very good! Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchi2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Unfortunately, we had a bad experience at this hotel.

The good points: It is conveniently located, walking distance from the train station and the tourist area of the city. There is no spa on site, but you get free passes to the Interlaken city sports facility, a really nice one, a five minute walk from the hotel.

We found the room not clean when we arrived. The room itself was far below the quality of the other 4-star hotels that we stayed in while in Switzerland.

The internet costs 18CHF a day. Every 1-star hotel has free internet these days- why do I need to add more money on top of the already expensive daily charges? Plus, the internet did not work in our room and we had to sit in the lounge to get reception.

There are annoying signs around the hotel. There is a water dispenser in the lobby, for example, and it says that it is only for drinking and it is strictly forbidden to fill up a water bottle to take outside the hotel on a trip. There is a sign in the breakfast room, that it is strictly forbidden to take any food to use for other meals, etc.

Why do I need to feel like a criminal by "stealing" a Franc worth of water?

When we asked the person at the desk if there was another way to get by train to Geneva that didn't go through Bern, we were told, "Don't you know that Bern is the capital of Switzerland, why don't you want to go there?" in a very surly tone. Well, we had to get to Geneva and just passing through...

We had excellent experiences at every hotel except for this one during our two weeks in Switzerland. We did not have one here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is situated in a great location just a short walk from the train station to Jungfraujoch and minutes from the shops and restaurants. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and clean. The staff are especially nice and very helpful. There is convenient parking at the back of the hotel. The only bad side is that the internet is a little pricey at 18CHF per day, but the hotle itself is definately recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is situated in the center of town having its front entrance towards the main park or open ground. The views from the rooms are awesome, on one side you get the view of the park and the historic victoria jungfrau hotel and the from the other window the fantastic and breathtaking views of the Jungfrau mountain. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Since we went in the summer months the rooms can get a little hot during the day as we did not have air conditioning in the hotel. But the nights were cool and pleasant. Also the location made it very convenient to go for leisurely strolls at night and still not be very far from the hotel. Guest card is provided on arrival along with a city card that allows free travel on the local buses and a lot of various discounts across restaurants and free entrance to the casino. A very nice touch I felt. I loved the stay at Du Nord and would definitely suggest to person visiting Interlaken.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The outside of the hotel appears quite plain and belies the wonderful interior. This hotel offers (we were on the 4th Floor) fantastic views of Jungfrau from our spacious window. Lovely big room, inside has been recently renovated and very clean and tidy. The service level is very high and breakfast excellent. Hotel very handy to train and buses. (Hotel supplies free bus tickets!!). Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is situated in a strategic position near to the main services with a superb view on the valley.
I've booked a single room, that was comfortable and clean with a small balcony.
All the Staff is very kind, helpful and extremely organized.
Guest card is provided upon arrival.
I would definitely suggest it.
On my opinion, the buffet should include more typical plates but the panoramic view does the rest!
Bikes are provided but quite expensive charge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 529Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in a deluxe room with a view of the Jungfrau (just , on a clear day) The room, whilst large and clean was not what I would have called deluxe, and having picked up a brochure it seemed that their standard doubles may have been better appointed. The bathroom was small but beautifully appointed with the hottest towel rail I have ever come cross! The twin beds were very comfortable, making for an excellent nights sleep, the hospitatility tray could have been stocked with more milk and sugar and a few biscuits would have been nice. However,, the big plus point was the large balcony and the view, which looked over the main green space in Interlaken, where for most of the day, the paragliders from the local mountain top came gracefully to rest. We were very lucky with the weather and the mountains were clear. Unfortunately the restaurant in the hotel was closed for refurbishment, and so we ate out each night, however, breakfast in the light airy breakfast room was of a high standard. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is right in the middle of town and easily walkable to Interlaken Ost station and the lake steamers. You should get a taxi from Interlaken West. be warned, taxis do not come cheap! There is plenty to do and see around Interlaken, especially if you want an adventure holiday. being on the sedate side, we enjoyed the eveningwalks into the town and the fact that the shops were mostly open until 10pm

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Jungfrau if you want a quieter room, and beware the word "Deluxe"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffodil025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 39 in Interlaken
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: Hoeheweg 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Dreams Hotel du Nord)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: $173 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of the Hotel Du Nord goes back to the early 19th Century with the advent of tourism in the region. Until then, Interlaken, or the “Bodeli” as it was known (from the name of the flat plain between the two lakes, which was created by glacial sediment from the mountain rivers), had been mainly visited by religious pilgrims or commercial travellers, who would stop to rest their weary legs in one of the few local hostels after the arduous journey over the mountains. This changed once the first tourists started visiting the Jungfrau Region, lured by the works of well-known writers and descriptions the first alpine farming festivals. In 1814, the resourceful businessman and councillor Jakob Seiler recognised the potential of these new visitors and built the »Pension Seiler« at the eastern end of today’s Höhematte, on the historical foundations of the former convent. Ten years later, the hotel was renamed the »Pension du Casino« to cater to the health conscious crème de la crème ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing