We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Swiss Hotel: Dated but Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Typical Swiss Hotel: Dated but Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel was well-located within 500 m of Interlaken Ost. We used the room as a jumping point for a hike in the Bernese Oberland the next day. Breakfast began at 6:30 and was above average, with many types of fresh bread, local cheeses and meats, and a great system for preparing morning hard or soft-boiled eggs fresh and hot, to your own standard!

The room furniture was dated, but spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you prefer a quiet room, ask to stay on the garden side as opposed to the street side above the bar.

Room Tip: Do not stay above the bar. Interlaken is a lively town with lots of street traffic on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slade_and_Norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    90
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
42
107
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Our room at the Hotel Du Nord was large and on a corner on the top floor and had great views of Interlaken and the mountains. Very clean and spacious with a huge comfortable bed and large bathroom. Even a goodnight chocolate on the pillow every day. The breakfast buffet was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Only downside was that we had asked for an early morning wake up call and did not receive it. When we told reception, not even an apology. This is not acceptable Hotel Du Nord!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Of all our hotel stays during this 6 week vacation this is by far the most difficult to review fairly. The main reason is that we arrived unwittingly in Interlaken on the eve of the International yodelling competition. We had no concept of what this would mean in this country of magnificent alps until the yodellers from all over the world began to descend. The hotel is a very attractive building with garden in front and would normally be in the most beautiful position in the township, being only about 500 metres from Interlaken Ost railway station and the pier and very close to the centre of town while looking out on a green meadow. However, it would be no exaggeration to say that the Hotel du Nord, being positioned as it is, was slap bang in the middle of at least three thousand beautifully dressed and very happy yodellers and alpen horn players who broke into groups and sang and played for 48 hours solidly, getting louder and louder as the nights drew on and the wee hours approached. Our very lovely room in the Hotel du Nord had no air conditioning and the weather was unseasonally hot. So we had no alternative but to open the two sets of double doors onto the Terrace (and the yodellers!)to attempt to sleep. Therein lay the problem. The crescendo of noise outside and the heat in the room caused us endless problems. In the end we had to sleep with ear plugs - not ideal - and the doors wide open affording us no security. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and on any other visit would have been fabulous. There was tea making facilities provided whiich was a welcome touch as well as a delightful terrace and excellent bathroom. Wi-fi was available in the rooms at a reasonable cost, there was a safe available and the entire hotel is non-smoking. There was an elevator and bicycles available for rental. But the most beautiful and awe-inspiring thing this hotel has is its jaw-dropping view of Jungfrau right in front of you. Truly sensational! I would have to rate their provided breakfast as poor however, although the room in which it was served, like the rest of this hotel was sunny and furnished nicely. I would like to see the Hotel du Nord spend some time thinking of a way in which clients could latch open their lower terrace room doors so as to make them feel secure while sleeping.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room with balcony looking at Jungfrau. Not a room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were on the top floor (4th), and when we opened up the windows, the view was fantastic looking up toward the mountains and were even blessed with a double rainbow one day. To the left, we could see the 2 churches and could hear the bells chiming, so peaceful. The room was comfortable. The staff was very helpful with any questions and spoke English very well. We were able to use the sports center's indoor pool which was a short walk away and was fantastic with 1 wall totally of glass looking up into those beautiful mountains; perfect water temperature. Hotel was at the end of the main street where the road curves but still close to restaurants and shops. Continental breakfast included in room price, but other than that, there was no restaurant for other meals on site. Internet available and very inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor & facing mtns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtypist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

The hotel is located about 6-8 mins walk from Interlaken Ost train station. We were a family of 4 and had booked 2 double rooms with balcony. The receptionists and all hotel staff were dressed in a retro style uniform with long gowns and full sleeved blouses, I thought it was traditionally Swiss or similar. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were spacious and had an excellent view of the main garden of the city with the backdrop of snow capped peaks. It was an absolute bliss to sit in the balcony and relax under the sun. The balcony was tiny and could barely fit 2 chairs and a small round table, which could have been better. The room had a television but had only 3 English channels, which was disappointing as I prefer to watch the TV for a while before sleeping. There was a electronic safe and tea-coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully made, with a bath tub.

The location is the an add on to this place as it is nearby the city centre area and the main train station, about 6-8 mins each way. The park is right across the street from the hotel and a walk down there is very soothing. The casino is about 2 mins away and there is also a Europcar outlet nearby.

The breakfast was included in the tariff and was great. Traditionally continental breakfast with juices, milk, cereal, bread, cold cut meat, cheese, fruits, eggs. tea, coffee. I felt there could have been some more choices for the vegetarians (I am one).

Room Tip: Try for balcony rooms facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddybombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed in this Hotel Between March 28-30, 2011. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would love to come back whenever we are in this beautiful city. I still remember the GM - Mr. Nick Lawson, Ms.Tanja, Ms.Miscelle and the lady supervising the breakfast were extremely courteous and helpful. The Hotel itself is in a beautiful and at peaceful location with a very big park in front. Market, casino and train staions are very nearby. The rooms are good and very spacious with all the amenities.Overall, its a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jain_anoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights of our honeymoon in September of 2009. After traveling through several parts of Europe, we thought this hotel was great. They have a pretty good breakfast, great location, and within walking distance from the train station.
In comparison to European hotels, it was pretty spacious. I am a clean freak, and this hotel didn't bother me.
We rented a tandem bike down the street from the hotel, went to the high ropes park, and rented a dune buggie.
You won't regret staying here or going to Interlaken. It was my favorite place on our honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeshTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: Hoeheweg 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Dreams Hotel du Nord)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing