We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Europe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just like the title says! I just finished my 3 week tour of Europe, and Backpackers Villa was by far the best hostel I stayed at during my trip. Easy to get to. Within walking distance to everything. Clean, quiet. Easy to meet people. I would recommend this hostel and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_H403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 610 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

You'll feel a little spoiled at this hostel (compared to others). Right near a bus stop (free) in central Interlaken; free day lockers; 4 separate stovetops for cooking and 3 fridges; laundry (2 tokens, which they give you); free breakfast; cleaning everyday; always someone at the front desk; helpful service.

And, they don't try to nickel and dime you with linens; free-to-use towel, pillowcase, sheets, etc.

5min walk to Metro Bar (below Balmer's hostel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest level facing the Schilthorn valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hostel a big, attractive, airy place with great views of Jungfrau in the distance from the back. It also makes a big deal about its 'free' attractions. Thus, breakfast is included in the price even though it is admittedly a bit basic - cereals, bread, spreads and hot drinks from a machine you have to pay for if you've already used the four tokens you get from reception when checking in. But you also get free use of local buses and free admission to the local town swimming pool. We decided to take advantage of this by taking a dip in the large outdoor pool, which is just across the big grassy area in the middle of Interlaken. yet just as we were leaving the nice clean changing area a woman in black with the words 'Badmeister' on her chest stopped us and demanded 'where are you going!?' 'To the outdoor pool.' 'No, you are not, because we have just closed it.' I pointed out that I could see a man swimming in the pool. So, I said, how could it be closed? But she persisted. 'No, a colleague and I have decided just now that it it closed because of the weather. Were you here last night?' No, we had just arrived. 'There were hailstones and an electrical storm! We have closed the pool so that you do not get struck by lightning!' Obviously, we were not going to be allowed to swim outdoors that afternoon - the risk of death by aquatic electrocution was deemed to be way too high. After a spell in the indoor pool, we went into town. Yet the weather was nice and no storm appeared, In fact, when we walked back to the hostel in the afternoon, it was clear, warm and lovely. We looked in at the outdoor pool. It was still closed although the pool was officially open until 9.30pm. Despite the free access made available by the hostel, Swiss health and safety bureacracy - or another factor - meant we were not getting an outdoor swim in Interlaken that day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgarfheinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel in central Interlaken. Use either station and it's behind the green in the middle of the main strip of hotels. Very clean, good service and modern facilities. Rooms are a little small but good size bathroom. Good communal area for cooking and dining. Nice reception, free wifi. All you can eat breakfast is basically cereal and toast but other than that great. Not cheap but that's Switzerland. Newer youth hostel is near the station so probably noisier.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejackson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Yes it's expensive for a youth hostel (we took a private double which is in the modern extension, quiet but tiny room). Breakfast is very basic with a choice of sliced bread, jam, nutella, dairylea and cereal. But facilities are good with a big (and busy) kitchen, laundry, TV room, dining room and garden. Location is good and away from the ugly strip road that runs through Interlaken. Free WiFi is a bonus. But if choosing to stay in the town again I might shop around for a bigger room for the money and a less institutional ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hostel. They give you keys to a closet where you can keep your things AND a towel for free which I'm discovering is unusual. Breakfast is ALSO included. You're definitely getting a lot for your money. And instead I just sheats you even get a little duvet and duvet cover. The people at the front desk as so nice and very informative. I'd've an idea of what you're looking for. It will help them give you the best advice possible. It's easy waking distance from both train station as well. A fair warning, this is definitely not a party hostel. If you want Somethjng more lively go to balmers. I loved it though because it allowed for a comfortable and safe atmosphere. I hear the laundry is great although I didn't try it. Wishing I had now since all my stuff is dirty ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iscoffda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had an amazing time at Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof! A great location with excellent staff and a decent breakfast compared to most hostels I've been to. The rooms were excellent and in great condition. We have absolutely no complaints and would stay here again if we were given the chance.

Room Tip: We had two separate private rooms with different views of each side of the hostel. Both were excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamraLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Address: Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range: $54 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hostel in a villa with park. Our prices include: breakfast, lockers, self-catering kitchen, free w-lan, free use of public swimming pools, free use of local busses, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing