We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, affordable, clean place to stay. Interlaken not so cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, affordable, clean place to stay. Interlaken not so cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I'm writing this review on my last day from our private room for two. This villa is really well-maintained and clean. Our reservation was from August 28th to September 1st, for the first we had to stay in a 6 person mixed dorm since the private rooms were all booked.

The Dorms have individual lockers with enough space to stuff a large backpack and two smaller ones. The bathrooms and showers were very clean (no mystery stains anywhere). My one complaint about the showers: the room is located next to the stairwells and has no door, the top halves are open so there was always a cold gust of wind blowing through which was unpleasant. But that's a minor thing.

In the Private room, they provide a nice mini-closet and two lockers, a nice sink and great view of the mountains (you can't look out of a window and not see a mountain). The beds in both rooms were really comfortable.

Service was above what I expected, the staff answered all questions we threw at them. They provide bed sheets, comforter case (like a pillow case), and towels. They also give you 2 tokens for every day you're there (for the laundry machines and coffee/latte maker), and to top it off free bus passes to get around town. Another complaint: make sure you get clarification on what exactly the bus pass is good for, we couldn't use them for what we thought. Also free breakfast (always a plus)

The kitchens were adequate to cook a quick meal, there's plenty of "free food" left behind by other travelers (such as salt, cooking oil, rice, etc) that make it easier. There are 3 stoves with 4 burners each and I think 4 mini refrigerators. The villa provides some labels to mark your food with.

We brought our own laptop so I can't comment on the computers (which there are plenty of, 6 if I counted correctly)

Location was excellent, just one street over from the main street, located closer in terms of walking distance from Interlaken East than West.

There is plenty to see and do in Interlaken, and Backpackers Villa was easy on the wallet. Interlaken not so much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    156
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
136
130
108
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

The room was compact (for 6 of us) but very clean. The beds were new and comfortable. The continental breakfast was incredible with fresh baked bread, spreadable cheese, jam, yogurt, granola, and a great selection of hot drinks and juices. No screens on the windows, but no bugs, so no need. Staff was very friendly and helpful and made some great recommendations for us when it was rainy. The setting was beautiful, with a great view of the Swiss Alps from our window. It was just minutes from downtown, and very easy to get to with a bus stop right outside the front door. It was very family friendly as well. We look forward to staying there again and would recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Backpackers Villa. The staff were very helpful, free wifi, great space for cooking your own meals, and lots of things to do around the area. A good place for families or groups, also has nice private rooms. And beautiful scenery, good location to springboard your adventures in the Berner Oberland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliseRN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Totally cool place! The kids love it because it has LOTS to do at the facility, park across the street, AND with the Free pass to the Community Pool and Miniature Golf Course. We also all love the cappucino and hot chocolate machines. And Mom loves that she can do laundry on the premises!! But...our favorite is the staff! They are great to work with every year and are so very patient and kind!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDM2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed only one night but it was a nice experience. The hotel is convenient located, next to park. There is a free parking, and we could use after we checked out. Breakfast adequate, could fill you up for a next few hours. There is playground across the street, so even a bored young child can get something. We got a free ticket for swimming pool, but we could not use it, since we have to move on with our trip. Staff was friendly. Tokens for coffee or tea are not a bad idea since we were able to use later on during a day. We certainly will use it again, and I will have not a problem to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyzdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and helpful and really clued up about local infrastructure/ sights. It's situated just a short (5 minute) walk from the "hub" of tourist Interlaken, which means it's handy but far enough away not to be troubled with a throng of people. Plenty of space and great facilities. If I get married again I would like to spend my honeymoon here! You won't regret booking here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalumPiober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anyang, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Shower rooms and Bed room were very clean.
And the service was good.
But the toilet was uncomfortable.
It might be kind of culure diffrence.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisdomkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Property: Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Address: Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in a villa with park. Our prices include: breakfast, lockers, self-catering kitchen, free w-lan, free use of public swimming pools, free use of local busses, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing