We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”
Review of MyHotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MyHotel Merkur
Ranked #39 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We booked this hotel at the very last minute, after realising that we'd booked our original hostel (Backpacker's Villa) for the wrong dates. This was the last reasonably priced hotel available, and we're glad we stayed here.

It's ok, not spectacular. We stayed in Room 40, which is a three person room, and doesn't face the station. I had read previously that noise was a factor, but given that we were looking out towards Interlaken Ost and the town park, rather than the Interlaken West station, noise was not a factor and we slept with the windows open. Of course, it helps when the other two travellers are Deaf!

Breakfast was adequate and as someone mentioned, you can pay a bit extra for some freshly cooked eggs. Staff were friendly enough, but don't expect any exhuberance. Great location, clean room, although a bit musty. We only spent our time in it to nap or sleep overnight, so it was adequate. If you plan to spend time in the room, then don't bother with this hotel and find yourself something a bit nice.

Would stay here again, as it was a good value, and in a great location.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghermesherver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
35
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I have just returned from my very first Switzerland trip with my wife. I booked Hotel Merkur as my flight was late evening and I did not want to get stuck in an unknown place in the late night freezing cold. The hotel is just a stone's throw away from (infact bang opposite) the Interlaken West railway station.

Since it was late night check-in(around 10:00pm) I had called up the hotel reception from Zurich informing that I had landed and would be arriving late. The reception staff was lukewarm but still nothing to complain. They provide you with 2 keys, one for your room & the other for the hotel main door incase you come in late.
Also gave me 2 bus tickets which you can use to travel in Interlaken, which I had no use for as I had already purchased the 8 day Swiss pass.

The room I was given was very simple in decor facing the railway station. The lighting in the room was pretty dim thou & heating average. Biggest dissapointment was the beds, although twin sharing, they had joined 2 single beds which would shift and create a gap.

Morning breakfast was basically cold and you can opt for eggs by paying extra. In my opinion the breakfast menu was pretty much stomach filling.

The reception was helpful with information of places in and around Interlaken but not beyond that. They have brochures of most of the mountains you can possibly cover.

Even thou not far from the railway station, noise was never an issue and it was a pleasant stay. I would recommend it to any traveller, single or with family.

  • Liked — The location & view
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Originally I'd booked into the Best Western Bernerhof but I cancelled that room and booked into the Merkur instead.

Why? Because staying at the Merkur would save me GBP 100 (roughly USD 175) against the cheapest room the Best Western would offer. Oh, and the Merkur has no single rooms, only doubles and triples, so I knew I wouldn't be squeezed into a tiny little box room!

Arriving late I found the reception staff efficient but not particularly friendly, and I had to remind the clerk about the "gastkarte" ("guest card" issued by the local tourist authority) which he'd forgotten to issue, but that's only a minor niggle.

The clerk did make sure I understood which key was for my room and which for the hotel front door as the front door is locked at 22:30 and you keep your key so you can get back in if you stay out late.

Basically, the hotel and room were what you'd expect for the price; a clean, reasonably sized room with cheap but perfectly usable furniture and (unsurprisingly) no air-con which meant leaving the window open at night - that's not recommended, by the way, because the railway station is not a quiet area, and there's a level (grade) crossing nearby so the crossing alarm will wake you up early in the morning!

The photos will let you see what my room was like; I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't try it (I rarely eat breakfasts in hotels; I'm not a breakfast person).

If you're looking for a budget stay in Interlaken the Merkur would probably be acceptable to you, although in summer I'd look elsewhere for a room with air-con so you can keep your windows closed.

A real positive if you are travelling is that you are literally seconds away from the station platform, the bus stops and (by walking through the station subway) the landing stage for the Thunersee (Lake Thun) boats.

  • Liked — Location - right next to the railway station
  • Disliked — Location (!) - The lack of air conditioning means leaving the window open if it's a warm night, and railway stations aren't quiet places...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rossh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an extended trip throughout Europe.
The hotel is quite central to everything in Interlaken being just around the corner from the main street and right opposite the main train station. This also means that the hotel is also quite noisy with traffic & train noise.
Reception staff were friendly and there is a lift available in the lobby.
Internet terminal is also available in the lobby.
The Room Service staff seemed to be a bit eager during our stay knocking on our door quite early in the morning (8:00am one morning) to do our room. They then knocked again another 2 times (up to 9:00am) - there was no 'do not disturb' signs available for use.
Breakfast was cheeses, cold cuts, cereals & juices. Plus a self-service tea, coffee & hot chocolate machine was available.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2006. This is a decent hotel directly across the Interlaken West station. Location is perfect. The hotel is old with dorm style furniture and dimly lit rooms. The bathroom was clean. Good for a place to crash for a few nights.
The continental breakfast was decent. The staff was informative. No A/C.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank vikram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#8 of 8 in Unterseen
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyHotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyHotel Merkur

Property: MyHotel Merkur
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 35, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Merkur Hotel and Restaurant Interlaken)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MyHotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyHotel Merkur is situated directly opposite Interlaken-West railway station and ship terminus. We welcome you to our friendly atmosphere. As a 3 star hotel we can offer you every comfort. All rooms have bath or shower, toilet, radio, telephone and color, cable TV. Additional information: Children under the age of 2 stay free in the room with parents and in existing bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MyHotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing